We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Winston Hotel(Johannesburg)
US$185
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Reef Hotel(Johannesburg)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Genesis All-Suite Hotel(Johannesburg)
US$96
US$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$83/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Thaba Eco Hotel(Johannesburg)
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$134/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments(Johannesburg)(Great Value!)
US$68
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Valverde Country Hotel(Johannesburg)(Great Value!)
US$67
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$321
US$283
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$344/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 27/07
US$444
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$310
US$258
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (744)
Filter reviews
744 results
Traveller rating
242
327
109
39
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
242
327
109
39
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbutcher blockfresh restaurantnorth towertravel deskihg memberthe club loungebusiness hotelbusiness loungeroom servicegautrain stationrain showerbreakfast buffetbusiness triphousekeeping staffrooms are comfortableshopping mallsafe area
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 744 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2017

The Crowne Plaza is an older property, very nicely redone. The rooms are on the small side but comfortable; the bathrooms are absolutely tiny. There is no clock in the room--be aware to bring your own. Customer service was excellent. Food at the hotel was also excellent. The hotel is within walking distance of the Rosebank complex, which was an excellent place to spend downtime.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vbarshis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muhammad_rawat, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Dear vbarshis
Thank you for your recent visit to the Crowne Plaza Johannesburg
Your comments will be used for us to better improve on our service delivery.
We look to welcome you once again
Kind Regards
Muhammad Rawat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

Comfortable rooms but little personality about this place..it is what it is
Transport staff really good but service levels in food bit only ok
The bar was not open in the evening at 11.00 and room fridge not stocked so no night cap.
All staff seem pretty expert on working their I phones??????

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank niallmcheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muhammad_rawat, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear niallmcheshire
Thank you for your time in posting a review on TripAdvisor.
We appreciate your comments and will use this to improve on our service delivery.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly should you require any assistance for your future visits with us
Kind Regards
Muhammad Rawat
muhammad.rawat@tsogosun.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed here 3 nights on business. Best thing the staff. All amazing and nothing too much trouble. Room great. Nice suite upgrade as I’m spire elite with IHG. The only thing letting it down was the Club lounge. Probably the worst I’ve used and I’ve stayed in many. Food was poor. Just cheese sandwiches and some hot pastries. Plus if you want a beer the person takes ages going to the bar to get you one. Why not put some in the fridges in there. Plus your only allowed 4 then you have to pay. The room itself in need of some refurbishment. Didn’t go in on my last night as the bar area is much nicer. Great hotel though. Thanks guys.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank UKtaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muhammad_rawat, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Dear UKtaster
Thank you for your time in posting a review on TripAdvisor
We are delighted that you have enjoyed the hotel. Please accept my apologies for the service received in our club lounge. Your comments will be used in order for us to improve on our service delivery.
Kind Regards
Muhammad Rawat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed one night. Breakfast was great. Its walking distance from the mall. Walking distance from club Kong/Harem. Staff was very friendly. For a one night stay we had zero complaints. Its walking distance from the grillhouse which had amazing food.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank PurplePaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

Check in was swift and easy. Even better the room got upgraded to the executive tower.
The room was ready even at 11am!
It was newly refurbished and nice and modern.
The bed was spacious and firm and a lot of pillows for choice.
However the bathroom was small and dark. But the rain shower was nice.
I tried the pool but the water was too cold to swim in.

The gym however was big and well equipped.

Breakfast was nice with a great choice of foods.
They also made fresh fried eggs and omelette.

However the times and variety of snacks in the executive lounge could be improved.

The hotel is near the Rosebank mall, however most shops closed at 6.
There are also pubs and restaurants around.

Overall a pleasant stay.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank HighOctain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muhammad_rawat, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear HighOctain
We appreciate your comments and will use this to improve and better on our service delivery. The Hotel is in the process of heating our pool. Unfortunately i do not have a specific time frame of when this will be done.
I thank you and we look to welcome you once again to the Crowne Plaza Johannesburg.
Kind Regards
Muhammad Rawat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews