We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely small hotel right on the beach front”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sands at St Francis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2017

Lovely small hotel with lovely rooms, great food and excellent helpful staff. Recommend a few nights in this relaxing hotel as their is not a great deal to do in the surrounding area. Great beach with nice walks.

Room Tip: Room on ground floor. patio doors opening up beside the small pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lindsay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at The Sands at St Francis, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Thank you for your review and support. Great to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. Wishing you safe travels.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed for one night and were really glad we did, a beautiful luxurious and peaceful place right on the beach. The receptionist was really friendly and helpful and directed us to a nice local place for a drink and some food in the evening which was a short walk from the hotel and safe to get to. Couldn't fault the room, great size and facilities. There didn't seem to be a lot to do in the area so we were happy to just be staying the one night. Perfect for a luxurious stop off.

Stayed: March 2017
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at The Sands at St Francis, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017

Thank you for your review and support. Great to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. Wishing you safe travels.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2017

A fantastic, friendly boutique hotel right on the beach. Beautiful rooms and great food and service. Go to sleep listening to the sound of the ocean . A real highlight of our trip.St Francis Bay is very charming with its waterways resembling Venice.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at The Sands at St Francis, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2017

Thank you for your review and support. We are absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed your time here with us. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017

A very relaxing 3 days .. a beautiful room .. excellent breakfast and dinner. Right on a lovely beach . The pool was lovely and outside space comfortable.
The staff were helpful.. the only little thing was we asked for decaf coffee they didn't have any but went out especially to get some. But then said my husband couldn't have more coffee as we had this extra which seemed a little odd!!

Ncie personal touches. Sadly the wooden steps to the beach were out of action . Not sure I would go to this area again as it was lots of big houses by canas.
But the Sands was a lovely place to relax and be pampered.

Room Tip: upstairs... brill view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 828victoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at The Sands at St Francis, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2017

Thank you for your review and support. Great to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. Wishing you safe travels.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017

We stayed at this B & B for 3 nights as part of our stay in South Africa. We had flown into Capetown and then gone down the garden route. This was our last stay before our safari. The room had a great view overlooking the beach, however it was dark and the furniture didn't help as this was very dark wood. The breakfasts were good, most cooked to order, however, items such as lattes etc were chargeable. We had one evening meal at the Sands, the main course was good, however the dessert was lacking. We spent three days here and in hindsight this was too long as there was little to do in the surrounding areas. It was useful to us as it made our next stop, at the Shamwari easy to get to.

Stayed: March 2017
Thank SRFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at The Sands at St Francis, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2017

Thank you for your review and support. We are so sorry to hear that your stay was not all you wanted it to be, we will take your comments under advisement.

Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Francis Bay
3.4 km away
Cape St Francis Resort
Cape St Francis Resort
#1 of 2 in Cape St Francis
633 reviews
1.3 km away
Thatchwood
Thatchwood
#1 of 2 in Saint Francis Bay
105 reviews
18.3 km away
Oyster Bay Lodge
Oyster Bay Lodge
#1 of 2 in Humansdorp
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Sandals Guest House
Sandals Guest House
#4 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
302 reviews
2.3 km away
Dune Ridge Country House
Dune Ridge Country House
#1 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
157 reviews
0.8 km away
Milkwood Country Cottage
Milkwood Country Cottage
#6 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sands at St Francis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands at St Francis

Address: 8 Frank Road, Saint Francis Bay 6312, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Saint Francis Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Francis Bay
Price Range: R2 173 - R4 755 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sands at St Francis 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A footstep away from the beach, a few minutes from the bustling village center and home to world class watersports and activities! This luxurious African beach house, located in the picturesque seaside village of St. Francis Bay, offers five spacious en-suite bedrooms, all with uninterrupted views of the majestic Indian Ocean and endless stretches of pristine coastline. All bedrooms are air-conditioned and offer 5 star luxury, opening onto private decks or balcony with stunning views of the beach and infinity pool. The honeymoon suite offers an extra outdoor shower and Jacuzzi hot tub on its deck, from where spectacular sunsets can be enjoyed. The glass-fronted Octagon Restaurant has a thatched roof, central fireplace and surrounding timber deck, providing a breathtaking 270 degree panoramic view of the bay. The Octagon serves breakfast, light lunches and a la carte dinners. St Francis Bay is situated close to the Eastern Cape's many malaria-free game reserves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sands at St Francis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands Hotel Saint Francis Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing