We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
SUN1 Bloemfontein(Bloemfontein)
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$90
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hobbit Boutique Hotel(Bloemfontein)(Great Value!)
US$74
US$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$83
US$79
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marrakech Guesthouse(Bloemfontein)
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveller rating
77
48
12
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
77
48
12
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstar gradingcharming hotelstar hotelfriendliest staffthe location is perfectconference facilitymanager on dutya real gemgrey collegebuffet breakfaststayed nightsout of this worldexcellent serviceone nighthome away from homevalue for moneybusiness or pleasure
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 143 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2018

We stayed at Anto Boga for a second time after a satisfactory first visit a year ago. This time however we could not leave soon enough.

No hotel will have return business if the guests are not cared for. We had no hot water in the bathroom after a long day of traveling by road. The duty manager blamed it on the fact that they were fully booked! 5 star?

Worst was to come. We were awakened at 4:30 am by a powerful engine being revved in the hotel parking lot. Soon thereafter, arriving guests were shouting and giggling in the passage and two rooms next door to us without regard for anybody else in the hotel. We packed and left straight away, but only after it was made clear to me by the night manager that the noisy party were too important to be dealt with.

Anta Boga, hang onto those guests, the others will vote with their feet...

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Theo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anta Boga A, Front Office Manager at Anta Boga Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2018

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for the time taken to complete our Guest Revu feedback as well as Reviewing our property.

Our Guests feedback is the most important way for us to ensure our Service and Standards are upheld.

As per my email to your regarding the feedback received as per the set out points: we are currently investigating and will give feedback shortly regarding these matters. As I can assure you that the above is an isolated incident and we will ensure that this does not repeat itself, as you are a return GUEST.

I will revert shortly as per my email with the necessary feedback.

I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to our property in the near future so that you may experience the true 5 Star service you have experienced before and what we are so very proud of.

Yours in Hospitality,

Anta Boga Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

I would not recommend this hotel as a Five Star but rather an old fashioned 3 Star.
Reception is cramped and the "canapes" offered look dated and unappetizing.
Staff are poorly attired and are not well versed in English.
ROOM:
Dirty stone floor tiles and lots of grime in bathroom corners. The rooms are dark and dated with very little care or creative thought with design
I booked for 2 guests yet only received towels for 1 person, as well a single bottled water and hard biscuit.
The bathroom is cramped and poorly designed - silicone around the bath is mouldy and the shower/bath sliding door rail was filthy.
The majority of the rooms are street facing, so very noisy. When I mentioned this to one of the managers, she recommended that I purchase ear plugs!
Corridors are narrow so inevitably, when one's neighbor closes their room doors, the noise level is deafening.
Room service is also slow.
BREAKFAST:
100% Awful. Hot buffet presented in chaffers was cold, a lot of choice but extremely poor quality. Buffet display is old and in need of a "lift". Pastries are stale and sweetened juice. Coffee was good quality. We ordered 3 x soft poached eggs - received squashed on a side plate with no garnish and semi-hard.
Toast was made by the single waitress in the dining room, we received it burnt.
Bacon cold with congealed fat and unseasoned, sweaty onions and mushrooms.
MANAGEMENT:
Unimpressive on many levels. Certainly the worst customer orientated managers ever with little knowledge of the hospitality industry.
I suggest, the owner Mr Venter, wakes up and improves, what I experienced to be "a shoddy establishment"!

Stayed: April 2018
Thank Traveldelightbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anta Boga A, Manager at Anta Boga Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to review our property and for giving us this valuable feedback. Our Guests feedback is the most important way for us to grade our ongoing service standards and to ensure that this is upheld.
The Owner and the Properties Management Team came together in a Meeting and each of the concerns were raised to the specific Head of Department as extensive investigation was done to ensure that the team can go forward.
Upon arrival to our property Our Manager on Duty showed you various rooms as to have a choice on which room facing to which areas and also to different price class rooms. The room selected by yourself was on the weekend special rate and he added the Breakfast into the rate, thus it was even lower as per our standard Rate offered daily.
ROOM:
• Our Stone Tile floors are deep cleaned regularly and this is a design/décor area that the floors are shaded on certain areas.
• After walking through various rooms – the selection by yourself was made for only 1 person, however the extra’s would have been added with a phone call down to reception desk
• The bathroom was carefully inspected by us and we did not find the silicon or sliding doors to be dirty as this is on deep clean schedules
• After the Day Manager had left the property, you did request to be moved to another room after you selected the specific room. The Duty Manager for the evening also showed another room and a more expensive room, which after was opted to stay in the original room. The Duty Manager was having a conversation with you regarding light sleeping and mentioned to you that maybe with your next visit to request a room at the back building and to bring along ear plugs if you are a light sleeper like herself.
• Corridors and room proximity is the same as in other properties
BREAKFAST:
• Chafers are continuously checked and replaced by our staff – thus for items on our buffet to be cold is not a possibility
• Onions & Mushrooms are flashed fried, seasoned and placed onto our buffet
• Poached Eggs were continuously returned to the Kitchen: Chefs tried their utmost to please the Guests specific request
• On the day in question 2 x Waiters were on Duty, the Single waiter was allocated to your table, Toast was not returned - thus waitress did no re-do
• Bacon is not seasoned as it is salty in its nature

MANAGEMENT:
• The Manager on duty went out of his way to show and advise different rooms and room Types and even added the Breakfast into the already discounted rate. Our Managers and staff are extremely customer focused and we are certain our Team is one of the Best.

Thank you for the feedback received, we do take all feedback as constructive.
We do look forward to welcoming you back to the property.

Yours In Hospitably,
Anta Boga Management & owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

I stayed at the Anta Boga for 3 nights over the long Easter weekend. Its a very charming hotel, the staff are friendly but the breakfast was slightly on the expensive side. Despite its 5-star status, I really don't think you get a 5-star experience. It was an enjoyable stay nonetheless, but if you're in search of luxury rather go with the Bram Fischer hotel in the Woodlands Estate.

Room Tip: Go for the king suite anything less will leave you disappointed
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindo X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

What a terrible disappointment - nothing like it’s portrayed on the web!
Promoted as a 5-star ‘boutique hotel’ - however, it’s anything but that
At most, this hotel ranks as a 3-star... but just maybe!
OK as a stay over, but don’t expect anything more

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Andre I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

Very comfortable hotel, very clean. Excellent bathroom and bedrooms
Lot of parking place. Restaurant very good with lot of different dishes even if is on the main street is very silent. No noise at all,
We’ll come again

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Paola Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews