We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Thatchwood(Saint Francis Bay)(Great Value!)
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brisan On The Canals(Saint Francis Bay)(Great Value!)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sandals Guest House(Saint Francis Bay)(Great Value!)
US$105
US$102
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Milkwood Country Cottage(Saint Francis Bay)(Great Value!)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
i-Lollo Lodge(Saint Francis Bay)(Great Value!)
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Canal House(Saint Francis Bay)(Great Value!)
US$151
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St Francis Golf Lodge(Saint Francis Bay)
US$127
US$124
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dune Ridge Country House(Saint Francis Bay)
US$179
US$146
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandriver Lodge(Saint Francis Bay)(Great Value!)
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
190 results
Traveller rating
144
30
8
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
144
30
8
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall hotelhot tubindian oceangarden routest francisattention to detailone nightoverlooking the seagame reservepatio doorssteam roomthe ground floorbeach sidedirect accessrooms are beautifully appointedwine cellarwooden steps
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 190 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2017

This small hotel has it all. The views from all the five bedrooms are amazing, the staff are incredible. They are efficient, very helpful, warm and welcoming. Our bedroom was very clean, very comfortable and had every amenity needed to ensure a relaxing stay.
The village of St Francis Bay is probably not to my taste. It has expensive, pristine houses that have high security gates. It is more of a purpose built holiday resort that rather lacks character, but this hotel was so wonderful I would return there again and again. The two harbours walk that starts close to the hotel is fantastic.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank R064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at The Sands at St Francis, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

It is great to receive such fantastic feedback, thank you very much. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2017

The only draw back we have found visiting South Africa in winter is most places are very quite and St Francis bay is just that not a bad thing for us as we had just had 3 days of game drives. The Sands is a delightful place to stay next to the beach with exceptional views.
Staff and food is upto SA standard (very high) in fact the only disappointing aspect was the walk way to the beach was under repair so you could not walk directly to the beach from your room.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at The Sands at St Francis, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

Thank you very much for the kind words. We are really proud of our team at The Sands. Thank you for being so patient about the maintenance being done to the beach walkway, hopefully when you return it will be all finished and up to scratch. Safe Travels and we hope to invite you back soon. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017

The Sands is a beautiful property located directly on the beach where you be wanting for nothing! Anything you need has been carefully thought of and at your disposal. Our room was immaculate and beautifully appointed. It was wonderful to listen to the ocean while falling off to sleep at night! Delicious meals are available in the dining room with ocean front views that are spectacular. We never felt the need to out at night with such great service under our roof! During breakfast we could watch the surfers.

The beach is directly in front you but direct access was not possible when we were there. This was no problem as the public beach access is a mere 100 meters away down the street.

St Francis is an interesting upscale resort area, truly an enclave in and of itself, with several shops and a couple of restaurants/bars.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Condocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at The Sands at St Francis, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Thank you for your review and support. It is always great to hear back from our guests. Your points have been noted, We are absolutely thrilled you enjoyed your time here with us. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017

Stayed here for 3 nights at the end of our trip , we had the room upstairs, breathtaking is the only way to describe it , huge front window that gave a view of the ocean , you are literally 20 feet from the Ocean . Room was massive , 4 poster bed, bathroom massive and a side balcony with a jacuzzi .... Hotel very quiet, good service , food good but not great in comparison to high standard across vacation . The area is very quiet, not much to do but we had planned for a few days relaxing . tsitsikamma is 1 hour drive back down the coast, went there for the day and easy to get to . Certainly a place of luxury and to unwind after a hectic 2 weeks , make this the last stay as it is the perfect end to a busy holiday.. at last- good wifi :)

Room Tip: Room upstairs no 5 ...
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mkb40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at The Sands at St Francis, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Thank you for your review, insight and support. We are absolutely thrilled you enjoyed your time here with us and the good wifi ;) Thank you for ending your holiday with us. Safe Travels!
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017

Lovely small hotel with lovely rooms, great food and excellent helpful staff. Recommend a few nights in this relaxing hotel as their is not a great deal to do in the surrounding area. Great beach with nice walks.

Room Tip: Room on ground floor. patio doors opening up beside the small pool.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lindsay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at The Sands at St Francis, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Thank you for your review and support. Great to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. Wishing you safe travels.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews