We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Lawsonio1
Toulouse, France

Not a 5* bedroom

Review of Houghton Hotel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 weeks agovia mobile
It’s a really nice hotel with so many facilities it’s incredible. Restaurants, bars, swimming pool, spa, golf. All well managed and high quality.
The room, however, was definitely not up to scratch. So many details just not hitting the 5* mark - see the photos. The hairdryer is just hilarious.
I would recommend it tho, as it’s safe, many things to do if you are only staying 1 or 2 nights.
Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 952
R 1 676
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 1 887
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 837
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 844
3.2 km from Houghton Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 765
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hyatt.com
    R 1 543
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 343
  • Priceline
    R 1 765
5.2 km from Houghton Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 052
R 878
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 878
  • Agoda.com
    R 878
  • Vio.com
    R 877
4.0 km from Houghton Hotel
Free parking
Pool
R 2 873
  • Priceline
    R 2 873
  • Vio.com
    R 2 873
  • StayForLong
15.4 km from Houghton Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    R 1 786
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 125
7.8 km from Houghton Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 1 050
  • Priceline
    R 1 050
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 750
5.8 km from Houghton Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
SUN1 BEREA EXTERIOR
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    R 499
  • Booking.com
    R 499
  • Agoda.com
    R 499
3.0 km from Houghton Hotel
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    R 855
  • Vio.com
    R 831
  • StayForLong
    R 1 034
30.7 km from Houghton Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 364
  • Agoda.com
    R 303
  • Priceline
    R 420
4.6 km from Houghton Hotel
View more hotels in Johannesburg
Reviews (307)
Filter reviews
307 results
Traveller rating
220
35
19
11
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
220
35
19
11
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful hotel junior suite reception staff world class enjoyed our stay hotel room attention to detail excellent stay rooms are large pleasant stay business trip south africa home away from home nova sejour finishes luxury
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 307 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great idea to get away for a small break from life and the normal routines. Excellent hospitality, luxurious rooms, and friendly staff.

Date of stay: June 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank marcP3909GE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Everyone at the hotel made me feel welcome and the interactions felt honest and not forced. Great facilities, but the people is what really makes your stay.

Date of stay: June 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank emilel118
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Luxurious apartment and great location. The penthouse was superb. The jacuzi was warm and the hotel staff very pleasant.Mr Kunene was very plaesant ,well mannered and wellcoming

Date of stay: June 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mfalai358287
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 June 2024

The place is beautiful without a doubt. There are just some admin issues which I did not quite appreciate. The property (penthouses) are sold on the website quite well but and they certainly meet the standards of how they were sold BUT there was something that was off-putting for me. One pays thousands per night for a penthouse with a “fully integrated” kitchen only to be told that you cannot cook in it??? This was very strange to me and some of the staff dealt with this in a manner I did not appreciate. Things could be done different and it is important that these clauses are mentioned in addition to the descriptions on the website. Because you are selling something and not being fully transparent. It could be worked on a bit better.

Date of stay: May 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Chuchi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 May 2024

Excellent Holiday Stay at this hotel.It has the most beautiful interior and has a welcoming entrance.A great hotel to unwind and just to relax.With luxury pools and breakfast that is divine.Tranquil setting that is suitable for any individual .

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jaco Minnaar, General Manager at Houghton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2024

Dear Nicole,

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your experience at The Houghton Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another excellent stay in the future!

Warm regards,
Jaco & The Houghton Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews