We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful quiet country house surrounded by Africa bush”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dune Ridge Country House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2016

If you are looking for a quiet, friendly and homely place to stay then this is for you. Your views are of the gardens and bush surrounding the country house and make it a wonderful place for reading, relaxing or writing. A big warm fire in the main house and heated mattresses in winter. AND we loved the under floor heating on the tiled bathroom!! My family of 4 were the only guests for 2 nights and so we got to eat in the lounge by the fire for breakfast ad dinner. I think it may have been a different experience if there were more guests as the dining area (which we did not use) was very cold in winter and no fire. Sarah the owner and Suzette, the Manager went out of their way to make sure we had a pleasant stay. My only feedback is that the table service was a little slow and we had to ask for many things to be brought to us (spoons for soup, water to be re-filled etc). It is a 4 star lodge but sadly some of the service at meals made for a lower star than it should be. But still a beautiful place for 1-2 nights.

Room Tip: the family cottages had two rooms with 4 guests a lounge with fire and huge bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank estelledavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuneRidgeSFB, Owner at Dune Ridge Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2016

Dear Estelle

I hope you are well and thank you for taking the time to write Dune Ridge a review.

Im terribly sorry that you found that the service was not up to scratch and I can only apologize profusely as this is something that I take great pride in.

From July to September is our low season so during this time all meals are served in the lounge area where it is nice and warm and cozy and makes for a pleasant dining experience.

We feel that guests are more comfortable and enjoy the ambiance of the fire in this area.

I will definitely look into your comments and address them where necessary.

Once again thank you for the review and we hope that you had a safe trip further

Kindest Regards

Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 47 of 156 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 19 August 2016

Fantastic accommodation! Highly recommended! If looking to be spoilt and treated go to Dune Ridge. Everyone goes that extra mile to make your stay memorable and enjoyable. The food was outstanding and the room exceptional with a four poster bed and Victorian bath. A lot of little extras to spoil you.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuneRidgeSFB, Owner at Dune Ridge Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2016

Thank You so much for the absolutely wonderful review.

We take pride in ensuring our guests want for nothing once they enter our gates.

I will definitely be sharing this wonderful review with my team as they are the individuals that make all the difference to our guests stays.

We hope you had a safe trip home and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2016

We were welcomed and offered refreshments upon arrival. Manageress was very friendly as were the other staff. The room was luxurious with some special touches, such as under-floor heating in the bathroom and fresh bouquet of roses. Mattress was a little hard and chairs could have been a little more comfortable. The breakfast was fabulous with home made muesli to die for.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank maryfike52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuneRidgeSFB, Owner at Dune Ridge Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2016

Dear Mary

Thank you so much for the review and general feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

We pride ourselves on the small touches as these are the things that can really make a stay.

With regards to the mattress being a little hard, this is the first time we have had any feedback of this kind regarding that - this might just be personal preference.

I am so happy that you enjoyed your breakfast with us and especially our home made muesli which is something that we are pretty well known for.

We will definitely be looking into the other comments and addressing them where necessary.

Hope you had a safe trip back home and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kindest Regards

Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016

Really enjoyed the personal touches.
Appreciate the dune ridge lodge management letting me arrive early and use their facilities to get ready for the wedding ceremony. The staff where so sweet singing a traditional african song to send me off. .
Loved the wine and strawberries left in the room for the evening when we came back from the wedding.
Breakfasts were amazing. Overall amazing stay. And such awesome helpful staff.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank amberannef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuneRidgeSFB, Owner at Dune Ridge Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2016

We are absolutely thrilled that we were able to make your wedding day that special.

There really is something very special and heart warming when the ladies start to sing in their mother tongue and impart a little bit of their own Xhosa traditions by singing their wedding songs to the bride-to-be and ululating as they go. Its one of those memories that one doesnt forget.

We wish you and your new husband all the love and happiness for your lives together.

Kindest Regards

Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

CONS:
Reached along a bumpy, but not too long, road.

PROS:
Everything about the place

We cannot speak too highly of this delightful establishment and the consummate hostess, Sarah.

Don't hesitate to choose Dune Ridge Country House - you won't regret it .

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Twigstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuneRidgeSFB, Owner at Dune Ridge Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2016

It was a bit of a whirlwind stay and really wish that you were able to spend longer than one night with us for you to really experience what Dune Ridge is all about.

I do hope though that the rest of your trip was absolutely amazing in true African style and hospitality and look forward to hopefully seeing you again in the not too distant future

Kindest Regards

Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Francis Bay
3.8 km away
Cape St Francis Resort
Cape St Francis Resort
#1 of 2 in Cape St Francis
631 reviews
1.8 km away
Thatchwood
Thatchwood
#1 of 2 in Saint Francis Bay
105 reviews
16.1 km away
Oyster Bay Lodge
Oyster Bay Lodge
#1 of 2 in Humansdorp
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
The Sands at St Francis
The Sands at St Francis
#3 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
176 reviews
2.1 km away
Sandals Guest House
Sandals Guest House
#4 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
302 reviews
1.4 km away
St Francis Golf Lodge
St Francis Golf Lodge
#2 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dune Ridge Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dune Ridge Country House

Address: 80 Taragona Road, Saint Francis Bay 6312, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Saint Francis Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Francis Bay
Price Range: R2 139 - R3 135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dune Ridge Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an extraordinary location on the outskirts of the picturesque village of St Francis Bay, this country house epitomises tranquility. This intimate family run guest house surrounded by rich coastal fynbos, an abundance of birdlife and large gardens typifies comfort and charm without compromising service or attention to detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Dune Ridge Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing