We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Winston Hotel(Johannesburg)
US$223
US$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thaba Eco Hotel(Johannesburg)
US$176
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments(Johannesburg)(Great Value!)
US$73
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$246
US$206
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Reef Hotel(Johannesburg)(Great Value!)
US$70
US$56
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Curiocity Backpackers(Johannesburg)(Great Value!)
US$71
US$36
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Valverde Country Hotel(Johannesburg)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$43
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$58/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 03/08
US$285
US$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$370
US$285
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$342/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (259)
Filter reviews
259 results
Traveller rating
136
97
21
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
97
21
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest housenice gardenthe main housewalking distancegreat roomlate at nightbreakfast was deliciousenjoyed our staybars and restaurantseach morningcomfortable bedvisit johannesburga lovely stayfelt safelucky beanhome away from homesafe area
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 259 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2016

We arranged to be picked up at the airport. After a very long flight, our driver met us and was very friendly and excited to tell us all about Johannesburg.

We pulled into the guesthouse and were met by our host Corlien. She was very welcoming and explained the ins and outs of the property. We were brought to our room and were pleasantly surprised. Although there is no air conditioning, the ceiling fan provides a good breeze. We were near the back of the property, which is near a school, so when the kids are playing outside, it does get a little loud, but that cannot be controlled.

Corlien and her staff are very friendly and helpful, there's a phone in the main house if you need to make any calls. I believe there's also a computer, printer and fax machine in case you need it. The property has free wi-fi which came in handy. Corlien will help you set up any tours/excursions that you are interested in.

There is a nice breakfast buffet in the morning, accompanied by a menu in case you want to eat more. The food was tasty and satisfying.

The guesthouse is in the village of Melville and walking distance to several bars/restaurants. We felt safe walking around, and generally it seems to be a charming, quiet community.

On our last day, we were leaving very early and Corlien made sure that we had a full breakfast tray sent to us the night before so that we could start the day off right.

Amazing hospitality in a charming and quaint location!

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corlien P, Owner at Ginnegaap Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2016

Thank you! We are so glad that you felt at home at Ginnegaap. We try our best to make everyone feel happy and to assist wherever we can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2016

Really nice place! Homey. Friendly staff, awesome service. Breakfast is really yummy. Try to book a tour with their amazing tourguide Jaco. Felt totally safe walking around in Mellville. Great surprise! Will come back for sure! Wednesday night is night market-night around the corner in 27 boxes... go there!

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Roos B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corlien P, Owner at Ginnegaap Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2016

Thank you so much for your comments. We are so glad that you enjoyed your tour with Jaco. We think he is one of the great guides in Johannesburg. He knows and loves Johannesburg and it shows in the tours that he offers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2016

The guesthouse is perfectly located within Melville, one of the best neighborhoods in Johannesburg, surrounded by nice restaurants, cafes, drinking places, art galleries and nice shops.

Ginnegaap has a very cozy atmosphere, enhanced by the great garden and the spacious and nicely furnished rooms. Free parking is available on the premises. Please note it might be a bit cold during winter, as rooms are big and there is no central heating system (but a portable electric heater is provided in the room).

Breakfast is delicious with original dishes and a good variety of fruits, muesli, juices. The WiFi works well.

Overall, a great experience.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Matteo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corlien P, Owner at Ginnegaap Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2016

We appreciate your positive comments! We are working on the heating during mid-winter months. Our electric blankets and heaters sure helps, but we are in the process of adding air conditioners to all our rooms. Luckily, our winters in Johannesburg are mild with only a few cold spells to ruffle our feathers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2016 via mobile

Arrived late to this place after a long trip with train from Capetown. We were met by staff who showed us our room. Had a room on the backside of the house and it was quiet and cozy. Not top notch but good enough. Extremity big bed but it was a bit worn down so not perfectly cozy. The room was clean and spacious. Tea and coffee facilities as well as microwave and tv in the room. The coffee in the room was real freshly grinded presso coffee, Great.
Got soap and the usual products in the bathroom, shampoo, conditioner, soap, towels and shower cap.
The breakfast was fresh and great. Lots of freashly cut fruit and yogurt and juice.
There was a hot menu to order also for breakfast. You could have sandwiches, omelets, porridge and more.
Overall a great place to stay at for some nights if you are in Jo'burg. Lots of fresh restaurants close by and a mall with pick and pay etc just some blocks away. In summer you also can enjoy the pool.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corlien P, Owner at Ginnegaap Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2016

Thank you for all the things that you have mentioned in your review of Ginnegaap. Our mattresses all have a 20 year warranty and should still be fine. We will, however, urgently look into this matter. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

This place was lovely. The rooms were so cozy and clean. The staff was great and friendly! We got to do a day tour with Jaco. Sorry if that's the wrong spelling but he was absolutely awesome! Don't hesitate to book this one. And Melville is a great spot, great food, little shops.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corlien P, Owner at Ginnegaap Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2016

Thank you for your very welcome comments. Jaco, from Traville Tours and Transport, loves Johannesburg and we are glad that you enjoyed one of the many tours he has on offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews