We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
cherylcA665HL
Johannesburg, South Africa

two night stay

Review of Stanville Hotel
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 Apr 2017
We needed to unblock a bathroom drain upon our arrival, and it was quickly attended to. I think the bathroom could have been cleaner as could the tray with tea and coffee, otherwise the accommodation was adequate. The accoustics of the hotel are bad and so any sounds from neighbouring rooms and the passageway were very loud and disturbing. The management was friendly and accommodating and the food was good. It would be sufficient accommodation for two nights, but I would not stay for longer.
Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GmStanville, General Manager at Stanville Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 02 May 2017
Dear Cheryl

Thank you for staying at the Stanville Hotel Bloemfontein. We value your comments as it helps us to improve our standards and service to our Guests.

We apologize for the mishaps you had encountered and also inform that the Stanville Hotel will undergo a complete refurbishment which has been earmarked for in the next three month.

Once again, thank you for staying at the Stanville Hotel and bringing to our attention the matters you had mentioned.

Kind regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
King Guest Room
R 1 566
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Protea Hotels
  • Booking.com
    R 1 566
  • Priceline
1.5 km from Stanville Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Suit
R 954
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 813
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 050
0.7 km from Stanville Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
R 1 247
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 111
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 111
1.7 km from Stanville Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 158
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 834
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 178
1.5 km from Stanville Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 365
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 365
  • Vio.com
2.8 km from Stanville Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 020
R 998
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    R 998
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    R 998
8.4 km from Stanville Hotel
Free parking
Pool
R 520
Fully refundable
Easy and fast booking
    4.0 km from Stanville Hotel
    Cottonwood Guesthouse
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
      R 770
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
      R 770
    2.9 km from Stanville Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    SUN1 BLOEMFONTEIN BREAKFAST & RECEPTION
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Booking.com
      R 671
    • Agoda.com
      R 671
    • Vio.com
    2.8 km from Stanville Hotel
    Free parking
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Agoda.com
      R 663
    • eDreams
    2.2 km from Stanville Hotel
    View more hotels in Bloemfontein
    Reviews (20)
    Filter reviews
    20 results
    Traveller rating
    3
    6
    3
    1
    7
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    3
    6
    3
    1
    7
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    5 - 10 of 20 reviews
    Reviewed 30 April 2017

    Management, staff very friendly polite and helpful.
    Unfortunately I think the rate was very high, comparing with other accommodation in Bloemfontein. No breakfast included in this rate either, suggest breakfast to bebicluded with no extra charges..for example Bed & Breakfast/lodges.
    Will suggest that showers to be installed too.

    Date of stay: April 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled solo
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank Jenny J
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    GmStanville, General Manager at Stanville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

    Dear Jenny

    Thanking you for staying at the Stanville Hotel Bloemfontein. We value your comments as our customer as this helps us as a team to improve our Standards and service to you as our Guest.

    We do look forward to your next stay when you do visit Bloemfontein.

    Thanking you

    Francois Le Riche
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 24 April 2017

    I and my husband visit the Stanville Hotel in Bloemfontein. I was surprised; the hotel is neat and clean. The staff members was very friendly, the Manager was always visible and make us feel at home. We ate breakfast and dinner, the food of the restaurant was excelled, and breakfast was big! We enjoyed our stay and will surely visit again.

    Room tip: There are no aircons, but it is not necessary, the sealing fan is large and do make the room nice and cold.
    Date of stay: April 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank _elliemare2
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Francois L, General Manager at Stanville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

    Dear Mr /s Ellie Mare

    Thank you that you had visited the Stanville Hotel and I am also delighted to hear that you had enjoyed your stay despite the small problem in your room that you had brought to our attention. We value your comments and surely will be a inspiration to our Stanville Team to excell even more with the next Guests that visit the Stanville Hotel.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 23 March 2017

    Very friendly Staff and the rooms are comfortable 2 star standard and value for money.The Staff are very friendly and helpful and the hotel is conveniently centrally situated. The rooms at the back are quieter. Rooms have either shower or bath and you have to request your preference.

    Room tip: The back rooms are quieter
    Date of stay: March 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled on business
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank Bredenoord
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

    Affordable hotel in the heart of Bloemfontein. Properly situated close to both Mimosa & Waterfront Malls for your shopping experience. It is also situated on the gateway to Bram Fischer International Airport.

    Date of stay: October 2016
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Hoober2014
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 16 October 2016

    The hotel was good in general there was nothing to complain of except that the room did not have air con. The location of the is in the center of the city and is easy to access even working when you are in the city.

    Date of stay: October 2016
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank olebogengo
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews