We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ginnegaap Guesthouse
Ranked #13 of 298 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2016

The Ginnegaap Guesthouse was simply wonderful! Owner Corline and the entire staff are very friendly and welcoming. The room was very roomy with a beautiful bathroom. Breakfast was ample and delicious (buffet-style fruits, cereal and juices + a menu to choose off). The Guesthouse is located in the heart of Melville, a very short walking distance to quaint shops, bars & restaurants. We never felt unsafe walking around in the neighbourhood. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnemarieonTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corlien P, Owner at Ginnegaap Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2016

We are trying so hard to make our guests feel welcome by giving them clean and beautiful rooms and a great breakfast. It is great when the efforts of the staff are recognized and this motivates all of us to be consistent. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 57 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2016

We arranged to be picked up at the airport. After a very long flight, our driver met us and was very friendly and excited to tell us all about Johannesburg.

We pulled into the guesthouse and were met by our host Corlien. She was very welcoming and explained the ins and outs of the property. We were brought to our room and were pleasantly surprised. Although there is no air conditioning, the ceiling fan provides a good breeze. We were near the back of the property, which is near a school, so when the kids are playing outside, it does get a little loud, but that cannot be controlled.

Corlien and her staff are very friendly and helpful, there's a phone in the main house if you need to make any calls. I believe there's also a computer, printer and fax machine in case you need it. The property has free wi-fi which came in handy. Corlien will help you set up any tours/excursions that you are interested in.

There is a nice breakfast buffet in the morning, accompanied by a menu in case you want to eat more. The food was tasty and satisfying.

The guesthouse is in the village of Melville and walking distance to several bars/restaurants. We felt safe walking around, and generally it seems to be a charming, quiet community.

On our last day, we were leaving very early and Corlien made sure that we had a full breakfast tray sent to us the night before so that we could start the day off right.

Amazing hospitality in a charming and quaint location!

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corlien P, Owner at Ginnegaap Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2016

Thank you! We are so glad that you felt at home at Ginnegaap. We try our best to make everyone feel happy and to assist wherever we can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2016

Really nice place! Homey. Friendly staff, awesome service. Breakfast is really yummy. Try to book a tour with their amazing tourguide Jaco. Felt totally safe walking around in Mellville. Great surprise! Will come back for sure! Wednesday night is night market-night around the corner in 27 boxes... go there!

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Roos B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corlien P, Owner at Ginnegaap Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2016

Thank you so much for your comments. We are so glad that you enjoyed your tour with Jaco. We think he is one of the great guides in Johannesburg. He knows and loves Johannesburg and it shows in the tours that he offers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2016

The guesthouse is perfectly located within Melville, one of the best neighborhoods in Johannesburg, surrounded by nice restaurants, cafes, drinking places, art galleries and nice shops.

Ginnegaap has a very cozy atmosphere, enhanced by the great garden and the spacious and nicely furnished rooms. Free parking is available on the premises. Please note it might be a bit cold during winter, as rooms are big and there is no central heating system (but a portable electric heater is provided in the room).

Breakfast is delicious with original dishes and a good variety of fruits, muesli, juices. The WiFi works well.

Overall, a great experience.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Matteo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corlien P, Owner at Ginnegaap Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2016

We appreciate your positive comments! We are working on the heating during mid-winter months. Our electric blankets and heaters sure helps, but we are in the process of adding air conditioners to all our rooms. Luckily, our winters in Johannesburg are mild with only a few cold spells to ruffle our feathers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2016 via mobile

Arrived late to this place after a long trip with train from Capetown. We were met by staff who showed us our room. Had a room on the backside of the house and it was quiet and cozy. Not top notch but good enough. Extremity big bed but it was a bit worn down so not perfectly cozy. The room was clean and spacious. Tea and coffee facilities as well as microwave and tv in the room. The coffee in the room was real freshly grinded presso coffee, Great.
Got soap and the usual products in the bathroom, shampoo, conditioner, soap, towels and shower cap.
The breakfast was fresh and great. Lots of freashly cut fruit and yogurt and juice.
There was a hot menu to order also for breakfast. You could have sandwiches, omelets, porridge and more.
Overall a great place to stay at for some nights if you are in Jo'burg. Lots of fresh restaurants close by and a mall with pick and pay etc just some blocks away. In summer you also can enjoy the pool.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corlien P, Owner at Ginnegaap Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2016

Thank you for all the things that you have mentioned in your review of Ginnegaap. Our mattresses all have a 20 year warranty and should still be fine. We will, however, urgently look into this matter. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
5,2 km away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#26 of 66 in Johannesburg
445 reviews
2,8 km away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
10 km away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#11 of 66 in Johannesburg
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4,9 km away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
27,7 km away
Valverde Country Hotel
Valverde Country Hotel
#24 of 66 in Johannesburg
201 reviews
0,5 km away
84 on Fourth Guest House
84 on Fourth Guest House
#5 of 298 in Johannesburg
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ginnegaap Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ginnegaap Guesthouse

Address: 54 4th AVE | Melville, Johannesburg 2092, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 298 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range: R707 - R1 006 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ginnegaap Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ginnegaap Guest House operates from a charming cottage-style house in Melville, one of the oldest and most vibrant suburbs in Johannesburg. This highly recommended and trendy establishment with its 12 tastefully decorated en-suite bedrooms offer business and holiday makers a warm, friendly and comfortable home from home.Within walking distance from quaint coffee shops, restaurants, art galleries, book stores and antique shops, Ginnegaap is your perfect escape in the buzzing city of Johannesburg. Stylish rooms, great breakfasts, friendly and caring staff, affordable and spotlessly clean! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Ginnegaap Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing