We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
JohnMNorris
Dallas, Texas

Charming, Delightful Hotel

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 Jul 2022
When staying in Johannesburg, don't choose anywhere else than the Clico Boutique Hotel. Located in a beautiful and central area of Johannesburg, with beautiful art galleries within 5 minutes walking distance, this hotel offers top notch service and hospitality. The rooms are spacious and clean. The lounge and fireplace are welcoming, and the outside garden and pool area very attractive.

The restaurant offers an elegant ambience for fine eating. Make sure to eat dinner there during your stay. Sandile, the restaurant manager, makes eating a wonderful experience. They have a fine wine list, and the food was remarkable.

However, probably what I remember best about the hotel is its wonderful staff. They are extraordinarily helpful, went out of their way to make our stay both at the hotel and in Johannesburg perfect, and treated us with warmth and care.
Date of stay: June 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jeanette Schwegman, Owner at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 26 Jul 2022
Dear Valued Guest
Incredible to receive such great feedback through your review. We appreciate you having taken the time to share your Clico experience. The staff at Clico are so motivated by these reviews and we thank you.
Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 9 815
  • Booking.com
3.2 km from Clico Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    R 1 950
  • Booking.com
4.5 km from Clico Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 235
  • Booking.com
5.6 km from Clico Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 344
  • Hyatt.com
6.9 km from Clico Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 396
  • Booking.com
4.9 km from Clico Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 254
  • Booking.com
5.8 km from Clico Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Twin room
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 068
  • Hotels.com
6.5 km from Clico Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 923
  • Algotels
26.4 km from Clico Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 989
  • Priceline
8.4 km from Clico Boutique Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 324
  • Hotels.com
6.5 km from Clico Boutique Hotel
View more hotels in Johannesburg
Reviews (389)
Filter reviews
389 results
Traveller rating
290
75
15
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
290
75
15
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rosebank mall comfortable beds wonderful stay attention to detail stayed longer south africa jo burg garden venue sa neighborhood
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 389 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2022 via mobile

What a beautiful property with an amazingly helpful staff! I needed to ice my ankle and they brought me ice whenever I asked. Act questions we had, they were able to respond whether it was where to get COVID-19 tested or where to go to dinner. We started out walking in the wrong direction and one of the employees ran after us to redirect us!

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 439robinp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jeanette Schwegman, Owner at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2022

Dear Valued Guest
I feel immensely proud of the Clico team having read your review. Thank you so much for providing this incredible feedback. The team, led by Sabelo, have a passion for creating a Clico experience and it seems they excelled in doing this during your stay. Thank you for your patron and we hope to welcome you back to Clico soon.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2022

Staff were very kind and service was excellent. Amazing breakfast, both hot and buffet. Beautiful, well appointed rooms, with comfortable beds and pillows. We only regret that we did not have longer to spend here.

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jeanette Schwegman, Owner at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2022

Dear Valued Guest
What a fantastic review in recognition of the Clico team. Their commitment to service excellence and creating a memorable Clico experience was achieved during your stay.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time at Clico and that your experience matches the great offering for which we’re known.
We hope to welcome you back to Clico soon.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2022

A beautiful and cozy hotel. The small tasteful restaurant served a wonderful breakfast and dinner. The accommodations were clean and quiet. The location of the hotel was very convenient to the Rosebank Mall. It was a delightful and easy place to stay for a weekend on our way through Johannesburg.

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Karry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jeanette Schwegman, Owner at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2022

Dear Valued Guest
How wonderful to have read your review. Thank you for taking time to provide this outstanding feedback. The Clico Team are passionate about paying attention to the detail and we’re thrilled you had XO an excellent Clico experience. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2022

Great location, nice property, amazing staff. They're so helpful and friendly. We asked to change our room because the bathroom was open plan, they did it without even blinking, giving us options. Breakfast was also my favourite.

Date of stay: June 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jforre561690
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jeanette Schwegman, Owner at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2022

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for your fabulous feedback and for taking the time to review your stay. The Clico Team are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. Ensuring a great Clico experience is what makes us proud and motivated.
We hope to welcome you back soon.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2022

Treated ourselves to a meal at Marble restaurant, and were able to walk back to the hotel after our meal, so the location was ideal. Rooms are spacious and beds very comfortable. Good value for money.

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rachel U
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jeanette Schwegman, Owner at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2022

Dear Valued Guest
Your review was much appreciated and we are thrilled that you enjoyed a meal at the fabulous Marble Restaurant within walking distance of Clico. Next time we’d love you to enjoy a dinner at Clico and aim to offer an equally awesome dining experience.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews