We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
28
35
9
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
35
9
4
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 78 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Facilities - We stayed in the double ensuite and it was amazing! The room is HUGE and the bathroom is updated perfectly with one of the best showers I have had on the road in four months. The kitchen has all equipment you'll need and is also extremely spacious. There is a T.V. in the double room, but there is also a great lounge room with a big screen T.V. as well. The bar is a great place to hang out and meet other travelers.

Staff - The staff is extremely great! From Chris (the airport pick up) to Heinz (the owner), everyone is very friendly and helpful.

Atmosphere - This hostel is very chilled and you can find all the peace you desire to read a book or plan the rest of your trip. However, the bar is available if you are looking for very affordable drinks and some company. We found it extremely convenient that you could party in the bar and then head up to your room to chill out. Because the bar is not attached to the house you can't hear a peep coming from those that have a higher alcohol tolerance then you.

Location - It is close to the airport which is great for coming and going out of Joburg. The area is safe and there is a supermarket, liquer store, and ATM all less then a five minute walk away. They are close to the largest mall in Joburg and also have a list of tours that you can book.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Gospel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Only here for one day but spacious room (ensuite double), nice little lounge and the owner is friendly. Though a little way out of time but good if you wanna stay close to the airport.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomas j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I don't have any complaints about my stay there, but it was kind of bland. There were only a few other people staying there at the time, so I had the dorm room almost to myself, which was nice, but then it was really quiet to have a drink at the bar. Chris was really nice and played a game of pool with me, and he also gave me a ride to the airport in the morning, through gorgeous tree-lined streets with the purple jacarunda trees in bloom. He also was kind enough to try to teach me some words in Xhosa, but I found the clicks too hard to combine with other sounds (he speaks something like 7 languages!). A few notes: 1) there's no wireless Internet, so you have to use one of their 2 computers at a charge, 2) there are a couple dogs, 3) the kitchen is clean and you can make coffee/tea anytime, 4) there's no hand-washing soap in the bathroom, 5) there's a pizza place nearby where you can order food for delivery - they have menus at the bar and will even call and place the order for you - that's the only food option if you don't cook.

Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
Thank MatiaNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Two friends and I recently stayed at Ghandi Backpackers after missing a connecting flight into Mozambique. After making a call to book a room, we were quickly picked up from the airport by Chris and transferred to the lodge. We had a triple ensuite which was spacious and clean. Facilities are great with options to either cook or Heinz, the manager, can order takeaway in. There is a bar with a pool table and we spent many happy hours playing pool with Chris and other friends we made while there! We enjoyed our stay so much we booked in to stay again on our return from Mozambique before flying home. Again, prompt pick up from airport and welcome reception from Chris and Heinz. A really lovely team and a great value place to stay while visiting Jo'Burg. Would highly recommend this place to all.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BVI_Diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2011

This is a great place to stay. It is modern, clean, quiet and run by a nice Swiss from Zurich.

Food at the nearby Portuguese resturant was excellent. The two watchdog were well behaved and had been trained to sleep: tickle a foot and they may wake up.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rwhite1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews