We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (193)
Filter reviews
193 results
Traveller rating
147
30
8
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
147
30
8
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall hotelhot tubindian oceanattention to detailst francisone nightoverlooking the seapatio doorsthe ground floordirect accessrooms are beautifully appointedattractive canalenjoy the viewlady at receptionaddo elephant parkrefreshing drinkrecent trip
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 193 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed for one night and were really glad we did, a beautiful luxurious and peaceful place right on the beach. The receptionist was really friendly and helpful and directed us to a nice local place for a drink and some food in the evening which was a short walk from the hotel and safe to get to. Couldn't fault the room, great size and facilities. There didn't seem to be a lot to do in the area so we were happy to just be staying the one night. Perfect for a luxurious stop off.

Stayed: March 2017
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at The Sands at St Francis, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017

Thank you for your review and support. Great to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. Wishing you safe travels.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2017

A fantastic, friendly boutique hotel right on the beach. Beautiful rooms and great food and service. Go to sleep listening to the sound of the ocean . A real highlight of our trip.St Francis Bay is very charming with its waterways resembling Venice.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at The Sands at St Francis, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2017

Thank you for your review and support. We are absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed your time here with us. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017

A very relaxing 3 days .. a beautiful room .. excellent breakfast and dinner. Right on a lovely beach . The pool was lovely and outside space comfortable.
The staff were helpful.. the only little thing was we asked for decaf coffee they didn't have any but went out especially to get some. But then said my husband couldn't have more coffee as we had this extra which seemed a little odd!!

Ncie personal touches. Sadly the wooden steps to the beach were out of action . Not sure I would go to this area again as it was lots of big houses by canas.
But the Sands was a lovely place to relax and be pampered.

Room Tip: upstairs... brill view!
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 828victoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at The Sands at St Francis, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2017

Thank you for your review and support. Great to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. Wishing you safe travels.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017

We stayed at this B & B for 3 nights as part of our stay in South Africa. We had flown into Capetown and then gone down the garden route. This was our last stay before our safari. The room had a great view overlooking the beach, however it was dark and the furniture didn't help as this was very dark wood. The breakfasts were good, most cooked to order, however, items such as lattes etc were chargeable. We had one evening meal at the Sands, the main course was good, however the dessert was lacking. We spent three days here and in hindsight this was too long as there was little to do in the surrounding areas. It was useful to us as it made our next stop, at the Shamwari easy to get to.

Stayed: March 2017
Thank SRFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at The Sands at St Francis, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2017

Thank you for your review and support. We are so sorry to hear that your stay was not all you wanted it to be, we will take your comments under advisement.

Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017

We stayed here 12 months ago and really enjoyed so we wanted to stay here again on this years trip.
Staff are excellent very helpful .
We stayed on the ground floor lovely room metres from the beach. It is a lovely place to chill after doing a game reserve where you are up early every morning.
Good food. We had 3 nights here but on the second night the chef was in an accident so Heidi arranged a restaurant for us in the town they picked to us up and also brought us back. On our third night she had managed to get a chef to cover so we were able to eat in the guest house again which was very nice.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank eje480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at The Sands at St Francis, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2017

Thank you for your review and continued support. We are absolutely thrilled you enjoyed your time here with us.
Wishing you safe travels.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews