We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
N3 Aviation
Johannesburg, South Africa

Old establishment, and quickly overwhelmed

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Jan 2022
It's an old establishment which can do with a refurbishment. Airconditioners are old style and very noisy. There are also no elevators (for those who may need one).
When we were there, the number of people seemed to be unusually high. There was a huge queue at breakfast and staff seemed completely overwhelmed how to handle the situation.
Otherwise convenient central location in town and the pool and gardens are very nice.
Date of stay: December 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Cottonwood Guesthouse
R 770
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 770
  • Expedia.com
    R 757
  • Hotels.com
    R 756
3.2 km from Southern Sun Bloemfontein
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 191
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 111
  • Vio.com
    R 1 087
  • Priceline
    R 1 355
0.3 km from Southern Sun Bloemfontein
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 300
  • Priceline
    R 1 300
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 300
  • eDreams
    R 1 300
3.9 km from Southern Sun Bloemfontein
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 384
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 335
  • Vio.com
    R 1 045
  • Priceline
    R 1 431
0.3 km from Southern Sun Bloemfontein
Free Wifi
Free parking
King Guest Room
R 1 717
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 717
  • Priceline
    R 1 715
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 717
0.5 km from Southern Sun Bloemfontein
Free Wifi
Free parking
SUN1 BLOEMFONTEIN BREAKFAST & RECEPTION
R 671
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 671
  • Agoda.com
    R 671
  • Vio.com
    R 671
1.0 km from Southern Sun Bloemfontein
Free parking
R 899
  • Priceline
    R 998
  • Agoda.com
    R 801
  • Expedia.com
    R 848
7.0 km from Southern Sun Bloemfontein
Free parking
Pool
Front entrance
R 500
  • Agoda.com
    R 500
  • Vio.com
    R 500
  • eDreams
    R 500
5.0 km from Southern Sun Bloemfontein
Free parking
R 1 021
  • Priceline
    R 1 021
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 007
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 021
11.3 km from Southern Sun Bloemfontein
Free Wifi
Free parking
Garden cottage behind sent by Glen before.
R 545
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 544
  • Vio.com
    R 544
  • eDreams
3.2 km from Southern Sun Bloemfontein
View more hotels in Bloemfontein
Reviews (797)
Filter reviews
797 results
Traveller rating
433
191
115
32
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
433
191
115
32
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mimosa mall value for money swimming pool garden venue
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 797 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2022 via mobile

Stayed the night here after driving from Knysna. Hotel was packed and check in service was extremely slow (not the end of the world since it was during peak season). Masks are mandatory in public areas (as per their signage) yet hardly anyone in the busy lobby was actually wearing masks and there was no covid compliance officer to be seen anywhere. Rooms were nice and comfortable. Pity the bath was dirty. After waiting to be seated at breakfast (it was very busy) we were shown to a table. The previous couple had obviously recently left. The staff did not even manage to clean the dirty table before seating us and then handed us dirty cutlery on top of that. That was the final straw. If that's the "cleanliness" displayed in front of you, can only imagine what goes on behind closed doors. Suffice to stay, we skipped breakfast and checked out early. Up your cleaning game Southern Sun.

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Get_In_My_Belly_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 January 2022 via mobile

Booked a suite. Regret. You lug your bags up the stairs and walk half kilometre to room , no assistance.
Having driven from WC , all one needs is good service and a good bath and bed.
- Phoned room service. Phones not answered all 15 min.
-Phoned Front Desk. Phones not answered all 10 min
- Took my mobile and phone hotel as outside line , no luck.
- Walked back the distance to find out what the hell is going on. Receptionist strolls in say “ I am alone and I was busy”

I have stayed here some 10 years ago and had good experience. Never again, too much has changed in just 10 years.

Room tip: Dont come here if you are looking for good service
Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Voyager26
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 September 2020 via mobile

Stop over for 1 night with family and friends. Service received from all staff was on point from the time we walked in til we left. All staff was extremely nice and friendly. Rooms was nicely cleaned. Rooms just need a bit of an update. The pool was nice and cleaned.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank CeonM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 March 2020

I had a wonderful stay, and I have recommended the hotel to couple of my colleagues, friends and family. Thank you again for such outstanding service. The apartment and service standard was super👌🤛👌

Date of stay: March 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank zubaned
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 March 2020

The hotel is right at the heart of the city and its east to locate, the accommodation 100% . Its easy to access Wi-Fi. the reception area has enough chairs to wait if there is a cue and the drop off is stunning, its just next to the door.

Date of stay: March 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank mbambol
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews