We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally unimpressed”

Jamie's Italian South Africa
Ranked #113 of 1 425 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Price range: US$3 - US$14
Description: Welcome to Jamie's Italian. We're all about beautifully sourced ingredients & simply cooked Italian comfort food that makes you happy!
Restaurant details
Description: Welcome to Jamie's Italian. We're all about beautifully sourced ingredients & simply cooked Italian comfort food that makes you happy!
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Wine, good - lots of local South Africa choices. Starter- tomato soup, good - crostini burnt, however. Main - terrible. Ordered the carbonara - ate one bite as served. Added pepper, bite two. Added salt, bite three. Waited 5 minutes and mixed it all up, bite four. Immediately pushed the plate away. Server didn't ask why a full plate was sent back. Servers generally fine - as in would head over when gestured to - but didn't know the soup or veg of the day without going to ask, and certainly didn't ask how I was enjoying the meal. No manager in sight. Having been to JO restaurants in the UK, this is a poor substitute. Avoid at all costs, much better options around.

Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne v, Guest Relations Manager at Jamie's Italian South Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Dear James K

Thank you for your feedback, we truly appreciate it.

We do apologise that your experience did not meet expectation and would love to chat to you more about it. Please will you send us your contact details to enquiries@jamiesitalian.co.za and management will be in touch with you soonest.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Big Love,

Jamie's Italian SA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 33 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2018

Had a pasta meal. Service and price was good but the food was average. It was a surprise as many of Jamies franchises have closed around the world.

Thank Yelwah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne v, Guest Relations Manager at Jamie's Italian South Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Dear Yelwah

Thank you so much for your amazing feedback and we are delighted that you had such a wonderful experience with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Big Love,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

Hidden gem in Melrose Arch..not in the limelight but with Theo as the host welcoming you into the restaurant you soon new that you had mad the right decision to eat at Jamies!. Don't waste your time with the older snobbier establishments , head straight for Jamies as they will make your experience worthwile!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stuart f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne v, Guest Relations Manager at Jamie's Italian South Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Dear Stuart f

Thank you so much for your amazing feedback and we are delighted that you had such a wonderful experience with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Big Love,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

First if you find yourself in Joburg, my apologies. In general it is a nasty city, but Melrose Arch is an Oasis. We were part of a tour group with independent time. We chose this restaurant as it was walking distance from hotel. We were restricted to a 2 block radius as the city is a crime laden place.

I never really thought of Italian as upscale as I see it as a comfort food. Our son had the beef special with porcini sauce which was sublime. I had Baked eggplant--very rich but delicious. My husband had prawns--looked tasty but I did not try but he enjoyed them.

Under order--everything tastes and looks so good but very rich food--good for a cold winter night. Would be interested to see what the summer menu looks like as could not think to eat heavy in warm weather.

Please we ate here, great choice--moderate prices. Interesting twist on Italian food--definitely imaginative, great pairing of spices, etc.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cynthiaa202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne v, Guest Relations Manager at Jamie's Italian South Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Dear cynthiaa202

Thank you so much for your amazing feedback and we are delighted that you had such a wonderful experience with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Big Love,

Jamie's Italian SA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018

Had high hopes but in vain. Very noisy, not the best service and the food was tasteless. 5 people with all different choices but the same opinion. Really disappointed. A one time experience.

Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne v, Guest Relations Manager at Jamie's Italian South Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2018

Dear Peter V

Thank you for your feedback, we truly appreciate it.

We do apologise that your experience did not meet expectation and would love to chat to you more about it. Please will you send us your contact details to enquiries@jamiesitalian.co.za and management will be in touch with you soonest.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Big Love,

Jamie's Italian SA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jamie's Italian South Africa also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Jamie's Italian South Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing