We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Willow Lake
Nearby Hotels
Anta Boga Hotel(Bloemfontein)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dersley Manor(Bloemfontein)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SUN1 Bloemfontein(Bloemfontein)
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
The Suburban(Bloemfontein)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Adeo(Bloemfontein)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (241)
Filter reviews
241 results
Traveller rating
81
86
52
15
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
81
86
52
15
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsopen planopen showerglass enclosurethe hotel staffhotel restaurantwestern capebeautiful hotelrooms are comfortablelounge areastayed for one nightbusiness tripexcellent stayattention to detailzooproteaanimalszebra
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 241 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2016

Staying in the Protea Willow Lake turns a hard working business week into a very relaxing time. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, and seeing zebra and Gemsbok from my room window was so cool. Had a real treat when the peacocks starting showing off at breakfast. Awesome stay!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank YvetteGoussard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWillowLake, General Manager at Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Willow Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2016

Dear YvetteGoussard

What a lovely way to start the morning by reading your great comments on TripAdvisor.

We are extremely fortunate to work at Protea Hotel Willow Lake, as we get to experience the tranquility of the zoo on a daily basis.

I am delighted to read that you had an awesome stay, and will definitely communicate your review to my STAFF.

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, and may you have a lovely day further.

Kindest Regards

Blanché Walzl
General Manager
Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein Willow Lake

T: +27 (0) 51 412 5400

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

This hotel is at great location for business. The hotel looks beautiful (design)with nice furnishings. We were sharing a room and had an open shower with no curtain which was a bit uncomfortable because of the lack of privacy in this instance. The room had x2 double beds, but has little space for moving around. I felt breakfast was overpriced and there was little on tge buffet to choose from. Otherwise i had a pleasant stay. The staff very friendly and helpful!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Madzanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWillowLake, General Manager at Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Willow Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2016

Dear Madzanga

Thank you so much for your review on TripAdvisor, much appreciated.

It is important for us to know when we are doing right, but more importantly when we are doing wrong.

I will definitely re-look at our breakfast offering with my TEAM, and see where we can improve.

Once again, thank you, and may you have a lovely day further.

Kindest Regards

Blanché Walzl
General Manager
Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein Willow Lake
T: +27 (0) 51 412 5400

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

From the moment we arrived until the checkout we were greeted with smiles. There is a lovely team working at this hotel which is conveniently located close to the city and access to the main freeway. Food in the restaurant was excellent! We will definitely return.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank MikeMouse2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWillowLake, General Manager at Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Willow Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2016

Dear MikeMouse2910

Your review on TripAdvisor was a great motivator for my morning meeting, thank you for that.

It is always great to hear that we are doing right, as that is why we are here, to serve our GUESTS.

Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Have a lovely day further.

Kindest Regards
Blanché Walzl
General Manager
Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein Willow Lake
T: +27 (0) 51 412 5400

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Excellent reception, big and clean rooms. Friendly staff. Great buffet the evening, price less than other Protea Hotels and the food was more and well prepared. All the staff in the restaurant were friendly and their service was professional. Hotel next to the zoo, and a must to visit. Hotel is easy to find from the N1. Good directions available.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lourens-Esterhuyse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWillowLake, General Manager at Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Willow Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2016

Dear Lourens-Esterhuyse

What a lovely way to start a Monday morning by reading your comments on TripAdvisor. Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review.

I am delighted to read that you had a lovely stay with us, and will definitely share your review with my TEAM.

Once again, thank you, and I hope we can welcome you back real soon.

May you have a lovely week.

Kindest Regards

Blanché Walzl
General Manager
Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein Willow Lake

T: +27 (0) 51 412 5400

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

Good location, safe parking, frendly personel. Rooms clean and comfortable. Perfect stopover between Gauteng and Eastern & Western Cape. Well managed restaurant. Close to shopping centers. Frequently on enroute from Cape.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank johannescv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWillowLake, Manager at Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Willow Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2016

Dear johannescv

It was wonderful to receive your possible feedback today, thank you for the time you took to post on Trip Advisor about your experience at the Protea Hotel Willow Lake.

We will be sharing your comments with our STAFF today and they will be ecstatic to hear that you enjoyed the facilities and services offered.

Hopefully we will welcome you back soon for your next stop over and thank you again for your kind and positive comments.

Kind Regards

Lindy Meiring
Rooms Division Manager
Protea Hotel Willow Lake - Bloemfontein

T: +27 (0) 51 412 5400

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews