We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not convinced ”

The Grillhouse Melrose Arch
Ranked #112 of 1 425 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Price range: US$10 - US$694
Description: The Grillhouse, one of Johannesburg's premium steakhouses, offers a world- class dining experience. Loved by local and international clients alike, it's difficult not to be impressed. Established in 1995, The Grillhouse offers excellent food, stellar service, spectacular wine and malt choices, as well as a vibrant upmarket ambiance. Private dining rooms are available. Booking recommended.
Restaurant details
Description: The Grillhouse, one of Johannesburg's premium steakhouses, offers a world- class dining experience. Loved by local and international clients alike, it's difficult not to be impressed. Established in 1995, The Grillhouse offers excellent food, stellar service, spectacular wine and malt choices, as well as a vibrant upmarket ambiance. Private dining rooms are available. Booking recommended.
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

There's hints of good and more bad. Ordered a beef platter medium and it came well well done. The food was dry, chips crispy on the outside and hard on the inside. Ordered a stake for my wife and the presentation of the food is so plain and far from appetising. The steak was cooked according to order which is a positive. The service was very good, drinks were cold and came quickly. For the price we paid I feel robbed. I wouldn't recommend this place

Thank tadiwat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl C, Public Relations Manager at The Grillhouse Melrose Arch, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for your review Tadiwa T. We are sad to read that you did not have a great experience. Your review has been forwarded to senior management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018

We were in Johannesburg for a weekend and decided to visit Melrose Arch on the Sunday afternoon. When we noticed the Grillhouse, we decided to visit it for a late lunch. The Grillhouse have certainly kept up their winning formula, from when we visited it many years prior (albeit in a different location).

We decided to sit on the balcony upstairs and admire the views and sunshine. Service was prompt and attentive in all cases.

We took in the calamari (shared) to start, followed by fillet and the ostrich medallions. The food, in all cases, was excellent. All our dishes were prepared to perfection, and we thoroughly enjoyed everything. We really wanted to take in dessert, but the overindulgence wasn't something we could contemplate that afternoon (sadly).

The wine list is comprehensive, although the options by the glass are a little limiting.

Grillhouse does what it says - amazing steak with great service. This is not a fine dining establishment so don't expect Michelin-star presentation. Rather, enjoy the atmosphere, the prompt service and great food.

When we're next in Johannesburg, we'll make a point to stop by.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Grant H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl C, Public Relations Manager at The Grillhouse Melrose Arch, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you so much for your fabulous review Grant. We look forward to seeing you again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

Went here with friends for my husbands birthday. Good service, exceptionally tasty steaks, great portion options- winner all round! Would return

Thank Tallgirl1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl C, Public Relations Manager at The Grillhouse Melrose Arch, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Thank you so much for your fabulous review. Looking forward to seeing you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

Being a chef and a steak lover is not always easy, to find a restaurant that can meet my expectations. The Grillhouse however is the exception, I am never disappointed in my steak. The greatest cuts and always cooked to perfection. Good service too.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PatrickV3593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl C, Public Relations Manager at The Grillhouse Melrose Arch, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Thank you very much for an amazing review Patrick. We appreciate your support :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018

Friends travelling from overseas suggested The Grillhouse for dinner on their last night.
The food was good, but not memorable and the staff was efficient.
What made the dinner less enjoyable is that the restaurant closes at 22:30 and we were promptly asked to pay and leave. I do understand that a kitchen closes but for a restaurant that markets itself to international guests, I find it odd that the closing times are so early. I would not expect a restaurant to stay open until very late but to be asked to leave when we were already finished with dessert...
In future I will look at dining at restaurants that tries to accommodate its guest in a better manner.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lisakG3778XB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl C, Public Relations Manager at The Grillhouse Melrose Arch, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Thank you for your review lisakG3778XB
We apologise for the experience you had at closing time. Your review has been forwarded to senior management, who take all adverse experiences at the venues very seriously.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Grillhouse Melrose Arch also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to The Grillhouse Melrose Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing