We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A green escape in the heart of Johannesburg”
Review of Amanzi Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Johannesburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amanzi Guest House
Ranked #6 of 300 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 November 2017

We spent 3 amazing weeks in Amanzi Guest House when we first moved to South Africa. We felt absolutely at home with Pam & Rob who are incredibly warm and caring hosts. A lovely green, quiet and magical place which our 20-month daughter explored every day and enjoyed. Very child friendly, safe and comfortable, with a beautiful garden and impressive bird life. Excellent location near Hyde Park mall while at the same time very tranquil and relaxing. We loved our stay and we miss the place already!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EkaterinaMihajlovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pamelamary52, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Dear Ekaterina
Thank you so much for your lovely review - we enjoyed getting to know you a little more each day, especially Nicky.:) I am so happy you felt comfortable at Amanzi. What fabulous words to describe Amanzi : ä lovely green, quiet and magical place!
I am sure we will keep in touch with each other, and wishing you all the best in your new home.
Warm regards from us all
Pam and Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

People who like books are the best kind of people. People who like books and create beautiful spaces, oases from the city - the kind of space that makes you feel like you are on a retreat - are better. Amanzi is an oasis and a perfect place to relax or work from. The light and space in the loft is amazing, the bed super comfy, and the wifi very fast. Pamela and Rob were helpful with recommendations and made a great breakfast (home baked bread, eggs, great mushrooms, yoghurts - the lot!). They even went above and beyond to jumpstart our car. We definitely would come back to stay, and recommend to others.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Bantam_Hen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela K, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear Bantam-hen
Guests who enjoy books are great, but guests who read and travel are the best!
It was fun to talk and share books read, And you are our first guests from Panama too!
So happy you felt that Amanzi was an oasis in the city, and you were super comfortable.
It’s really encouraging when guests feel so at home in this city which gets such bad press.
Thank you for your lovely review, and Rob and I hope our paths cross one day again. You know you will always be welcome to stay at Amanzi!
Warm regards
Pam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

Better than home away from home. My children & I spent over 5 months at Amanzi Guest Lodge in Craighall Park. We loved every minute, from the exceptional accommodation, incredibly delicious home cooked breakfasts, gorgeous environment, wonderful library, to the wonderful hospitality & overwhelming assistance from Pam, Rob & the team (Thabang, Deli, Lena, Ryan and Leeane). No request of ours was too much trouble. The staff were extremely accommodating at all times & bent over backwards to ensure our stay was more than pleasant. Thank you, we will definitely stay again

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pamelamary52, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Debbie
Gosh! Thank you so much for your really lovely review - we loved having you and your children stay with us, and in the 5 months you felt truly part of the family!! It was easy to bend over backwards to help you in any way we could! The Amanzi team misses you three but wish you well in your new life :)
Warm regards from the Amanzi team
Pam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

I travel a lot and Amanzi is one of my favourite guesthouses! I love the apartments which are well equipped and very comfortable, with their beautiful garden views. Pam and her great team made me very welcome and take care of every need!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T8872BEteresag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pamelamary52, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Dear T8872BEteresag
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on Amanzi, after all your travelling! You are always welcome at Amanzi and happy that you feel comfortable and well taken care of :)
Pam, Rob and the Amanzi team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

I have been coming to the Amanzi for two years now and won't stay anywhere else in Johannesburg. I absolutely love the owners, their home, all the staff, the dogs, and every room and cottage (I've stayed in every one!). I can't recommend this place enough - it's beautiful, safe, near a park, good restaurants, the service is incredible, the apartments are private and each beautifully designed, it's quiet and peaceful and not only is the management fantastic (Pam and Rob have become dear friends) but the guests all seem to be wondreful too. This place exudes warmth and I'm relieved every time I have to come to Joburg knowing that there's the Amanzi.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela K, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Dear Andrea
Your visits always make us all smile at Amanzi. We love having you stay with us. You are always so appreciative and fit in like family. Thank you for your lovely review and comments about Amanzi and the area. It's wonderful for us that you feel so comfortable staying, and that you feel safe and find the area convenient. I have been happy in this area for over 30 years!!
Look forward to your next visit!
Pam, Rob and the Amanzi team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
1,2 km away
Hands On Retreat Craighall
Hands On Retreat Craighall
#4 of 300 in Johannesburg
315 reviews
0,1 km away
Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse
Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse
#1 of 300 in Johannesburg
373 reviews
6,4 km away
Arum Place Guest House
Arum Place Guest House
#2 of 300 in Johannesburg
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3,8 km away
Cotswold Gardens Guest House
Cotswold Gardens Guest House
#8 of 300 in Johannesburg
266 reviews
3,6 km away
The Parkwood
The Parkwood
#11 of 300 in Johannesburg
140 reviews
5,7 km away
84 on Fourth Guest House
84 on Fourth Guest House
#5 of 300 in Johannesburg
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanzi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanzi Guest House

Address: 64 Rutland Avenue | Craighall Park, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 300 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range: R1 096 - R1 461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amanzi Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amanzi Guest House, AA TravelGuides Superior Grading, 4 Star TGCSA, Central Johannesburg, South Africa, offers luxury bed and breakfast / guesthouse accommodation with self-catering options. Four contemporary urban chic apartments each with private entrances, and three garden cottages. Free unlimited high speed fibre optic Internet access (50 Mps), Satellite TV, secure property with undercover parking. Pool set in indigenous garden. Added luxuries like hairdryers, luxurious cotton percale linen, a house branded range of natural toiletries and daily refilled bottles of E-spring filtered water. Convenient neighbourhood shops less than a kilometre away - a general grocer, fruit and veg, pharmacy, restaurant - minutes from Sandton, Rosebank, Melrose Arch, Johannesburg CBD. Ideal for business and leisure travelers. Amanzi Guest House specialises in long stays. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing