We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation, hospitality a MUST visit ”
Review of Amanzi Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Johannesburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amanzi Guest House
Ranked #6 of 300 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

Better than home away from home. My children & I spent over 5 months at Amanzi Guest Lodge in Craighall Park. We loved every minute, from the exceptional accommodation, incredibly delicious home cooked breakfasts, gorgeous environment, wonderful library, to the wonderful hospitality & overwhelming assistance from Pam, Rob & the team (Thabang, Deli, Lena, Ryan and Leeane). No request of ours was too much trouble. The staff were extremely accommodating at all times & bent over backwards to ensure our stay was more than pleasant. Thank you, we will definitely stay again

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pamelamary52, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Debbie
Gosh! Thank you so much for your really lovely review - we loved having you and your children stay with us, and in the 5 months you felt truly part of the family!! It was easy to bend over backwards to help you in any way we could! The Amanzi team misses you three but wish you well in your new life :)
Warm regards from the Amanzi team
Pam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2017

I travel a lot and Amanzi is one of my favourite guesthouses! I love the apartments which are well equipped and very comfortable, with their beautiful garden views. Pam and her great team made me very welcome and take care of every need!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T8872BEteresag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pamelamary52, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Dear T8872BEteresag
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on Amanzi, after all your travelling! You are always welcome at Amanzi and happy that you feel comfortable and well taken care of :)
Pam, Rob and the Amanzi team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

I have been coming to the Amanzi for two years now and won't stay anywhere else in Johannesburg. I absolutely love the owners, their home, all the staff, the dogs, and every room and cottage (I've stayed in every one!). I can't recommend this place enough - it's beautiful, safe, near a park, good restaurants, the service is incredible, the apartments are private and each beautifully designed, it's quiet and peaceful and not only is the management fantastic (Pam and Rob have become dear friends) but the guests all seem to be wondreful too. This place exudes warmth and I'm relieved every time I have to come to Joburg knowing that there's the Amanzi.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela K, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Dear Andrea
Your visits always make us all smile at Amanzi. We love having you stay with us. You are always so appreciative and fit in like family. Thank you for your lovely review and comments about Amanzi and the area. It's wonderful for us that you feel so comfortable staying, and that you feel safe and find the area convenient. I have been happy in this area for over 30 years!!
Look forward to your next visit!
Pam, Rob and the Amanzi team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

I stayed at Amanzi for three weeks in June upon relocating to South Africa. I picked one of the studios as I was alone and it was a lot of space for one, furnished very nicely and with all the necesary equiment for a long stay.
My highlights were the breakfasts, where I was greeted by the lovely team, as well as their pets. It just gave me a very homey feeling.
The team is always on call to answer any questions or help sort any issues.
I highly recommend Amanzi.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wanderlust_SAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela K, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Dear Wanderlust
What a warm review- we are so happy you felt at home, and comfortable. Thank you for your lovely comments about the space and how you felt breakfasts were the highlight. We also so enjoy it when our guests are enjoying themselves And are relaxed and happy.
Wishing you all the best in your new space
Leeane, Ryan, and the rest of the Amanzi team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

Amanzi is our automatic choice if we are heading for Jo'burg. Jacaranda Cottage proved the perfect base. It is comfortable (including the bed) and well equipped. Water was always piping hot. And breakfast was enough to negate the need for lunch. Our hosts looked after us perfectly. Always helpful, but never intrusive. The garden includes a decorative stream and is inhabited by hadida ibis, and the house lies in a leafy suburban area. We walked to a nearby café and park and felt quite safe doing so. Wifi was fast and available throughout. Highly recommended. We are greatly disappointed when it has been full and we have not been able to secure a room.

Room Tip: All rooms seem quiet and well equipped. Cottages give some extra space at little extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 1234GG1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela K, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Dear 1234GG
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We so appreciate it and hope that we will always be able to accommodate you when you head for Joburg.
Thank you for your positive comments about comfort- including the bed. We put great emphasis on comfort, and a good sleep in a quality bed with crisp linen is high on our list.
Glad you enjoyed the neighbourhood, and the park.
Look forward to your nest visit.
Best wishes from all of us at Amanzi!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
1,2 km away
Hands On Retreat Craighall
Hands On Retreat Craighall
#4 of 300 in Johannesburg
315 reviews
0,1 km away
Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse
Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse
#1 of 300 in Johannesburg
373 reviews
6,4 km away
Arum Place Guest House
Arum Place Guest House
#2 of 300 in Johannesburg
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3,8 km away
Cotswold Gardens Guest House
Cotswold Gardens Guest House
#8 of 300 in Johannesburg
266 reviews
3,6 km away
The Parkwood
The Parkwood
#11 of 300 in Johannesburg
140 reviews
5,7 km away
84 on Fourth Guest House
84 on Fourth Guest House
#5 of 300 in Johannesburg
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanzi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanzi Guest House

Address: 64 Rutland Avenue | Craighall Park, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 300 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range: R1 101 - R1 468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amanzi Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amanzi Guest House, AA TravelGuides Superior Grading, 4 Star TGCSA, Central Johannesburg, South Africa, offers luxury bed and breakfast / guesthouse accommodation with self-catering options. Four contemporary urban chic apartments each with private entrances, and three garden cottages. Free unlimited high speed fibre optic Internet access (50 Mps), Satellite TV, secure property with undercover parking. Pool set in indigenous garden. Added luxuries like hairdryers, luxurious cotton percale linen, a house branded range of natural toiletries and daily refilled bottles of E-spring filtered water. Convenient neighbourhood shops less than a kilometre away - a general grocer, fruit and veg, pharmacy, restaurant - minutes from Sandton, Rosebank, Melrose Arch, Johannesburg CBD. Ideal for business and leisure travelers. Amanzi Guest House specialises in long stays. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing