We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City beauty with zoo natural heritage ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Willow Lake
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Bloemfontein
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed in the hotel recently with a group of colleagues, the hotel is clean and kept sparklingly clean, compact rooms with beautiful facilities in room, the glass shower is nicely scientifically rounded and does not allow for escape of water. However the exposed shower glass is not something I appreciate and thus for those like me it can be a turnoff whips must one showers in view of anyone. The @ hotel was good opinion their service rendition, on of the towel in the room was substandard and not fitting the standard if the hotel. The hotel is located closer to many facilities in the city.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Jabu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWillowLake, General Manager at Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Willow Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2016

Dear JabuM

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor, much appreciated.

It is always good to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Apologies for the sub standard towel that was placed in your bathroom, as this is not the standard we are proud to offer.

Once again, thank you for your review, and may you have a lovely day further.

Kindest Regards

Blanché Walzl
General Manager
Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein Willow Lake

T: +27 (0) 51 412 5400

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2016

Staying in the Protea Willow Lake turns a hard working business week into a very relaxing time. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, and seeing zebra and Gemsbok from my room window was so cool. Had a real treat when the peacocks starting showing off at breakfast. Awesome stay!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank YvetteGoussard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWillowLake, General Manager at Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Willow Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2016

Dear YvetteGoussard

What a lovely way to start the morning by reading your great comments on TripAdvisor.

We are extremely fortunate to work at Protea Hotel Willow Lake, as we get to experience the tranquility of the zoo on a daily basis.

I am delighted to read that you had an awesome stay, and will definitely communicate your review to my STAFF.

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, and may you have a lovely day further.

Kindest Regards

Blanché Walzl
General Manager
Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein Willow Lake

T: +27 (0) 51 412 5400

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

This hotel is at great location for business. The hotel looks beautiful (design)with nice furnishings. We were sharing a room and had an open shower with no curtain which was a bit uncomfortable because of the lack of privacy in this instance. The room had x2 double beds, but has little space for moving around. I felt breakfast was overpriced and there was little on tge buffet to choose from. Otherwise i had a pleasant stay. The staff very friendly and helpful!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Madzanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWillowLake, General Manager at Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Willow Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2016

Dear Madzanga

Thank you so much for your review on TripAdvisor, much appreciated.

It is important for us to know when we are doing right, but more importantly when we are doing wrong.

I will definitely re-look at our breakfast offering with my TEAM, and see where we can improve.

Once again, thank you, and may you have a lovely day further.

Kindest Regards

Blanché Walzl
General Manager
Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein Willow Lake
T: +27 (0) 51 412 5400

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

From the moment we arrived until the checkout we were greeted with smiles. There is a lovely team working at this hotel which is conveniently located close to the city and access to the main freeway. Food in the restaurant was excellent! We will definitely return.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank MikeMouse2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWillowLake, General Manager at Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Willow Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2016

Dear MikeMouse2910

Your review on TripAdvisor was a great motivator for my morning meeting, thank you for that.

It is always great to hear that we are doing right, as that is why we are here, to serve our GUESTS.

Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Have a lovely day further.

Kindest Regards
Blanché Walzl
General Manager
Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein Willow Lake
T: +27 (0) 51 412 5400

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Excellent reception, big and clean rooms. Friendly staff. Great buffet the evening, price less than other Protea Hotels and the food was more and well prepared. All the staff in the restaurant were friendly and their service was professional. Hotel next to the zoo, and a must to visit. Hotel is easy to find from the N1. Good directions available.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lourens-Esterhuyse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWillowLake, General Manager at Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Willow Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2016

Dear Lourens-Esterhuyse

What a lovely way to start a Monday morning by reading your comments on TripAdvisor. Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review.

I am delighted to read that you had a lovely stay with us, and will definitely share your review with my TEAM.

Once again, thank you, and I hope we can welcome you back real soon.

May you have a lovely week.

Kindest Regards

Blanché Walzl
General Manager
Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein Willow Lake

T: +27 (0) 51 412 5400

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bloemfontein hotels
1,3 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein
0,1 km away
City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein
City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein
#4 of 25 in Bloemfontein
97 reviews
1 km away
Anta Boga Hotel
Anta Boga Hotel
#2 of 25 in Bloemfontein
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3,4 km away
Road Lodge Bloemfontein Airport
Road Lodge Bloemfontein Airport
#12 of 25 in Bloemfontein
21 reviews
1 km away
Hobbit Boutique Hotel
Hobbit Boutique Hotel
#8 of 25 in Bloemfontein
53 reviews
5,9 km away
Aha Bloemfontein Hotel
Aha Bloemfontein Hotel
#10 of 25 in Bloemfontein
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Willow Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Willow Lake

Address: 101 Henry Street, Bloemfontein 9301, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Free State > Bloemfontein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Bloemfontein
Price Range: R873 - R1 664 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Willow Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Willow Lake provides a serene environment that blends in with nature and the surrounds. The hotel comprises of modern and luxurious rooms, including 2 paraplegic bedrooms; all of which are equipped with air conditioners, selective satellite television channels, tea & coffee making facilities, executive desk with multi adapter plug points, electronic safes and touch dial telephones. Each room has an open plan shower (no baths), with privacy curtains in all twin rooms. Guests are spoilt for choice when it comes to winding down. Choose to relax by the pool or sip on cocktails in the bar and lounge area. Why not visit the exclusive patio, have a bite to eat and experience a breathtaking view of the Bloemfontein Zoo elephant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Willow Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing