We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (176)
Filter reviews
176 results
Traveller rating
163
11
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
163
11
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscraighall parkhome away from homedelta parkguest housesound of running waterhome baked breadapartments are spaciouslovely hostssuburban areabeautiful gardenwalking distanceopen planexcellent accommodationliving rooman oasisthree nightsyogurt
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 176 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2017 via mobile

Beautiful and spacious apartments, lovely garden, delicious breakfast and super hospitable and friendly hosts! I stayed here on a short business trip to Jo’burg, but would also highly recommand this guest house for a longer stay.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank Merel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pamelamary52, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Hello Merel
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review - and so happy you enjoyed your apartment, the garden and breakfast! We really hope you will be able to spend a little more time with us when next you are in Johannsurg!
Take care!
Pam, Rob and the Amanzi team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed staying at Amanzi. The location was perfect for my needs; I loved the beautiful stone buildings, the garden with its huge Jacaranda tree which helped to instil a sense of calm after stressful work days; my room was beautiful and convenient and I slept so well in the comfortable bed; the wifi was great; and Pam and Rob were so kind and helpful.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank MargaStoffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pamelamary52, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Dear Marga
It was a pleasure to meet you and have you stay at Amanzi - thank you for taking the time out of your busy life to write a review on Amanzi, and for your kind words. We, the Amanzi team, are so happy you found the garden destressing, and calming! I hope you will stay with us again when you are next in Joburg!
Warm regards from all of us
Pam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017

We spent 3 amazing weeks in Amanzi Guest House when we first moved to South Africa. We felt absolutely at home with Pam & Rob who are incredibly warm and caring hosts. A lovely green, quiet and magical place which our 20-month daughter explored every day and enjoyed. Very child friendly, safe and comfortable, with a beautiful garden and impressive bird life. Excellent location near Hyde Park mall while at the same time very tranquil and relaxing. We loved our stay and we miss the place already!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EkaterinaMihajlovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pamelamary52, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Dear Ekaterina
Thank you so much for your lovely review - we enjoyed getting to know you a little more each day, especially Nicky.:) I am so happy you felt comfortable at Amanzi. What fabulous words to describe Amanzi : ä lovely green, quiet and magical place!
I am sure we will keep in touch with each other, and wishing you all the best in your new home.
Warm regards from us all
Pam and Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

People who like books are the best kind of people. People who like books and create beautiful spaces, oases from the city - the kind of space that makes you feel like you are on a retreat - are better. Amanzi is an oasis and a perfect place to relax or work from. The light and space in the loft is amazing, the bed super comfy, and the wifi very fast. Pamela and Rob were helpful with recommendations and made a great breakfast (home baked bread, eggs, great mushrooms, yoghurts - the lot!). They even went above and beyond to jumpstart our car. We definitely would come back to stay, and recommend to others.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Bantam_Hen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela K, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear Bantam-hen
Guests who enjoy books are great, but guests who read and travel are the best!
It was fun to talk and share books read, And you are our first guests from Panama too!
So happy you felt that Amanzi was an oasis in the city, and you were super comfortable.
It’s really encouraging when guests feel so at home in this city which gets such bad press.
Thank you for your lovely review, and Rob and I hope our paths cross one day again. You know you will always be welcome to stay at Amanzi!
Warm regards
Pam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

Better than home away from home. My children & I spent over 5 months at Amanzi Guest Lodge in Craighall Park. We loved every minute, from the exceptional accommodation, incredibly delicious home cooked breakfasts, gorgeous environment, wonderful library, to the wonderful hospitality & overwhelming assistance from Pam, Rob & the team (Thabang, Deli, Lena, Ryan and Leeane). No request of ours was too much trouble. The staff were extremely accommodating at all times & bent over backwards to ensure our stay was more than pleasant. Thank you, we will definitely stay again

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank DebbieK2240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pamelamary52, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Debbie
Gosh! Thank you so much for your really lovely review - we loved having you and your children stay with us, and in the 5 months you felt truly part of the family!! It was easy to bend over backwards to help you in any way we could! The Amanzi team misses you three but wish you well in your new life :)
Warm regards from the Amanzi team
Pam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews