We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice building, friendly owner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ghandi Backpackers Lodge
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Stayed for 1 night in winter (2012 Aug). This is one of few hostels that offer free pickup from airport, even I stayed for 1 night only (going to the airport is R180, but it just happened 2 others are going at the same time, so i got charged R67). Had very good experience, very friendly atmosphere. Definitely one of the best hostels I’ve been to over the years. The owner, Heinz, drove to the airport himself to pick me up, he's a very friendly swiss guy and treats the guests as friends. The hostel is a beautiful building and the room is very neat and clean, and quiet. There's a nice small pool and free coffee/tea all day long. I found a bit funny that the bathroom has no real doors, but i’m fine with that. I think I will stay here again in future, and would recommend to others too.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephen n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 50 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2012

Facilities - We stayed in the double ensuite and it was amazing! The room is HUGE and the bathroom is updated perfectly with one of the best showers I have had on the road in four months. The kitchen has all equipment you'll need and is also extremely spacious. There is a T.V. in the double room, but there is also a great lounge room with a big screen T.V. as well. The bar is a great place to hang out and meet other travelers.

Staff - The staff is extremely great! From Chris (the airport pick up) to Heinz (the owner), everyone is very friendly and helpful.

Atmosphere - This hostel is very chilled and you can find all the peace you desire to read a book or plan the rest of your trip. However, the bar is available if you are looking for very affordable drinks and some company. We found it extremely convenient that you could party in the bar and then head up to your room to chill out. Because the bar is not attached to the house you can't hear a peep coming from those that have a higher alcohol tolerance then you.

Location - It is close to the airport which is great for coming and going out of Joburg. The area is safe and there is a supermarket, liquer store, and ATM all less then a five minute walk away. They are close to the largest mall in Joburg and also have a list of tours that you can book.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Gospel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Only here for one day but spacious room (ensuite double), nice little lounge and the owner is friendly. Though a little way out of time but good if you wanna stay close to the airport.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomas j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I don't have any complaints about my stay there, but it was kind of bland. There were only a few other people staying there at the time, so I had the dorm room almost to myself, which was nice, but then it was really quiet to have a drink at the bar. Chris was really nice and played a game of pool with me, and he also gave me a ride to the airport in the morning, through gorgeous tree-lined streets with the purple jacarunda trees in bloom. He also was kind enough to try to teach me some words in Xhosa, but I found the clicks too hard to combine with other sounds (he speaks something like 7 languages!). A few notes: 1) there's no wireless Internet, so you have to use one of their 2 computers at a charge, 2) there are a couple dogs, 3) the kitchen is clean and you can make coffee/tea anytime, 4) there's no hand-washing soap in the bathroom, 5) there's a pizza place nearby where you can order food for delivery - they have menus at the bar and will even call and place the order for you - that's the only food option if you don't cook.

Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
Thank MatiaNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Two friends and I recently stayed at Ghandi Backpackers after missing a connecting flight into Mozambique. After making a call to book a room, we were quickly picked up from the airport by Chris and transferred to the lodge. We had a triple ensuite which was spacious and clean. Facilities are great with options to either cook or Heinz, the manager, can order takeaway in. There is a bar with a pool table and we spent many happy hours playing pool with Chris and other friends we made while there! We enjoyed our stay so much we booked in to stay again on our return from Mozambique before flying home. Again, prompt pick up from airport and welcome reception from Chris and Heinz. A really lovely team and a great value place to stay while visiting Jo'Burg. Would highly recommend this place to all.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BVI_Diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
1.7 km away
Curiocity Backpackers
Curiocity Backpackers
#3 of 121 in Johannesburg
73 reviews
7.9 km away
HomeBase Melville
HomeBase Melville
#10 of 121 in Johannesburg
99 reviews
16.7 km away
Lebo's Soweto Backpackers
Lebo's Soweto Backpackers
#1 of 121 in Johannesburg
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Diamond Diggers Backpackers
Diamond Diggers Backpackers
#53 of 121 in Johannesburg
5 reviews
4.2 km away
Once in Joburg
Once in Joburg
#1 of 1 in Braamfontein
74 reviews
10.7 km away
The Birches Backpackers
The Birches Backpackers
#6 of 121 in Johannesburg
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghandi Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghandi Backpackers Lodge

Address: 15 Doris Street, Johannesburg 2094, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 121 Speciality Lodging in Johannesburg
Price Range: R360 - R453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing