We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They made us all feel special”
Review of The Local Grill

The Local Grill
Ranked #11 of 1 212 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$20
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Best Steakhouse in South Africa awarded by The Wolftrap steakhouse championships. Offering kitchen tours and beef courses. Beef all aged on the premises and cut to order.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“They made us all feel special”
Reviewed 20 February 2017

We went to celebrate birthday/s and we were all impressed with the food, the service and the kitchen tour: a great experience.

  • Visited February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grimalkin33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    108
    35
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Business Meeting Dinner”
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Set menus was delightful. Starters where served as platters for the table giving you the ability to sample all on offer. Main course was a choice of meat, calamari and a vegetarian dish. The Rump I ordered was done to perfection. The veggies where very tasty. To top it off we where treated to a tour of the kitchen and a quick lesson in different ways to cook meat. The guide has a real passion for food and what he does. The service and atmosphere was exceptional. Highly recommended if you want a good night out with fantastic food

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank JonoAng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Meat masters delight!”
Reviewed 14 February 2017

If you're a meat lover do not stop, do not pass begin and collect your.... just head straight into The Local Grill. Yum!!

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank happytraveller130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Best steaks in town and more”
Reviewed 24 January 2017

I always go back here to recalibrate. The steaks are great, but there's much more on the menu worth having, including the calamari and heads. The sauces are excellent - try the trio of sauces for variety, but the steaks can really be eaten straight off. Desserts are excellent - again the trios are worth having. A fine wine list. Highly recommended.
PS: ask for the tour behind the scenes.

  • Visited December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jozisam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

Amazing food with generous portions. My wife and I shared the grass fed filet and the ostrich. This was the best steak I ever had and the mashed potato and onion ring sides were great additions. The ostrich was really good, too! Our server, Filippe, was very knowledgeable and helped us make a few choices that we really appreciated. He guided us through the menu and ensured we had a good time. Great service and great food. I would definitely recommend this place.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Local Grill also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to The Local Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing