We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
David F

A big thank you

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 Oct 2023
Everything about our stay was amazing, the location, the staff and the food and who can forget the Grown up milkshakes. Thank you Raymond. The hotel has a great location with a shopping precinct on it's doorstep, multiple cafés and restaurants within minutes. Also the Joburg hop on hop off bus, stops just outside the hotel. A very comfortable stay, I just wish we had longer. I would definitely recommend this hotel too friends and family. In fact I have. I hope too return soon but in the meantime I would like to thank all of the staff at the hotel for for a lovely stay and a fantastic birthday. Thank you especially too Londiwe, Les, Aaron, Ewart, Raymond and not forgetting Mr.T. thank you all again
Date of stay: September 2023
Room Tip: Melrose Arch is a safe location, feel free to explore. Great bars and restaurants close by
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 5 886
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 3 736
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 917
3.7 km from Protea Hotel Fire & Ice Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 676
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 610
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 686
3.2 km from Protea Hotel Fire & Ice Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 025
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 824
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 821
  • Vio.com
8.6 km from Protea Hotel Fire & Ice Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 917
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hyatt.com
    R 1 682
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 464
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 464
8.4 km from Protea Hotel Fire & Ice Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 230
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 135
  • Algotels
7.5 km from Protea Hotel Fire & Ice Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Free Wifi
Pool
R 1 110
R 878
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    R 878
6.9 km from Protea Hotel Fire & Ice Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Free parking
Pool
SUN1 BEREA EXTERIOR
R 499
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 499
  • Vio.com
5.8 km from Protea Hotel Fire & Ice Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Free parking
R 2 873
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 873
19.0 km from Protea Hotel Fire & Ice Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 361
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 287
  • StayForLong
7.9 km from Protea Hotel Fire & Ice Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 200
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 560
  • Priceline
3.9 km from Protea Hotel Fire & Ice Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Johannesburg
Reviews (1 250)
Filter reviews
1 250 results
Traveller rating
423
530
166
73
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
423
530
166
73
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviews milkshake bar melrose arch funky hotel gated area first floor restaurants and shops hotel is located safe location business trip south africa milkshakes shower security
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1 250 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2023 via mobile

The staff was so accommodating and helpful, especially the receptionist Phemelo (I believe that is her name) that I can only rate this as a 5 out of 5 hotel. The rooms were very good, the maid service was also very good and the beds were very comfortable. The location for proximity to the airport and access to a high end shopping mall also make this a great hotel for travelers.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank davidcR6159PX
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 June 2023 via mobile

The hotel is in a good safe well to do area surrounded by high end shops , car dealerships restaurants and bars .
The front desk staff were friendly and helpful but despite spending money in the restaurant I was not given any bonvoy points for my stay !
Room was ok , not sure about the design of the shower , like having a phone booth in the room ! , there is a divider curtain in the room to conceal the shower from view .
My room had a see through plastic chair by the desk and a high back easy chair , comfortable bed and quite efficient airconditioning, which I had to switch off for sleeping, made the room too cold .
Lots of movie / showbiz photos in and out of the rooms .
I had breakfast in the hotel , nice staff there also , but no scrambled egg at the buffet area , eggs are prepared / cooked on request.
Hotel has a quirky boutique ambience about it
Friendly staff

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank W1453JGpault
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 May 2023 via mobile

Lovely hotel in a great location. But what makes it great is the amazing people. Bosele the hotel manager is amazing. She is always nearby looking after every small thing. Thanks so much to all the staff for making us feel at home. Special thanks to Les at the front desk.
Great hotel. Highly recommend it.

Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 April 2023

This hotel was included in a 16-Day land tour we were doing of South Africa/Victoria Falls/Botswana. Honestly, service, cleanliness, included breakfast, and location, were all top-notch. This hotel is a bit on the modern side, but we found it to be quite cool, and way interesting. Hotel was very strategically located near many restaurants, and in a very quiet and safe location. When we return to Jo'Burg, we will have no hesitation booking this hotel.

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank SandraPittsburgh_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 March 2023 via mobile

We were in two minds whether to stay at the Marriott or Fire and Ice (another hotel within the Marriott Bonvoy group). We opted for the latter for three reasons:

1. It had some great reviews both on Marriott’s own website and on TripAdvisor.
2. We thought it would be nice to stay somewhere different - we have stayed at Marriotts before and they tend to be much of a muchness whereas Fire and Ice had a cool, edgy, 60s Hollywood glamour theme to it - one we hadn’t experienced before.
3. The price difference. They are in the same locality and there really doesn’t seem to be much difference in terms of what they have to offer.

Wow, we are so pleased we did! The service has been exceptional. The staff genuinely enjoy their jobs and greet you with a smile. Three of the ladies on Reception were particularly outstanding and so were all the restaurant and bar staff. Nothing was too much for any of them.

The manager who greeted us when we checked in was also so welcoming and what was really amazing was when he came to the restaurant during breakfast the next morning and greeted everyone by name! I don’t think many hotel managers could do the same.

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank yvertd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews