We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
VonVintlo
Johannesburg, South Africa

Requires a revamp and quieter aircons

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Dec 2022
The hotel is old and probably requires a revamp. Furthermore, the layout is very strange, ie its built in a circular shape. We had to walk far to access our room, and climb stairs. The aircon in the room is very noisy, and should be replaced with quieter models. The wifi is ok. Room is spacious, but carpets require replacing. The bathroom only had a shower ie no bath. The only highlight was the breakfast which really was exceptional
Date of stay: December 2022
Room Tip: Ask for a room close to reception
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Cottonwood Guesthouse
R 770
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    R 756
  • Expedia.com
    R 767
3.2 km from Southern Sun Bloemfontein
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 300
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 300
  • Vio.com
3.9 km from Southern Sun Bloemfontein
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 384
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
  • Agoda.com
    R 990
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 335
0.3 km from Southern Sun Bloemfontein
Free Wifi
Free parking
SUN1 BLOEMFONTEIN BREAKFAST & RECEPTION
R 671
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 671
  • Vio.com
1.0 km from Southern Sun Bloemfontein
Free parking
Garden cottage behind sent by Glen before.
R 544
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 544
  • Vio.com
3.2 km from Southern Sun Bloemfontein
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 1 191
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 111
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Southern Sun Bloemfontein
Free Wifi
Free parking
King Guest Room
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 1 717
  • Algotels
    R 1 560
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 717
0.5 km from Southern Sun Bloemfontein
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 899
  • Agoda.com
    R 801
  • Priceline
7.0 km from Southern Sun Bloemfontein
Free parking
Pool
Front entrance
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 500
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
5.0 km from Southern Sun Bloemfontein
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 1 021
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 007
  • Priceline
11.3 km from Southern Sun Bloemfontein
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Bloemfontein
Reviews (797)
Filter reviews
797 results
Traveller rating
433
191
115
32
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
433
191
115
32
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mimosa mall value for money swimming pool garden venue
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 797 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2022 via mobile

My husband and myself went for a drink at the lobby,people come into the hotel with cooler boxes full of alcahol and drink it in the garden of the hotel. Also got rouwdy in the bar area with each other.Would not go back again.

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank wheretostay4
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 October 2022 via mobile

When there are so many Airb&b options and guesthouses, using this hotel is a waste of money. At check in, I ask for a non smoking room and I get taken to a room reeking of smoke. My poor asthmatic lungs gasping in horror I turned and fled. Second room felt like a 3km walk after having walked half way around the hotel to the first room. The room are adequate, the restaurant is mediocre and the overall value for money is very disappointing.

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank K663MKmariong
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 August 2022

The rooms are a little dated and the public areas inside are a little lacking in atmosphere but this is outweighed by the welcome and humour from all of the people working here, which was constant during our stay. The hotel general manager and the chef walked around daily and even in the late evening to make sure all guests were ok and were happy and relaxed to chat. It came across strongly that they were happy to have us as guests in their hotel. The front is quite ugly with basically a concrete car park but you are surprised by the large garden and pool at the centre which all rooms overlook, which is very nice. The hotel was very clean and food and drinks were fine with no complaints and breakfast was very good.

Date of stay: July 2022
1  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 July 2022 via mobile

Worst experience ever. Staying for a week and if not harassed by staff for tips in cash cause everything is shared they take over an hour to produce food on the table. Then when you do complain you are told that you are unfair! Where in your life? Oh well… just another example of what service levels are stooping to in South Africa. Horrified! In addition the staff talk at the top of their voices in the passages early in the mornings when they come on duty with no concern for guests who are working in their rooms. Also have a blatant disregard for hotel equipment as it is bashed around with no regard. Self entitled individuals with NO discipline whatsoever, seems self entitlement order of the day,! Disgusting display of where hospitality is going….

Room tip: The hotel should be a last resort to choose from! Management…. What management.
Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank Jaco L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 January 2022

It's an old establishment which can do with a refurbishment. Airconditioners are old style and very noisy. There are also no elevators (for those who may need one).
When we were there, the number of people seemed to be unusually high. There was a huge queue at breakfast and staff seemed completely overwhelmed how to handle the situation.
Otherwise convenient central location in town and the pool and gardens are very nice.

Date of stay: December 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N3Aviation
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews