We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
GMH153
Widley, United Kingdom

Central well placed hotel

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 07 Feb 2019
We had no problem in finding this hotel in Bloemfountein - and it is near the central facilities of the shopping centre and park which is a short walk away. The hotel is very functional and we found it good for an overnight stop where there was plenty of parking in the secured parking
Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Siphiwe M, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein, responded to this review
Responded 08 Feb 2019
Dear GMH153,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at the Protea Hotel by Marriott® Bloemfontein.

Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience that you experienced for finding the Hotel. Upholding our commitment to provide a memorable experience with exceptional service, we hope to have an opportunity to better your experience with us whenever your travels bring you back to Bloemfontein.

Kind regards,
Elmarie de Villiers
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Exterior
R 2 159
R 1 917
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 917
  • ZenHotels.com
0.9 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 247
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 111
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 181
1.1 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein
Free Wifi
Free parking
King Guest Room
R 1 566
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 566
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 534
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 566
1.3 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 155
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 834
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 175
1.2 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein
Free Wifi
Free parking
Cottonwood Guesthouse
R 770
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    R 770
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 770
3.5 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein
Free Wifi
Free parking
SUN1 BLOEMFONTEIN BREAKFAST & RECEPTION
R 671
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Agoda.com
    R 671
0.1 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein
Free parking
R 1 300
  • Tripadvisor
    R 1 300
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
4.5 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein
Free Wifi
Free parking
Suit
R 954
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 050
  • Agoda.com
    R 907
  • Priceline
3.4 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein
Free Wifi
Restaurant
R 998
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    R 848
  • Hotels.com
    R 848
6.5 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein
Free parking
Pool
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    R 663
  • eDreams
1.4 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein
View more hotels in Bloemfontein
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveller rating
37
61
33
14
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
37
61
33
14
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooms are clean en route security zoo establishment
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 154 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2019 via mobile

I took my family for a hearty meal. We were welcomed by the friendly face of Thidiso and Anna.

We were gracefully shown to our reserved table and placed our orders.
I ordered a steak, and to my surprise, it was cooked to perfection as a rare steak. Now that is very rare to find.

Big shout out to Chef Terrah and Chef Vincent for the wonderful meal.
Lesego was very helpful and friendly in assisting me reprint my card from the front desk.
Really great service from excellent staff!!
Well done!! ☺️

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Jd v
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Siphiwe M, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2019

Dear JD_vds7,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at the Protea Hotel by Marriott® Bloemfontein.

Thank you for the kind words about the restaurant and service received from Tshediso and Anna as well as the Chef's They will be delighted to hear this.

Upholding our commitment to provide a memorable experience with exceptional service, we hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back whenever your travels bring you back to Bloemfontein.

Kind regards,
Elmarie de Villiers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2018

The hotel is placed at a very accessible place and has ample parking space. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Their rooms are also very clean and adequately spacious.
The food menu is however very limited and on top their limited choice, some items may not even be in stock. There is a lot of room for improvement on the meals.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isaacmarata
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Siphiwe M, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2019

Dear Isaacmarata,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to hear that the STAFF where friendly and helpful . Your commendations are highly valued, and I wish to assure you that we have congratulated the Housekeeping TEAM for doing such an outstanding job!

We are saddened by your feedback about your experience in the restaurant. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience that you experienced on your arrival. I confirm therefore that your comments have been followed up with the Food and Beverage manager and his TEAM and remedial action has been taken to ensure that our GUESTS are not inconvenienced in this way again.

We hope to have an opportunity to better your experience with us whenever your travels bring you back to Kimberley.

Sincerely,

Elmarie de Villiers
Protea Hotel by Marriott ® Bloemfontein

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2018 via mobile

The hotel is highly accessible from the main road. The pool view is soothing and very refreshing. The menu, however, is completely not on. Keeping cold food in different workstations is so off. The breakfast menu standard is also below the belt, except for the mouthwatering fruits. Actually, the entire Protea hotels need to work so much on the menu, be it in-room or in the restaurant.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Gugulethu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Siphiwe M, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2018

Dear Gugulethu M

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are extremely saddened by your feedback about your experience in the restaurant with breakfast. I confirm therefore that your comments have been followed up with the Chef and the Food and Beverage Manager who joins me in not only offering our sincere apologies for the teams’ shortcomings, but our commitment to resolving these issues in order to improve the dining experience.

Although we fell short of meeting your expectations, I hope you will consider Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein on your next visit to Bloemfontein so that we can deliver on the GUEST experience you deserve.

Sincerely,

Malefu Lebitso
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2018 via mobile

Slo I decided to chage from one Protea to another just to see and experience something else. Rooms are clean and spacious. Cant same the same for the small shower. Friendly staff do help and assist with great customer care. But I think waiting an hour and 20 minutes for dinner is too long. Breakfast selection could improve but otherwise food is good.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank 584christell
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Siphiwe M, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2018

Dear Christel,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at the Protea Hotel by Marriott® Bloemfontein.

Your commendations are highly valued, and I wish to assure you that we have congratulated the Housekeeping TEAM for doing such an outstanding job!

We are extremely saddened by your feedback about your experience with the room service order. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience that you experienced on your arrival. I confirm therefore that your comments have been followed up with the Food and Beverage manager and their TEAM and remedial action has been taken to ensure that our GUESTS are not inconvenienced in this way again.

We hope to have an opportunity to better your experience with us whenever your travels bring you back to Bloemfontein.

Sincerely,

Elmarie de Villiers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

Normallly when booked in this hotel. i don't experienced glitches but this week services were suboptimal. You have to follow up staff to help you. They promise to come back to you but dololo. When i requested staff to lock up conference room when we went for lunch i was just told that nothing untoward has ever happened and they looked at me as if i was a nuisance. Internet connectivity was a bit of a challenge. The staff need to up their game in terms of conferencing and should allocate one person for that role. Limited food is prepared during lunch with only red meat available.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Tshepo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Siphiwe M, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Dear Tshepo M,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel by Marriott ® Bloemfontein. As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal during your recent stay.

We appreciate you bringing these shortcomings to our attention, both while you were here as well on TripAdvisor. On behalf of the MANAGEMENT and STAFF at Protea hotel by Marriott ® Bloemfontein, I would like to apologise most sincerely for your disappointing service experience
With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting but exceeding your expectations. Your detailed feedback has been shared with our management TEAM.

Thank you for taking the time to report your constructive criticism as it is absolutely necessary for us to know how our GUESTS experience our service and facilities. We value your feedback as an extremely important tool in our day to day operations, as this helps us to improve your next stay.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews