We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (193)
Filter reviews
193 results
Traveller rating
147
30
8
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
147
30
8
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall hotelhot tubindian oceangarden routeattention to detailst francisone nightoverlooking the seagame reservepatio doorsthe ground floordirect accessrooms are beautifully appointedwooden stepsattractive canalenjoy the viewlady at reception
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 193 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2017

Stayed here for 3 nights at the end of our trip , we had the room upstairs, breathtaking is the only way to describe it , huge front window that gave a view of the ocean , you are literally 20 feet from the Ocean . Room was massive , 4 poster bed, bathroom massive and a side balcony with a jacuzzi .... Hotel very quiet, good service , food good but not great in comparison to high standard across vacation . The area is very quiet, not much to do but we had planned for a few days relaxing . tsitsikamma is 1 hour drive back down the coast, went there for the day and easy to get to . Certainly a place of luxury and to unwind after a hectic 2 weeks , make this the last stay as it is the perfect end to a busy holiday.. at last- good wifi :)

Room Tip: Room upstairs no 5 ...
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mkb40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at The Sands at St Francis, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Thank you for your review, insight and support. We are absolutely thrilled you enjoyed your time here with us and the good wifi ;) Thank you for ending your holiday with us. Safe Travels!
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017

Lovely small hotel with lovely rooms, great food and excellent helpful staff. Recommend a few nights in this relaxing hotel as their is not a great deal to do in the surrounding area. Great beach with nice walks.

Room Tip: Room on ground floor. patio doors opening up beside the small pool.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lindsay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at The Sands at St Francis, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Thank you for your review and support. Great to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. Wishing you safe travels.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed for one night and were really glad we did, a beautiful luxurious and peaceful place right on the beach. The receptionist was really friendly and helpful and directed us to a nice local place for a drink and some food in the evening which was a short walk from the hotel and safe to get to. Couldn't fault the room, great size and facilities. There didn't seem to be a lot to do in the area so we were happy to just be staying the one night. Perfect for a luxurious stop off.

Stayed: March 2017
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at The Sands at St Francis, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017

Thank you for your review and support. Great to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. Wishing you safe travels.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2017

A fantastic, friendly boutique hotel right on the beach. Beautiful rooms and great food and service. Go to sleep listening to the sound of the ocean . A real highlight of our trip.St Francis Bay is very charming with its waterways resembling Venice.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at The Sands at St Francis, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2017

Thank you for your review and support. We are absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed your time here with us. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017

A very relaxing 3 days .. a beautiful room .. excellent breakfast and dinner. Right on a lovely beach . The pool was lovely and outside space comfortable.
The staff were helpful.. the only little thing was we asked for decaf coffee they didn't have any but went out especially to get some. But then said my husband couldn't have more coffee as we had this extra which seemed a little odd!!

Ncie personal touches. Sadly the wooden steps to the beach were out of action . Not sure I would go to this area again as it was lots of big houses by canas.
But the Sands was a lovely place to relax and be pampered.

Room Tip: upstairs... brill view!
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 828victoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at The Sands at St Francis, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2017

Thank you for your review and support. Great to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. Wishing you safe travels.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews