We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$172
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Winston Hotel(Johannesburg)
US$189
US$180
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments(Johannesburg)(Great Value!)
US$67
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thaba Eco Hotel(Johannesburg)
US$113
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$135/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Reef Hotel(Johannesburg)(Great Value!)
US$67
US$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Curiocity Backpackers(Johannesburg)(Great Value!)
US$37
US$27
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Valverde Country Hotel(Johannesburg)(Great Value!)
US$67
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$326
US$283
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$328/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$279
US$273
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$454
US$429
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveller rating
29
34
12
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
34
12
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest housenice roomlocation is greatwonderful stayenjoyed my stayhome away from homewithin walking distancesouth africamelvilleguesthousesecuritynoiseavenuedstvaccommodationsafety
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 76 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2018

The Manager and staff were very accommodating and the rooms are of a good size. Breakfast was excellent. There is a splash pool in the garden which in summer I’m sure is most welcome. Our first night our room was cold although a heater was provided. However saying this the second night staff had put the heater on before we returned in the evening and the room was much warmer.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mwarne420777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ola J, Manager at 33 on First Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2018

Thank you for your review, we are happy we were able to make it up to you the 2nd night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

James the manager goes above and beyond to ensure that his guest have an awesome experience. This location is near 7th Avenue in Melville which is near bars and restaurants. Also, this location is around the corner from a grocery store and pharmacy which are within walking distance.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
Thank btraveler36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ola J, Manager at 33 on First Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Thank you very much for your review, we are glad you had a wonderful experience of our guest house and suburb.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2018

The guesthouse is very conveniently located in Melville - it is near the University of Johannesburg and restaurants and shops. It is easily accessible. My room was facing west and as it was January it was very warm. It luckily had a aircon in the room. The room also faces flats and therefore you cannot leave the curtains open as the lights of the flats may be a problem. However, the curtains block out the lights from the flats. If you do not like the aircon in the room and want to leave the windows open it may be a problem. The guesthouse has a nice areas to sit outside, a lapa, a veranda and also a small swimming pool to use during the hot weather.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank willemienp2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ola J, Manager at 33 on First Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2018

Thank you for your review, we are happy you had a great stay. we are working on addressing some of the comments you mentioned, hopefully the changes would have been done on your next stay with us.
Kind regards
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Great Service, nice room, neat place. Located in a very serene and cool environment. Very friendly staff. staff will go an extra mile to make you comfortable. perfect wifi. Nice breakfast for me and my family.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank khamalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

We have travelled extensive in South Africa and have on all occasions meet the owner or manager of the Hotel or B&B. In the time we were at the facilities (3 days) we did not see the owner.
The parking is cramped and difficult to negotiate, our room was dark even on a sunny day - the curtains could not be drawn back.
Breakfast is limited and the bacon served was hard and chewy.
Sadly I do believe this place could be a busy nugget in Melville however it lacks the wow factor.
Having said that the manager running the facility was friendly and helpful and was up very early on the Monday morning to ensure that we had breakfast before we ventured off to work.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JennieHeesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews