We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Constitution hill review”
Review of Constitution Hill

Constitution Hill
Book In Advance
More Info
US$100,07*
and up
Constitutional Hill and Apartheid Museum Half-Day Tour from Johannesburg
More Info
US$155,75*
and up
Mahatma Gandhi and Satyagraha Private Tour of Johannesburg
More Info
US$74,49*
and up
Johannesburg Highlights: Guided Day Tour
Ranked #3 of 184 things to do in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Nowhere can the story of South Africa's turbulent past and its extraordinary transition to democracy be told as it is at Constitution Hill. Constitution Hill is a national heritage site situated in the Johannesburg CBD and is home to the Constitutional Court of South Africa- the highest court in the country on constitutional matters. Once a place of injustice and brutality, where South Africa's leading political activists, including Nelson Mandela and Mahatma Gandhi, were detained, the site has been transformed into a place of solidarity and democracy, home to the Women's Gaol museum, Number Four Museum, and Old Fort Museum. Apart from its engaging and gripping exhibitions, Constitution Hill is also open to the public for guided tours and has become an important platform for Heritage, Education, and Tourism related programmes. The vast variety of programmes hosted at Constitution Hill enable us to embrace current issues, celebrate days of national significance, address matters of public interest and create a forum for public debate. With its rich history and character Constitution Hill boasts of ideal platforms to educate and learn about South Africa's story. ConHill, as it is famously known, also offers a variety of multi-purpose venues, suitable for conferencing, performances, a large array of events and for public activities and programmes.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Reviewed 4 October 2017

IT is a great place to tour and learn more about the South African history. Nolu..our guide was excellent, eloquent and very engaging.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Helga N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConHill-SA, Public Relations Manager at Constitution Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear Helga N,

Thank you for visiting us. We will certainly commend Nolu for her work in ensuring that your experience of the site was of high quality. We do hope that you will return again soon.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 066)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 84 of 1 066 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2017

This was an excellent tour that I would highly recommend for all ages (with the exception of small children due to the nature of the content)! This tour was very educational and brought to light the severity of issues that occurred and continue to occur in South Africa. The guide was excellent and very well educated on the subject. He was able to convey the history of Constitutional Hill in a way that made you really understand the cruelty that took place. We went later in the afternoon shortly before they closed which was nice as the group was smaller. We were able to maneuver each section of the location easily and hear our guide perfectly.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank GlobeGetter08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConHill-SA, Public Relations Manager at Constitution Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear hayley a,

Thank you for visiting us and for recommending our tours. We do hope that you will be back again with family and friends in the near future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

I was fortunate to do the night tour, which I found amazing. The staff are passionate which really makes the experience. Absolutely loved the are collection. It is indeed a "A global beacon for human rights, democracy and reconciliation, driven by public participation."

Thank InyatiSafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConHill-SA, Public Relations Manager at Constitution Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear InyatiSafari,

Thank you for visiting us and for taking the night tour. We are pleased that the tour had a positive impact on you. We do hope that you will be back again in the near future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

A heartfelt thank you to our tour guide, who was so knowledgeable and so inspiring! She really did make our experience one to remember!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank keneiloep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConHill-SA, Public Relations Manager at Constitution Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Dear keneiloep,

Thank you for visiting us and for sharing your experience with us. We do hope that you will be back again in the near future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

The tour was very informative, the guide was amazing, the interaction was great. It was an awesome experience. Thank you.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Tracy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConHill-SA, Public Relations Manager at Constitution Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Dear Tracy R,

Thank you very much for visiting us. We hope you will return again in the future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Constitution Hill also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Constitution Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing