We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (202)
Filter reviews
202 results
Traveller rating
187
12
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
187
12
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews craighall park home away from home delta park the cottages short or long term stay homemade muesli fabulous hosts sun deck green oasis beautiful pool needed a place to stay self contained private garden walking distance like coming home lovely guesthouse delicious breakfast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
105 - 110 of 202 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2016

My wife and I stayed at the Amanzi Guest House for a month before moving into a rented place here in Johannesburg. The stay was delightful and Pam and Rob made every effort to ensure that we were not only comfortable but also went out of the way to help us with tips and advice for settling in and living in Jo'burg. Amanzi is a lovely place tucked amidst tons of greenery and the deck in the middle of the property is really a nice place to relax and meet other occupants which Pam and Rob helped facilitate very often. The rooms were clean, comfy and quite well equipped not to mention the fairly central location with easy accessibility to Rosebank and other surrounding areas that are frequented by visitors and diners alike. All in all a thoroughly enjoyable stay made even more memorable by the gracious and welcoming hosts - Pam and Rob. We would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GavinColaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela K, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2016

Dear Gavin
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience of staying at Amanzi. We really enjoyed hosting you, and so pleased you felt at home and enjoyed the "deck experience" I never fail to enjoy a short - or long- chat over a sundowner on the deck. Thank you for commenting on the convenience of this neighbourhood of Craighall Park - yes, it is central and convenient, and delighted that you two have settled nearby!
Best wishes from all of us at Amanzi
Pam and Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2015 via mobile

Amani is an amazing place, and the hosts could not be more accommodating. Each apartment is spacious, with plenty of room for an extended stay (though it was also perfect for our brief two-night visit). Breakfasts were terrific, and there are shops and restaurants within a brief (but scenic) walking distance.

After spending time in Craighal Park (where Amanzi is located) and exploring other parts of the city, we came away with a completely different impression of Johannesburg. It's no longer just a place to change planes on the way to another destination on the continent, it's a city that deserves much more time to see and experience.

Thanks to Pam and everyone at Amanzi for a great start to our adventure.

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank BrewerBarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela K, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2016

Dear Tyler and family
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Amanzi and even better, to comment on your experience of Joburg - we LOVE your comment "Joburg is a city that deserves much more time to see and experience. Very pleased you felt that the apartments were spacious, and you enjoyed our breakfasts. We really hope you return and explore the city and environs more next time!
Best wishes from all of us at Amanzi
Pam, Rob, Deli and Thabang.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2015 via mobile

A truly wonderful place to stay, spent a week there with my wife and six month old. Fantastic room, great amenities. Had a lovely breakfast every morning. Nice and quiet neighbourhood really close to Sandton and Cresta. I would highly recommend it to anyone looking to stay comfortably in Johannesburg. Really great value for money! Pam, Rob and the staff are fantastic people, always a smile when they see you, so lovely to have met them all and will definitely be back!!

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank jonathany1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela K, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2015

Dear Jonathan and family
We so enjoyed meeting you and loved having your family stay here. Thank you for your lovely review. The next time your little one will be crawling i guess! So pleased you were comfortable and enjoyed our breakfasts. Yes, Craighall Park is convenient and much more of a neighbourhood area than the Sandton areas.
Look forward to your next trip - warm regards from all of us at Amanzi!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2015

Immaculately clean rooms which are preciously spacious, well ventilated with crisp clean, white cotton linen (a must for me). A dreamy garden that allows you to fall asleep to the lullaby sound of running water from their waterfall. The breakfast is made with love: freshly squeezed orange juice with delicious free range products and fresh pesticide-free vegetables straight from their own garden!
Pam and Rob are superb hosts who are more then willing to go the extra mile tending to your every need, (even in the middle of the night if need be) and making you feel very at home.
My absolute best is the fact that their vegetable patch extends to the outside verge with a little sign reading "pick what you can but leave some for your brothers'! This bears testament to the kindness and generosity of the hosts, and the welcome energy you can feel straight from arrival. I look forward to visiting again and again.

Room tip: I have yet to explore all room types but my apartment was spacious and lovely with its own balcony
Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Diony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela K, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2015

Dear Diony
Thank you for your glowing review and we are delighted to hear that you feel we are the best B&B you have stayed in!!! Hi praise! And happy you liked that the apartments are spacious and clean, - crisp white linen is also a must for me! Yes, we do take pride in giving our guests the best quality breakfast options we can. We strive to ensure our guests feel special and welcome.
Looking forward to seeing you next year.
All the best
Pam, Rob and our staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2015

We stayed at Amanzi recently and thoroughly enjoyed our stay, it was quiet and peaceful with every need taken care of. Pam and Rob are excellent hosts paying attention to every detail. The cottage was far from basic with every amenity needed as a travelor and we particularly loved the homely decor. We enjoyed the pool and the opportunity to be within such a lovely tranquil garden, including the dogs and cat.
Also their vegetable garden is a unique and exceptional offering to community and worth a visit.
Thank you very much, Caroline and Ben

Room tip: loved the quiet cottage garden feel
Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela K, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2015

Dear Caroline and Ben,
Thank you very much for your lovely review. Rob and I are so pleased you enjoyed our little oasis in Johannesburg! Glad you made use of our swimming pool and thank you for your comment on the pavement community garden. Its received such a lot of positive attention especially recently, which delights me. Just wish more people would use their pavements for vegetables for the community.
Best wishes to you both
Pam, Rob and our staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews