We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed ”
Review of Thatchwood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thatchwood
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

Staff were welcoming but we found the accommodation tired and in need of maintenance. The bathroom in particular had a rusty shower pole, dirty curtain and the sliding door wouldn't work and the timber pelmet fell off. Towels in need of replacement.
The upstairs room was noisy as exposed thatch and no internal boarding.
Separate garden area not attractive and in need of some attention esp the large tree.
Communal areas okay but very dark and in need of updating.
Good breakfast. Nice pool.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Saladio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thatchwood, Owner at Thatchwood, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

GOOD MORNING

I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay.
We have had a very busy year and maintenance was not done in time. Especially the family room you stayed in. No excuse but we are working hard now to catch up with maintenance.
We are closing for 3 weeks to do all the maintenance needed.
I apologies again, and hope we will see you again so you can have a relaxing enjoyable stay with us

Kind regards

HARRIE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2017

I think this is a quirky B&B rather than a 4star lodge. Our room was a reasonable size but in need of some updating. We felt it was not as clean as it might have been. Breakfast was OK. The owners are enthusiastic and offer good local knowledge

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thatchwood, Owner at Thatchwood, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

gOOD AFTERNOON

Thank you for your review.
I see what you say about maintenance, we have had a very busy year and only now we are getting a bit quieter. So now it is our time to do some maintenance like painting and fixing . Specially in your room also the carpet will be replaced.

We hope that you will visit is in the near future so you can see the improvements

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017

The room was pretty big (the bathroom was very big) but, as another reviewer mentioned, the safe was not working.....this is symptomatic of a establishment that could do with a bit of "TLC" / make over and if this was undertaken then it would really be a very nice place to stay at. The owner and staff were all very helpful, the breakfasts were excellent and there's off-road parking - oh, and an honesty bar (not seen too often these days so congratulations for that initiative).

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woodieslocksheath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thatchwood, Owner at Thatchwood, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Good morning

I do apologies for the broken safe, this has been replaced.
I am happy that you enjoyed your stay. we really do our best to make sure everyone have a great time.
After a long and busy season our place still looks good, but next month when we get a bit time we will do some maintenance to make the place spotless again .
Hope to see you again soon


Kind regards

HARRIE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

St Francis is a lovely town.

Room was ok - bathroom really big. Safe didn't work and we were not massively enthralled by the place. Only stayed there for one night - happy to leave when we did. Good fo a short one night stop over but not much else.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank travelbug256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thatchwood, Manager at Thatchwood, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Good morning

Very sorry to hear that you feel like that.
Sorry for the broken safe, has been replaced already.
Would love to hear more from you what we could improve .

Kind regards

HARRIE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017

Lovely comfortable warm place, nice to sleep under the thatched roof, lots of character, huge beautiful bathroom. Very quiet. Warm welcome. Had everything you need. Excellent breakfast with choice of various warm dishes, but also the usual fresh fruit salad, yoghurt and granola.

Room Tip: Our room faced out to a little terrace and the golfcourse. didn't look at the other rooms. but t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Braylo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Francis Bay
4.4 km away
Cape St Francis Resort
Cape St Francis Resort
#1 of 2 in Cape St Francis
633 reviews
16.2 km away
Mandyville Hotel
Mandyville Hotel
#1 of 2 in Jeffreys Bay
146 reviews
17.2 km away
Oyster Bay Lodge
Oyster Bay Lodge
#1 of 2 in Humansdorp
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
The Sands at St Francis
The Sands at St Francis
#3 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
176 reviews
1.1 km away
Sandals Guest House
Sandals Guest House
#4 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
302 reviews
16.9 km away
On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thatchwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thatchwood

Address: 63 Lyme North Road, Saint Francis Bay 6312, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Saint Francis Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saint Francis Bay
Price Range: R1 058 - R2 464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thatchwood 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Thatchwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thatchwood Saint Francis Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing