We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
DPvWyk
Midrand, South Africa

Average at best

Review of Windmill Lodge
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Dec 2018via mobile
Very average hotel at best. The poor staff are trying their utmost to make the experience as pleasant as possible. However, I get the feeling that the systems and management are failing the staff. Lack of cutlery in the breakfast area (R 175 per person), painfully slow internet, business centre computer does not work, noisy aircon, small little flat screen TV with very limited channels and you don't know what channel you are on except for SABC channels and no fridge. Felt like a budget hotel and most certainly not a Sun International hotel standard.
Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 120
  • Booking.com
6.4 km from Windmill Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
King Guest Room
Protea Hotels
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 676
  • Booking.com
6.6 km from Windmill Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 000
  • Algotels
6.9 km from Windmill Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 922
  • Booking.com
6.7 km from Windmill Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 177
  • Hotels.com
7.1 km from Windmill Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 222
  • Priceline
5.4 km from Windmill Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 782
  • eDreams
13.1 km from Windmill Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Suit
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 927
  • Booking.com
7.0 km from Windmill Lodge
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 104
  • Hotels.com
17.7 km from Windmill Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pool Area
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 789
  • eDreams
6.8 km from Windmill Lodge
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Bloemfontein
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
8
19
17
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
8
19
17
7
6
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2018

Staff was friendly and helpful. Airconditioner didnt work. Room looked old and bathroom needs upgrading.

Was a bit pricey for what we got. The gardens and pool looked very well kept.

We didnt eat at the hotel but chose the Ocean BAsket which is a short distance walk .

The cars can be parked at the back in a secure area.

Room tip: Try far from reception as it would be quieter. Also make sure you test the Aircon before the staff leaves the room
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darlene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 November 2018

Rooms are big but tired. Needs to be overhauled . Aircon at its coldest didnt cool down the room. Bathrooms need to be refurbished and the shower trickled water.

All in all a sad experience for R 1300.00 per night

Over priced hotel.

Room tip: only slept there 1 night and couldnt wait to get away
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DarleneHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

The restaurant is neat and the welcome very professional. However they organized a concert with the music so overwhelmingly loud that you couldn't stay in your room. When that finally stopped you hear the noise from the highway. I do not recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank Yolanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 March 2018

The rooms are Huge and there is a bath and a shower and a couch and coffee station -but...There were lots of very noisy other guests as well as noise from traffic throughout the night. I also think R160 for breakfast is ridiculous! The receptionist, Brenda, was very busy speaking to someone else and sort of absentmindedly helped us...After we had already lugged our luggage towards the entrance a laid-back porter surfaced.

Room tip: If you are going to drink and gamble then it is ok - but not for much else...
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Violetvz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile

We stopped here for breakfast on our way through Bloemfontein. Extremely disappointing. At such a high price its actually ridiculous to have such a tired buffet on offer. R160 each for below average sides and eggs is practically daylight robbery. The fruits all came from tins and tasted like they'd been sitting there for at least a week. The decor was pleasing and the staff were pleasant enough. Would definitely not recommend as a breakfast spot, you'll honestly get better food at wimpy for a fraction of the price.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank BernieO99
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews