We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Natasha S
Johannesburg, South Africa

Beautiful Hotel

Review of Houghton Hotel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Dec 2023via mobile
It’s always a pleasure coming to dine at this establishment. Lovely scenery , Food/cocktails. Outdoors are aesthetically pleasing , a Total 5 star. The outdoor pool is only reserved for hotel guests. The hotel entrance is so breathtaking taking.
Date of stay: December 2023
Room Tip: Get there while the sun is out to enjoy the beautiful view.
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jaco Minnaar, General Manager at Houghton Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 02 Jan 2024
Dear Natasha,
We are thrilled to hear that you had a lot of fun at the Johannesburg Open golf day and thank you for your word of mouth recommendations.
Yours sincerely,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 878
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
3.2 km from Houghton Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 467
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Hyatt.com
5.2 km from Houghton Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Twin room
R 1 392
R 1 254
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Algotels
5.6 km from Houghton Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 234
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Hyatt.com
7.5 km from Houghton Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    R 6 155
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 5 450
  • Booking.com
1.5 km from Houghton Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 584
  • eDreams
7.8 km from Houghton Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 654
  • Algotels
5.8 km from Houghton Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 986
  • Priceline
4.0 km from Houghton Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Go to your Happy Price
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 928
  • Hotels.com
30.7 km from Houghton Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 342
  • Priceline
4.6 km from Houghton Hotel
View more hotels in Johannesburg
Reviews (300)
Filter reviews
301 results
Traveller rating
216
34
19
11
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
216
34
19
11
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful hotel junior suite reception staff world class enjoyed our stay hotel room attention to detail excellent stay rooms are large pleasant stay business trip south africa home away from home nova sejour finishes luxury
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 301 reviews
Reviewed 21 December 2023

Excellent service 💯

Service,golf , the ambience and the food, everything was just a showcase of excellence.
We had lots of fun at The Joburg Open.
Logistics from the transport team showed true professionalism.
Will definitely recommend the Hotel to the world.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Road36967190574
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jaco Minnaar, General Manager at Houghton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2024

Dear Guest, Thank you for the feedback.
We are pleased to hear that the service and golf experience showcased excellence and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2023

Outstanding experience on every level with friendly efficient staff and great food and drink options. The spa and facilities are world class as is the bar and selections offered. Overall ambience is vibey and positive a great energy

Date of stay: December 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank richilubner
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 December 2023

Yho! What an Amazing service from Stella. Thank you for planning a perfect marriage proposal.It was short notice but she went over and beyond her scope of work and duties to pull what I could only describe as a miracle.Stella made our stay at the hotel memorable. She upgraded us to a presidential suite to make sure the proposal was perfect. She planned the event like professional wedding/ events planner. Thank you Stella. You are a 11/10 in my books. We will be inviting you to our wedding soon.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Safari18314601924
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jaco Minnaar, General Manager at Houghton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2024

Dear Thami,
Thank you for your valued feedback.
We are delighted to hear that Stella provided hospitality that went above and beyond to ensure that you marriage proposal went perfectly.
We shall be sharing your review with Stella and look forward to welcoming you back to The Houghton Hotel soon. .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2023

5 star star at my doorsteps. The place is beautiful, good location. The service is amazing with all staff members being deliberate with wanting to help and be of service. The rooms are clean and the gym facilities are world class. Can't wait to go back.

Date of stay: December 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank caskeyndaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jaco Minnaar, General Manager at Houghton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2024

Dear Caskey,
We are delighted you enjoyed the spacious room and high quality bedding our 5 Star Hotel has to offer.
Thank you for highlighting the exemplary service you received from Natasha our Team Member.
We look forward to seeing you soon.
Yours sincerely, Jaco and The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2023 via mobile

Pros
Nice anemities
Dining area / lobby
Ok breakfast didn’t manage to have dinner breakfast

Cons
Room service staff not helpful and don’t answer the phone immediately
Room 124 has a poor drainage the water flooded half the room they want to mop we had to ask to be moved to another room not sure if it was deep cleaned as we found another person details
There is no mini bar something you expect in 4 star
Only 1 bottle of water 💦 disappointing given we are in summer
We stayed for one night for us it was not a comfortable stay at check out none even acknowledged the messed evening we had
If your used to luxury 5 star it can be disappointing

Room tip: Avoid room 124 poor drainage
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank starbellee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews