We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not expect that! ”
Review of Lucky Bean

Lucky Bean
Ranked #10 of 1 475 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed 22 September 2018 via mobile

Wow wow wow the food is contemporary South African food. I had visitors from abroad and the food blew our taste buds out of the water. It’s a must visit if your in Johannesburg. The food is excellent and so is the service.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Lordkruger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 402 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2018 via mobile

Great service, lovely meal, lovely wine and craft beer. Good location for going on to bars after. Nice bread.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Roisin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018

We sought out this restaurant because of its vegetarians and vegan selections. We were disappointed; they were mediocre at best. The staff, however, couldn't have been more helpful and lovely

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ronnie63_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

On our whirlwind tour of SA, we were fortunate enough to have selected this venue for our first dining experience in South Africa. It didn't disappoint. The soft lighting and layout worked to our advantage as we were a haggard, jet legged bunch. The food and wine would be comparable to any top tier experience in L.A. The service however was what sealed the deal. Exceptional.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 892martinv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

We have not been to Melville for some time and ventured back because of the really good write ups posted on Lucky Bean and because of the menu which has a nice blend of vegan dishes for my wife.

Despite it being a little chilly, we sat on the patio - very relaxed and as the afternoon wore on, the sun warmed it up nicely.

Service was great and the food was fabulous. Good selection on the menu, from vegan to tasty dishes from Africa.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Beechman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lucky Bean also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Lucky Bean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing