We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable ”
Review of The Local Grill

The Local Grill
Ranked #8 of 1 304 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$20
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Best Steakhouse in South Africa awarded by The Wolftrap steakhouse championships. Offering kitchen tours and beef courses. Beef all aged on the premises and cut to order.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I am steak enthusiast. I love beef and as a result I eat a lot of steaks in restaurants, go to steak cookery classes and do bbqs at home.

This place was recommended from a friend. I changed my travel plans to be in Johannesburg just to have dinner in the local grill. It did not disappoint AT ALL! These guys are the steak masters! They know the cuts inside out, they can tell you more than you want to know about grilling and oh man the t-bone was so delicious!!

Also, I told the manager at the door about our little detour and got a free tour of the kitchen and the insides of the world's best steakhouse (I have been to a few and I can assure you this is right at the top.). It was an UNBELIEVABLE experience! So glad I went to the local grill!

Thank Yannis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven M, Owner at The Local Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Yannis you are welcome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2017

An amazing place for a fine dining experience and quite the range of main plates considering it's specialized in meat. I had for starters calamari heads one of my the favorite plates in this restaurant & had as well Raw Kudu & salami infused with a delicious beetroot jam & garnish of greens topped with Parmesan cheese. For the main course I was lost what to choose but in the end, I had to try the ostrich meat which perfectly cooked medium had this earthly taste although a bit chewy. In general, my experience here was filled with great taste & brilliant ambiance. The service is quick & waiter extremely friendly, highly recommend this place for meat lovers & exotic dishes.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AskTheRazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven M, Owner at The Local Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you AskTheRazz, it was a pleasure serving you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017 via mobile

Spectacular venue with the best red meat in Johannesburg. Have a kitchen tour with lots of interesting fact regarding meat.

Starters is wide variety and very tastefull. Main is best red meat with very good side dishes. Very tasty!! Wide variety of wines too.

Deserts to die for!!

Will go back anytime

Thank PWDCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven M, Owner at The Local Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Thank you for sharing your birthday with us and the wonderful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

Great food, great service! One of the few places that you actually get the steak cooked perfectly! A must go!!!

Thank Adriaan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven M, Owner at The Local Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

The steak was so good I had to order a second one, and then book the "Beef Appreciation Evening" where you learn how to make so many different cuts of meat in different ways - but be wary of a kitchen with a draught tap - can become festive

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven M, Owner at The Local Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Chris, great having you guys!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Local Grill also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to The Local Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing