We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$110
View Deal
Free cancellation until 21/03/14
Agoda.com
US$110
US$94
View Deal
SAVE US$16
Booking.com
US$110
US$94
View Deal
SAVE US$16
Hotels.comUS$110
eDreamsUS$94
TravelocityUS$110
View all 14 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (666)
Filter reviews
666 results
Traveller rating
449
152
39
11
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
449
152
39
11
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nature reserve luxury room mini bar conference venue conference facilities feel at home attention to detail wedding spa south tranquility jhb sa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
255 - 260 of 666 reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2018

Thaba is a beautiful venue not far out of Joburg, where you truly feel connected with nature. Can highly recommend the luxury suite with panoramic views, where one is spoilt by the simple extras (chocolate at night, stocked mini-fridge). Unfortunately, there were many end of year functions, which caused us to be neglected. We waited over an hour for dinner and breakfast was so busy, that it became unpleasant. However, if it weren't for this time of year - I'm guessing it would have been great.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank FarAway40951414546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicoleB7421, Sales Manager at Thaba Eco Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2018

Dear FarAway40951414546

Thaba Eco Hotel is so pleased to receive your constructive as well as positive feedback. We apologise that you did not get to enjoy our restaurant due to how busy we are this time of year. This is certainly something we will look at improving for our upcoming season.

We appreciate that you enjoyed our surroundings and do hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Nicole Barkley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2018

Thank you for the beautiful experience, i will forever treasure it. You have done a great job in your staff selection, design/layout of the hotel suites. I will be back again soon. Bless you all and keep doing what you are doing.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SceneryLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicoleB7421, Sales Manager at Thaba Eco Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2018

Dear Dream07705263489


Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such great feedback. Thaba Eco Hotel strives to provide our guests with the best in service, food and facilities and from your feedback can see that we have achieved this.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Nicole Barkley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2018

Our room was beautiful, modern and offered incredible views. The finishings as well of the size of the room was more than expected. Modern, tasteful and completely spotless i terms of cleanliness. It's all in the details and the hotel certainly delivered. We received complimentary gifts such as a bouquet of flowers, champagne, mini bar and rose petals arranged on our bed and in our bathroom. What I received exceeded all my expectations. Before our trip even started till the very end when we checked out as well as everything in between - Siphiwe was fantastic. Kind, organised, accommodating and helpful he delivered the most exemplary service. The entire team from our porters to our massage therapists and not forgetting the waiter and managers at the Kraal restaurant were awesome. Thank you Thaba Eco Hotel and Spa for an unforgettable weekend. I will definitely be recommending. Beyond impressed!

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Coastal35254034367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicoleB7421, Sales Manager at Thaba Eco Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2018

Dear Coastal35254034367

We are so excited to receive your review and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. At Thaba Eco Hotel we strive for excellence in all areas including food, service and facilities. We are pleased to see that we have exceeded your expectations in terms of our service delivery.

Thank you for your wonderful feedback regarding our staff especially Simphiwe, we will be sure to share this with the team as positive reinforcement.

We do hope to welcome you back in the future and thank you again for your wonderful review.

Kind Regards
Nicole Barkley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2018

The hotel and room was lovely as well as facilities. However our experience wasnt as great. We couldnt go to our room after 2pm as it still wasnt cleaned so we were upgraded to luxury room. We booked a deluxe room as it was near reception and we have a baby. So the travelling with the golf cart was not ideal especially in the cold and rain. Our room telephone was not working it took 4 or 5 people to come look at it and it still wasnt fixed it took very long and we needed to make our baby sleep and get ready for a function. The disturbance of maintenance was annoying and the job stil wasnt done. We also then couldnt order room service during our stay. We also had to wait for the baby cot we had paid at reception but housekeeping said we didnt pay so we waited for a cot for a long time as well. In the evening on saturday the weather was very bad we waited for half an hour for a golf cart to pick us up after calling reception numerous times from our cellphone. Lovely place but the staff let the whole experience down unfortunately.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Camper06147234385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicoleB7421, Sales Manager at Thaba Eco Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2018

Dear Camper06147234385

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay with us. We sincerely apologise for the experience you had with us. Thaba Eco Hotel is well known for our 4 star service and can see from your experience that we have failed in delivering that.

We will ensure to do the necessary retraining with our staff as we include a cot at no additional charge. We unfortunately experience challenges with our telephone lines when we have bad storms onsite and once again apologise that you were inconvenienced by this. We are continuously working on improving this.


Kind Regards
Nicole Barkley


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2018

On arrival place looked ok. When we got to our rooms the carpets where in shocking conditions! Aircon did not work Tv had no sound we complained on arrival and nothing was done at all. The rooms stink there was Brocken glass by the pool for days. Guests of the hotel have no consideration at ally very loud drunk people all over! Food is terrible!

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Compass46090391031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicoleB7421, Sales Manager at Thaba Eco Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2018

Dear Compass46090391031

Thank you for taking time to provide us with feedback. We are aware that our carpets are in need of attention especially due to the traffic they have had over the last couple of months. We are in the process of working out a plan to deep clean our carpets.

Our General Manager has confirmed that once it was brought to her attention that the Aircon was not working she immediately got our technician in, it was confirmed that the Aircon was in working order and just needed time to cool the room. She also got our Maintenance Manager to check the TV and had the volume control adjusted.

We apologise that you feel that the food was terrible this is not what we strive for or are known for. Thaba is known for catering to all types of events this time of year and in as much as we try we cannot always control the behaviour of all our guests.


We acknowledge that there is always room for improvement and we will continuously work towards making the required changes to improve our offerings.

Kind Regards
Nicole Barkley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews