We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
greeffbf

Great experience

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 Feb 2020
Each room is unique wit a lovely atmosphere.
They serve a great breakfast and I always invite my children to come and join us at a very reasonable price. It is my favourite hotel when in Bloemfontein.
Date of stay: September 2019
Room Tip: Inside the main building for a great experience
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 321
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from Hobbit Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 019
  • Priceline
1.1 km from Hobbit Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
King Guest Room
Protea Hotels
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 707
  • Booking.com
1.0 km from Hobbit Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 083
  • Hotels.com
1.0 km from Hobbit Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Suit
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 936
  • Algotels
1.8 km from Hobbit Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Algotels
  • StayForLong
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 899
  • Trip.com
0.8 km from Hobbit Boutique Hotel
Free parking
Bar/Lounge
Mozart
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 101
  • Booking.com
3.2 km from Hobbit Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 083
  • Priceline
4.5 km from Hobbit Boutique Hotel
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 119
  • Booking.com
10.4 km from Hobbit Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 734
  • Priceline
4.1 km from Hobbit Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Bloemfontein
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
38
19
16
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
38
19
16
9
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2020 via mobile

It was a real treat staying at this place. We were very impressed with the pleasant, welcoming attitude of the staff. The service was excellent. Loved how beautifully decorated the hotel was and it looked like the hotel was was well looked after.
The pillows weren't the best however it was just personal preference.
Nevertheless, will certainly return.
It is also in a great location where there are lovely restaurants nearby.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Candicedj85
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 October 2019 via mobile

I was booked in here for the second time for work. The staff are super friendly and willing to go the extra mile. The theme of the guesthouse (I wouldn’t call it a hotel) is quaint with a story attached. Rooms are decorated with pretty wall paper and antiques. As far as comfort is concerned, a few things need further consideration and updating: three separate members of our party (in three different rooms) mentioned that the air conditioner unit was poorly placed and blew directly onto the bed; the rooms are not sound proofed and therefore very noisy (you can hear other guests at all times); there are no blackout curtains available so light from the street shines into the room; and there is no desk lamp available and the overhead lighting and bedside lighting are not bright enough to enable one to work properly at the desk.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Brigitte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 September 2019

The room was large - which was appreciated after a long drive. The weekend manager didn't seem to have much information about local tourist attractions, but the regular manager (owner?) made up for it the next morning.

We stayed in Aragon. If a different room is available I suggest taking it. Aragon is right next to the breakfast area and quite close to the reception. As a result there is little hope of sleeping in. Also, there are random small steps throughout the room to watch for.

My husband and daughter enjoyed the Tolkien art. He read The Hobbit to her when she was about 6 but she doesn't remember most of the story and hasn't read Lord of the Rings yet. As they went around visiting the various pictures he told her a summary of the part of the story it was from.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 89reneec
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 March 2019

Let's start with the positives, beautiful gardens, a real haven of peace and beauty. Staff are lovely, very welcoming. Rooms are very spacious, bathroom was huge. Lots of very secure parking.
Now the niggles, our room ( arwin) was incredibly dark, its Windows look out onto a wall. There was an issue with exposed wires on the bedside lamp, could be dangerous although I did let the lovely lady on reception know so I expect it's been sorted but housekeeping should have picked up on that .
Breakfast was lovely although neither of us actually got what we ordered , nevertheless it was very tasty .
The bathroom, although massive, was a bit dated , I know it's a period property but it could do with a spruce up although the rainfall shower head was fab. Overall the room just felt a bit gloomy.
The advertised bar consisted of two beers and some soft drinks, no spirits at all.
Despite this, overall I enjoyed my stay here and would stay again but I would not want the same room, looking through some of the other open doors, other rooms looked lovely and bright.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paul0419
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 January 2019 via mobile

Hobbit Hotel was really a nice place to stay the rooms were very clean,comfortable and spacious and its unique features.
The swimming pool was very nice and clean e I stayed there for a couple of days at the birthplace of the JJR Tolkien. The breakfast was very nice and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
This was really a good experience thank you very much to the Hobbit family!

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Emirjona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews