We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
28
12
9
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
12
9
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2016

A very comfortable and relaxing place. The staff are very friendly and welcoming. My partner and I wanted to just getaway for the weekend and the bookings were very hassle free. A peaceful stay with good sceneries.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank royk799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2016

What a wonderful place to stay at. We stayed over for one night and the personal was so friendly and helpfull. Very neat and tidy rooms with all the basics you need as part of the amount you pay. Wonderful breakfast and the location is easy to get to. Winchester lodge will definitly see us more in the future. Thank you Winchester Lodge.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank X1739LFmichelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2016

I have seldom experienced a more misleading website. The establishment promised 24 hour concierge. False. Restaurant with gourmet chefs. Non existent. There was a dining room for breakfast of eggs cooked in a microwave, as the stove wasn't working. Rancid butter. No fresh fruit. They had "run out of" brown bread, milk and fruit juice. No air conditioning in the rooms. For a 4 star rating ? No mini bar or bar service as advertised. The swipe facility of the gate exit wasn't working, so one had to run to Reception and find someone to open the gate. Manager absent. Shocking wi fi reception. Parking area and driveway an absolute tip. Thoroughly disappointing in every way due to a complete lack of functional infrastructure. Avoid at all costs.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MarketingLCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan_Sampson, Manager at Winchester Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2016

Robyn,
Seldom have I had to endure a more sour, bitter and twisted surly individual as YOU.
You were complaining to me long before you had even set foot in the door. Your visit was unfortunately ill-timed as the worst rain storms hit Gauteng the week you were here, causing extensive damage to much of our infrastructure including intercom, PABX, Gate access, TV amplifiers and Wi-Fi router. Notwithstanding the foregoing, you have chosen to defame the Lodge with your vexatious ranting and raving. Fortunately, as can be ascertained from other reviews, you remain alone which is probably how somebody as dislikeable as you, should remain. Kind Regards, Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Coming from CTN its always difficult finding a relaxing place without the sea. With a friendly and very helpful reception its a great and affordable getaway. Breakfast was great and the place is kids friendly. Will definitely go there again when visiting JHB again.

Room tip: Very relaxing and central when travelling to Gold Reef City.
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 524tanyag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016

The lodge is nice, clean and very quiet which is a great place to go if you just want to relax indoors.
We unfortunately could not wait for the breakfast in the morning so we cannot rate the food. however all in all the experience was good and I would definitely go back again to the Lodge.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 364daphnem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews