We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Brian S
Johannesburg, South Africa

More than adequate

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 02 Nov 2023via mobile
Good quality business hotel. Very clean overall, attractive decor, good lighting. But no bar fridge in room, and small desk. There is a small boardroom on the first floor. Rooms small and rather a squash for two people. Bathroom part of the room itself with separate, private toilet. Breakfast above average. Service overall a bit slow. Location very good for CBD and SCA. Reasonably priced. R1800 per night per room, breakfast an extra R215 pp.
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Neo Tabi, Marketing at Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein Willow Lake, responded to this review
Responded 13 Nov 2023
Dear BrianS6601,

Thank you for writing your review on TripAdvisor, this is really much appreciated.

It is great to see that you found our services and facilities satisfying, as this is what we strive for, excellent GUEST service.

Must say that we are truly a great TEAM working here.

We have sent your comments to our Top Management Team, we truly value your feedback.

Once again, thank you for your comments, and may you have a lovely day further.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Thank you.

Kind Regards,

Neo Tabi
Cluster Sales and Marketing Coordinator
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Cottonwood Guesthouse
R 756
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
3.3 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein Willow Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 300
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
3.8 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein Willow Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 175
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
0.5 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein Willow Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 923
R 850
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
7.1 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein Willow Lake
Free parking
Pool
Exterior
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 217
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein Willow Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 219
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 337
0.1 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein Willow Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 876
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
32.5 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein Willow Lake
Free parking
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 011
  • eDreams
11.4 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein Willow Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
De Witte
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 676
  • Priceline
4.6 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein Willow Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
The President Bar
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 017
  • eDreams
1.8 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein Willow Lake
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Bloemfontein
Reviews (298)
Filter reviews
298 results
Traveller rating
101
109
64
15
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
101
109
64
15
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hotel is great buffet dinner loch logan bloem johannesburg gate
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 298 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2022

We stayed here one night during our drive from George to Johannesburg. The hotel is great with a lovely garden and pool area. The breakfast was great, the buffet dinner was fine). Parking is behind a secured gate with a guard at the entry/exit point as well. Quiet at night, no elevators.

Date of stay: November 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christopher V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Neo Tabi, Marketing at Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein Willow Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2022

Dear Christopher,

Thank you for writing your review on TripAdvisor, this is really much appreciated.

It is great to see that you found our services and facilities satisfying, as this is what we strive for, excellent GUEST service.

Must say that we are truly a great TEAM working here.

Once again, thank you for your comments, and may you have a lovely day further.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Thank you.

Kind Regards,

Blanché Walzl-Hagen
Cluster General Manager
Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein Willow Lake
Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2022

We stay here every time we come to Bloem. Nice accommodations, decent breakfast, and very friendly staff. Also very close to two of our favorite malls in town - Mimosa and Loch Logan. The rooms could use an update, including the addition of TVs that can screen cast or play streaming services, but overall has a nice, quaint feel.

Date of stay: November 2022
Thank C1991ZNerika
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Heila Bezuidenhout, Marketing at Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein Willow Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2022

Dear C1991ZNerika,

Thank you for writing your review on TripAdvisor, this is really much appreciated.

It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I must agree our location is perfect if you want to go shopping.

We will communicate your recommendations regarding the rooms to our owners for future consideration.

May you have a great day further, and a happy festive season.

Thank you.

Kind Regards,

Blanché Walzl-Hagen
Cluster General Manager
Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein Willow Lake
Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2022 via mobile

The hotel room was nice, clean with all you might need.
The hotel itself also was clean and well maintained.
Bar staff was a bit surprised their job is to cater customers :-)
Though breakfast staff was very hospitable and nice.
Real downside was the pool not well maintained exhibiting also a dead frog.

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Shiput99
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Heila Bezuidenhout, Marketing at Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein Willow Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2022

Dear Shiput99,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, this is really much appreciated.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the lack of service you received in the bar. This is definitely not the standard of service we strive to offer.

The pool is purposely painted black and not your normal sparkling blue color, this does not appeal to all GUESTS.

Once again, thank you for your feedback, and we will definitely rectify our shortcomings.

May you have a great weekend.

Kind Regards,

Blanché Walzl-Hagen
Cluster General Manager
Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein Willow Lake
Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2021 via mobile

I use this hotel every second month as it is central and has great service.

It follows in the style of the modern Protea Hotels so the rooms are not huge but comfortable but don't offer a bath (shower onky).

You can request a fridge in your room and the meals are very reasonably priced.

The service, from Reception, bar and restaurant is always friendly and efficient no matter the time of the day.

It offers a secluded area around the pool which is also great for working on your laptop

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Lubabalo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GM Willow Lake, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein Willow Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2022

Dear Lubabalo M,

Thank you for taking the time to rate our Property on TripAdvisor, this is really much appreciated.

It is great to see that you found our services and facilities satisfying, as this is what we strive for, excellent GUEST service. Must say that we are truly a great TEAM working here.

Once again, thank you for your comments, and may you have a lovely day further.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Thank you

Kindest Regards

Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein Willow Lake Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2021 via mobile

Wanted to like this place but out of the 150+ nights at Marriott properties this year this place has got to be the worse. Small rooms with the shower part of the room two feet from where your head is on your bed. Poor design and water leaks all over your room. Poor slow wifi, A/C did not work, paper thin walls you can hear everything and can not sleep, ratty old towels, horrible breakfast, no elevator and need to lug your bags up two flights of stairs, smallest room I have had in years, zero recognition of my Elite status, we went there for my two year old to see the animals and they took them all away but still advertise this. You can see many nice photos of the animals on the property. Call the front desk and they don't answer the phone after five plus minutes of ringing. Looked for a lake and saw nothing, crappy area. Asked to speak to a manger but they guy was busy in the toilet for more time than I wanted to wait. Was hooping for a good stay but good not get away from this property fast enough. If you are looking for as comfortable stay and a nice clean, quite nice sleep, Don't Come Here!!!!!!

Room tip: Avoid this place
Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank B3345XYandrewb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GM Willow Lake, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein Willow Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2021

Dear B3345XYandrewb,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor, this is really much appreciated.

As per your review, we unfortunately did not meet your expectations, and for this we would really like to apologize.

Unfortunately the zoo did close down approximately a year ago, and we did remove all advertising of the zoo, this is something we will re-visit.

Covid-19 protocols and procedures have also changed our buffet offerings, and hopefully we would be able to go back to our normal offerings.

Once again, please accept my sincerest apologies.


Kindest Regards

Blanché Walzl-Hagen
Cluster General Manager
Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein Willow Lake
Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews