We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (200)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveller rating
153
31
8
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
153
31
8
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small hotel hot tub indian ocean attention to detail st francis one night overlooking the sea patio doors the ground floor direct access rooms are beautifully appointed attractive canal enjoy the view lady at reception addo elephant park refreshing drink recent trip
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 200 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2018

On our way from Knysna to Port Elizabeth, my family made the right decision to spend one night in the beautiful area of Saint Francis Bay. And an even better decision to stay at The Sands.
The room is gigantic, and so is the bathroom. The views to the Indian Ocean are gorgeous and it was great to sleep and leave the door open to hear the sound of the waves. I believe the beach access is compromised because of the level of water after a marina was built in the region, so do not count on having a beach for yourself. You may have to walk a little to have a decent strip of sand.The staff was friendly, attentive and fast to answer. They made our stay unforgettable.
Two points to consider: parking space is relatively small, so you have to be lucky to obtain one slot. Also, the food was not perfect (breakfast did not have a lot of options, like in other guest houses we stayed before arriving here) and I would say that is the most important issue for them to work on so I could give them a five-star rating next time.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nomad159533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at The Sands at St Francis, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Thank you for your review and support. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and our beautiful open rooms. It is always great to hear back from our guests and get fresh perspective. Your points have been noted and will certainly be addressed.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Sands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2018

As with a number of other reviewers we broke a journey from Plettenburg to an Eastern Cape safari park with a one night stay at the Sands.We were greeted with a refreshing drink then shown to our wonderful first floor room with an amazing picture window overlooking the beach and sea and complete with a deck, loungers and a hot tub! We were a little surprised given the prominence on the website of the dining experience that the chef wasn't available that night, but, as we had booked to dine out it wasn't a problem for us. We slept well in a comfortable bed and were treated to the customary fulsome South African breakfast. With hindsight it really would have been nice to have spent a second night.
Finally and as an example of the hospitality and kindness that we experienced throughout our stay in South Africa; I managed to leave a set of keys behind in our room, Heidi the manager contacted us at our next stop and arranged to have the keys sent to her head office near Port Elizabeth airport so that I could collect them prior to our flight home.
We would recommend the Sands to anyone needing a stay in St Francis.

Room Tip: 1st floor-wonderful views
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gerald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at The Sands at St Francis, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Thank you kindly for sharing your great experience at The Sands at St Francis. It is fantastic that you enjoyed our high standards of hospitality and thank you again for your recommendation.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
The Sands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017 via mobile

Perfection from beginning to end. On arrival we were greeted with a refreshing welcome drink. The staff were all amazing and attentive and friendly. The accommodation was divine! Views stunning. Beds so comfy. Bathrooms gorgeous. Food scrumptious. Would have loved to stay longer. Will def be back

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank PennyS1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at The Sands at St Francis, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Thank you for your lovely review and support, we are thrilled that you could enjoy the full experience of The Sands. We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

Having read reviews in advance of our trip we were really looking forward to staying here. St Francis Bay is a beautiful town and as you approach it you know it's going to be impressive. We arrived about an hour before official check-in but were warmly welcomed by the staff and were offered to relax in the lounge or pool area (which we did as it was such a lovely place). Whilst we were sitting there, we overheard the Manager Heidi loudly explain to a staff member "not to rush, they are early and check-in is 2pm, so take your time". This marred our stay, I had to go for a walk to calm down as I was furious. We KNEW check in was 2pm, we just simply wanted to relax in the lounge after a long drive.

The staff (expecially Precious) were great, thankfully it was the weekend and Heidi had left so we didn't see (or hear) her again. A few problems with electricity tripping out and shower failing to provide hot water were solved quickly and with good grace. We eat dinner which was simple and well prepared. Breakfast was lovely with good choices.

Overall, the place is a bit tatty close-up and needs investment. Cats have scratched sofas, glass panes in patio doors to our deck weren't clean and obscured the view, the decking hasn't been varnished for some time and in Room 4 there are paint splashes on the back of the door.

Overall a pleasant stay, and by the far their biggest asset is their staff. The issues I've mentioned are for management/owners and are given in the spirit of constructive feedback.

Room Tip: The lower ground rooms all have decks with great views.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bushboy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at The Sands at St Francis, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Dear Bushboy66

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your interactions with our staff. We do pride ourselves in excellent customer services and it is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed such.

I am sad to hear that there was a downside to your stay, please accept our sincerest apologise, we are sorry we have let you down. Please rest assured that we will follow up with the our Manager and maintenance team to ensure these matters are addressed and do not occur in the future.

Thank you again for sharing and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Sands on your next trip to the city.

Warm Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

We only had one night here while on route from Oudtshoorn to Addo Elephant Park. My agent at Go2Africa had suggested The Sands and it was a fabulous recommendation.

We received a warm welcome and we loved our room, African Dawn, which was large and very tastefully decorated with a great view of the sea.

We didn’t have dinner at The Sands and instead opted to walk to St Francis Brewing Co, which we both enjoyed.

Breakfast at The Sands was very good and I loved the sunny and bright dining room.

It was a perfect place to relax between busy days.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Palmer_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at The Sands at St Francis, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Dear Palmer_7

It is wonderful to hear that you had a fantastic experience here at The Sands. As a team, we continuously work on maintaining our standard of service to ensure each and every experience is a memorable one.

It is something we constantly work towards and your feedback serves as a wonderful encouragement to the staff. Thank you again for sharing experience and hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards and safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews