We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Dave S
Cape Town, South Africa

A Change Is As Good As A Holiday

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Dec 2022
We have been stopping over at Protea Willow Lake for many years, en route to Eastern Transvaal & Kruger. It has got a little tired and I have been concerned about security since the zoo closed. There is no additional protection and part of the establishment is exposed.

The staff were great, although the buffet was always a bit rustic.

We decided to try this Protea, which is slightly closer to the N1 and were not disappointed. We stayed for two nights. On the first night we had a great meal and were looked after by a really good host, Rachel, who was both friendly and very competent in her role. The second (return trip) night was not that great. Food & Bev manager pitched up eventually and, to his credit, stepped in, as we weren't the only ones taking strain. Sunday night. Short staffed and meal marginal.

However the rooms are clean and well laid out (as with WillowLake) and, even though the area is not that great, the perimeter and security staff give confidence that you won't have any nasty surprises overnight. All in all you can see good staffing and committed management. This is where we will stay from now on.

Five stars are in good faith. It is only consistency that keeps that rating, so we will see. All in all a very good experience!
Date of stay: December 2022
Room Tip: You can face inwards towards the pool or outwards towards the perimeter. After about 21h00...
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Neo Tabi, Owner at Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein, responded to this review
Responded 09 Jan 2023
Dear Dave CPT

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, this is much appreciated.

I am delighted to read that you had a good stay with us, and will definitely share your review with Rachel.

Unfortunately on your return stay, we had some staff members that did not come to work as per the roster, and this unfortunately caused a drop in our standards.

Please accept my sincere apologies as this is not the standard of service we strive to offer.

I hope we will welcome you back in the near future.

May you have a great week further.

Kind Regards,

Blanché Walzl-Hagen
Cluster General Manager
Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein Willow Lake
Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 341
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.1 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 700
R 1 569
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.2 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein
Free Wifi
Free parking
King Guest Room
R 1 720
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.3 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 115
R 1 000
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
6.5 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein
Free parking
Pool
Suit
R 1 027
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
3.4 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein
Free Wifi
Restaurant
R 1 023
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 023
11.7 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 685
  • Hotels.com
  • StayForLong
  • Agoda.com
10.1 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein
Free Wifi
Free parking
De Witte
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 752
  • Priceline
5.0 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 021
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
32.8 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein
Free parking
Pool
The President Bar
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 017
  • Priceline
2.9 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Bloemfontein
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveller rating
37
61
33
14
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
37
61
33
14
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooms are clean en route security zoo establishment
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 154 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2022

I booked this hotel because of some business I had to do at the university area.
This hotel lies exact on the opposite of the entrance, to great succes.
the people are very kind and helpfull.
The hotel lies on the rim of the city and therefor not a lot of traffic in the area, which can be seen as nice and quite, or abbandonded.

For us it was nice and quite.
The hotel struggled with her electricity and therefor her wifi.
However all of Bloemfontein is struggling with her electricity.
So being in Teams calls was not a great succes.

The hotel is cheap, clean and well maintained.
good chef!! the food is exccellent!!!
the breakfast is more than enough

Date of stay: October 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dennis v
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Heila Bezuidenhout, Owner at Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2022

Dear Dennis v,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor, this is really much appreciated.

It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us as that is why we are here, to meet all our Guest’s expectations.

We hope to welcome you back real soon, and may you have a lovely festive season.

Thank you

Kind Regards,

Blanché Walzl-Hagen
Cluster General Manager
Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein Willow Lake
Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2020 via mobile

Stopped over for one night with family and friends. Was very impressed with the hotwl grounds and rooms. Rooms very cleaned. Love the personal touch in the rooms. The pool is extremely well maintained. The service at the restaurant was a bit slow in the evening.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank CeonM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 November 2019 via mobile

The accommodation was good. Hotel old and needs a bit of attention but neat. Service was very good from staff and assistance with bags available. Dinner and breakfast available at hotel restaurant. No Uber in Bloem. Used very nice transfer service booked through the hotel.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Lauren_LW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 October 2019

We need a place to stay on-route for the night, this was a good stop. EXTREMELY efficient from desk staff, quick check-inn. We stay in a family room which was spacious, clean and quiet. Very good WiFi. Free Coffee and tea with kettle. Clean Bathroom with bath, shower and toilet and clean towels. Secure entrance to the Hotel through security gates and free parking on site.

Restaurant only served buffet that evening, bit on the expensive side and very busy with all the guests booked in for the weeks conferences.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank lukasrtb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 September 2019 via mobile

Stayed at the establishment for a business trip, previous stay in Bloemfontein was at the Protea willow lake which was was more enjoyable experience.

Not one of my room service orders was correct. Pasta had no sauce nor a hint of salt.

Breakfast Food spread at the Willows seemed to have more to choose from. Wasn’t offered coffee at breakfast 3 days in a row.

Staff however friendly and very willing to assist.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank 456charmainr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews