We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (202)
Filter reviews
202 results
Traveller rating
187
12
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
187
12
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews craighall park home away from home delta park the cottages short or long term stay homemade muesli fabulous hosts sun deck green oasis beautiful pool needed a place to stay self contained private garden walking distance like coming home lovely guesthouse delicious breakfast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 202 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2016

Finally back at Amanzi Guest House after a 5 year gap. While I was always impressed with the place (see previous review) it only got better. Just to mention 2 things: more cute dogs and a sundeck, where the WiFi coverage is good enough to put in a days work.
And not to forget: what a pleasant suburb to be in (Craighall Park) is. Perfectly safe with a friendly neighbourhood restaurant (Cnr Cafe) and a super market (Spar) at walking distance. Easy jog to the nearby park, featuring open grassland with many birds to see. Great for running, cycling and walking the dogs.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fokkog
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pamelamary52, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2016

Dear FokkoG
Thank you for your great review on Amanzi once again! So happy that you thought we had made improvements, and i cant help agreeing with you about our sundeck and the neighbourhood :) We love our sundeck, and are delighted when guests also use it - either to work, have a glass of wine, read a book... just hang out. Delta Park also often gets used by our guests who enjoy a run or walk. Thank you also for mentioning our convenient shops and restaurants within walking distance.
We hope you will be back again, and hopefully with your family.
Best wishes from all of us at Amanzi.
Pam, Rob, and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2016 via mobile

I stayed at Amanzi for 2 nights whilst in Joburg and what a wonderful gem of a find! Comfortable rooms within a beautiful property. We had a lovely room near the pool which was perfect. The owners were delightful and very accommodating. Very safe too.
Will definitely pay another visit!

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank E8943FIsophiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pamelamary52, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2016

Dear Sophie
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on Amanzi. So pleased you thought Amanzi was a gem and a beautiful property! We do our best to ensure our guests experience high quality comforts and enjoy what we at Amanzi have to offer.
Look forward to seeing you both when you are next in Joburg.
Regards from all of us at Amanzi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2016

I am 37, male and travel from Canada. I have been back 9 times and would never think of going anywhere else. I have been to other bb but nothing compares hands down. Spacious, clean, all services available, and excellent internet service.

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMC1278
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pamelamary52, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2016

Dear AMC
Thank you for taking the time to write another review for us and for your comments on Amanzi and especially the internet - we are so happy that we now have high speed fibre optic wifi at last.
Hoping to see you for your tenth visit pretty soon!
From all of us at Amanzi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2016 via mobile

Our Family recently had the pleasure of staying at Amanzi this past February. Over the course of a few weeks Pam, Rob and the staff became like family. The accommodations were of course excellent and the grounds were beautiful but what makes this guest house so good is the people. They loved playing with our children and helped to make our trip special. They even put up a special airplane flying competition for the kids which was really cool! Thabang, Deli and Lena were also equally as welcoming and wonderful.

Overview
The grounds will leave you feeing like you have stepped into an oasis. You can take in the the beautiful lush garden and a flowing fountain while you enjoy a lovely breakfast. My personal favorite was the omelette with bacon,mushroom and tomato.

We stayed in Silver Birch Cottage while kids and Grandma stayed in Apt 2. Both were clean and comfortable and well equipped. For cooking the cottage is the best option. Both are well priced.

Our kids enjoyed the salt water pool almost daily while I cooked up some yummy chicken on the grill.

The guest house is close to everything that you could need. You can walk to the local market or grab dinner and it's only a couple blocks away. About a km away is the Hyde Park Mall. High end shopping is plentiful! If you want to go further just order yourself an uber. Also close to the guest house is Delta Park. It's a great place to get out for a morning run. You will have plenty of company with all of the dog walkers and Mountain Bikers.

If you need ideas on where to go and what to see just ask Rob and Pam. The entire time we were there they gave us great ideas and not one of them disappointed!

If we come back to SA we will stay here!

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Nate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pamelamary52, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2016

Dear Nate and American family
Thank you for your glowing review - we are basking in your positive comments.
It was OUR pleasure to host you and share in your new joy. I am so glad that we contributed to making your trip special. We all appreciate your comments about our breakfasts -( its a first for us that someone had the same omelette for 21 days in a row!) We loved that your children enjoyed our salt water pool and that you enjoyed running in Delta Park. As you say, its well used by runners, cyclists and doggie people.
So many people comment on how convenient Craighall Park is to get to shops, restaurants and generally everywhere in Joburg - thank you for endorsing this.
Warm regards from all of us until we meet again
Pam, Rob, Thabang, Deli and Lena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2016

We have stayed in many guest houses which are not always true to their web-site and their reviews. However Amanzi was everything I imagined peaceful and homely. Pam and Rob were so warm and interested in their guests and their staff were lovely. The salt pool absolutely amazing and the guesthouse so central and near to restaurants. Will definitely continue to return to Amanzi Guesthouse a wonderful and happy experience. Beautiful garden. Ideal for a businessman to relax after a long day at the office. All the rooms look onto a section of the garden.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 893mdt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pamelamary52, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2016

Dear Windhoek family
Thank you for taking the time to review us - the first review from Windhoek! We are so glad we lived up to our website and trip advisor reviews. I know how disappointing it is to find a lovely looking place not the same as the pictures. Good that you enjoyed our pool and garden - its always great got us to see families enjoy the pool. We look forward to you returning :)
With thanks from all of us at Amanzi
Pam and Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews