We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
R 1 459
Protea Hotels
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
TravelingBizzMan
Harare, Zimbabwe
Nice hotel in a no-where area
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 05 Oct 2022
I booked this hotel because of some business I had to do at the university area.
This hotel lies exact on the opposite of the entrance, to great succes.
the people are very kind and helpfull.
The hotel lies on the rim of the city and therefor not a lot of traffic in the area, which can be seen as nice and quite, or abbandonded.

For us it was nice and quite.
The hotel struggled with her electricity and therefor her wifi.
However all of Bloemfontein is struggling with her electricity.
So being in Teams calls was not a great succes.

The hotel is cheap, clean and well maintained.
good chef!! the food is exccellent!!!
the breakfast is more than enough
Date of stay: October 2022
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
R 1 342
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.1 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 1 300
  • Tripadvisor
    R 1 300
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 300
4.5 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein
Free Wifi
Free parking
Cottonwood Guesthouse
Tripadvisor
R 772
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
3.5 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein
Free Wifi
Free parking
King Guest Room
Tripadvisor
R 1 823
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Protea Hotels
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
1.3 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein
Free Wifi
Free parking
Suit
Tripadvisor
R 948
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
3.4 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
R 981
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
6.5 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein
Free parking
Pool
Tripadvisor
R 686
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 686
10.1 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 089
  • Priceline
0.9 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 227
  • Priceline
1.2 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Bloemfontein
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveller rating
37
61
33
14
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
37
61
33
14
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooms are clean en route security zoo establishment
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 154 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2020 via mobile

Stopped over for one night with family and friends. Was very impressed with the hotwl grounds and rooms. Rooms very cleaned. Love the personal touch in the rooms. The pool is extremely well maintained. The service at the restaurant was a bit slow in the evening.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank CeonM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 November 2019 via mobile

The accommodation was good. Hotel old and needs a bit of attention but neat. Service was very good from staff and assistance with bags available. Dinner and breakfast available at hotel restaurant. No Uber in Bloem. Used very nice transfer service booked through the hotel.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Lauren_LW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 October 2019

We need a place to stay on-route for the night, this was a good stop. EXTREMELY efficient from desk staff, quick check-inn. We stay in a family room which was spacious, clean and quiet. Very good WiFi. Free Coffee and tea with kettle. Clean Bathroom with bath, shower and toilet and clean towels. Secure entrance to the Hotel through security gates and free parking on site.

Restaurant only served buffet that evening, bit on the expensive side and very busy with all the guests booked in for the weeks conferences.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank lukasrtb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 September 2019 via mobile

Stayed at the establishment for a business trip, previous stay in Bloemfontein was at the Protea willow lake which was was more enjoyable experience.

Not one of my room service orders was correct. Pasta had no sauce nor a hint of salt.

Breakfast Food spread at the Willows seemed to have more to choose from. Wasn’t offered coffee at breakfast 3 days in a row.

Staff however friendly and very willing to assist.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank 456charmainr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 August 2019

Having stayed here a couple of times over the past 5 years it was noticeable that various changes have been made since Marriott took over. Almost all are negative; pillows are terrible, no coversheet so you can't ditch the over hot duvet for a blanket even though one is provided. Lighting in the room is terrible! It takes more than just changing the lights to low energy. Get a lighting designer in to fix this mess. You can't dry your hair with the hairdryer and look in the mirror as it is coupled to the desk lamp!
Taking out the carpet and putting in fake wooden floors might make it easier for housekeeping but it is cold on the feet and very noisy. The entire night we were woken by the people in the upstairs room that were going to the toilet! Imposing stupid american motel standards on a 4 star hotel is not the way to go!
Charging R200.00 pp for breakfast is crazy when the Spur next door does a brilliant breakfast for R35.00.

Room tip: Get an upstairs room it is quieter.
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catbluefoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews