We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
13
12
5
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
12
5
4
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2016

My two daughters and myself were on an overland tour starting off in Johannesburg lodging arranged by ACT.
We found Jana (the manager) to be very warm, entertaining, and very helpful. Although the atmosphere was informal, I don't doubt there was an enormous amount if background work in presenting an informal environment as it was very well run. Jana, Toine, Toine's husband, Elise, the children, the five dogs, the permanent tenants - were all very interesting to talk with and great to interact with. The grounds were lovely. The room was clean, secure, and the showers hot. The brais were delicious. Now, having said all this - the mattresses could have been a lot more comfortable. On the other hand, we weren't aware that Musafas was much more of a backpackers hostel than individual rooms, and that backpacking dormitories are the largest component of Mufasas. An individual room booked for the three of us was really appreciated. There is a common area, a kitchenette and a bar. Most of all, the people are what made the stay really enjoyable! Extra thanks go to Jana for all the time and effort she expended in attempting to reunite me with my airline lost luggage. Five stars for everything except the age/condition of the mattresses!

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

I stayed at Mufasa's as part of a tour. The showers were cold, there's at least five dogs and its in the middle of nowhere.

The host is a lovely lady, but it'd be great if she made a few adjustments to the property.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank staceyo119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2016

a while back myself and a friend went on a ATC tour, we stayed at Mufasa Backpackers before our overlanding tour started. As we have been doing an around the world tour we have been to many hostels. Mufasa has by far been one of the best places. Jana (manager) made us feel at home the minute we arrived. We got loads of help with day tours and info we needed.Dinners were affordable and very nice! always something new!! The atmosphere is awesome, I recommend staying a night! Also all the day tours pick up directly from Mufasa. There is also a awesome mall thats build like a steam boat close by! Cant remember the name but its worth going.

Room tip: Dorms are basic but good value for money! They upgrade you if there is an en suite available.
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelwasp8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2016

We needed to stay close to carnival city and this was the second closest available backpacker. Dodgy area (be warned) but quite nice and safe once inside.
Good: Jana supplied a huge amount of wood for a bonfire and there's a bar!
Bad: 'includes breakfast' = corn flakes, toast and eekie powder coffee. They don't have card facilities.
If you don't expect much and just need a place for your head, then it's perfect. And it's very affordable

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank annemarieao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2016

Pro's:
*Excellent value for money
*Friendly and helpful staff
*Cute dogs

Con's:
*Mattresses were quite hard and uncomfortable
*Bit of black mold spotted in the bathroom
*Shower soap holder was loosely attached to the wall with a screw. While showering, the soap holder fell exposing the screw which could have been dangerous

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank V1576CYrichardk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews