We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thatchwood
Nearby Hotels
i-Lollo Lodge(Saint Francis Bay)(Great Value!)
US$57
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$55/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

St Francis Golf Lodge(Saint Francis Bay)
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sands at St Francis(Saint Francis Bay)
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brisan On The Canals(Saint Francis Bay)(Great Value!)
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sandals Guest House(Saint Francis Bay)(Great Value!)
US$103
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St Francis Bay Backpackers(Saint Francis Bay)(Great Value!)
US$37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sandriver Lodge(Saint Francis Bay)(Great Value!)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Dune Ridge Country House(Saint Francis Bay)
US$182
US$144
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Milkwood Country Cottage(Saint Francis Bay)(Great Value!)
US$82
US$79
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveller rating
62
35
10
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
62
35
10
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursewarm welcomerooms are spacious and cleanhonesty barst francisreasonable sizeone nightpleasant stayspent two nightsbeautiful placerelaxed atmospherethatched roofshort walkbreakfast was excellentenjoyed our staynext morningbathroom
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 117 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2017

I think this is a quirky B&B rather than a 4star lodge. Our room was a reasonable size but in need of some updating. We felt it was not as clean as it might have been. Breakfast was OK. The owners are enthusiastic and offer good local knowledge

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thatchwood, Owner at Thatchwood, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

gOOD AFTERNOON

Thank you for your review.
I see what you say about maintenance, we have had a very busy year and only now we are getting a bit quieter. So now it is our time to do some maintenance like painting and fixing . Specially in your room also the carpet will be replaced.

We hope that you will visit is in the near future so you can see the improvements

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017

The room was pretty big (the bathroom was very big) but, as another reviewer mentioned, the safe was not working.....this is symptomatic of a establishment that could do with a bit of "TLC" / make over and if this was undertaken then it would really be a very nice place to stay at. The owner and staff were all very helpful, the breakfasts were excellent and there's off-road parking - oh, and an honesty bar (not seen too often these days so congratulations for that initiative).

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woodieslocksheath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thatchwood, Owner at Thatchwood, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Good morning

I do apologies for the broken safe, this has been replaced.
I am happy that you enjoyed your stay. we really do our best to make sure everyone have a great time.
After a long and busy season our place still looks good, but next month when we get a bit time we will do some maintenance to make the place spotless again .
Hope to see you again soon


Kind regards

HARRIE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

St Francis is a lovely town.

Room was ok - bathroom really big. Safe didn't work and we were not massively enthralled by the place. Only stayed there for one night - happy to leave when we did. Good fo a short one night stop over but not much else.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank travelbug256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thatchwood, Manager at Thatchwood, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Good morning

Very sorry to hear that you feel like that.
Sorry for the broken safe, has been replaced already.
Would love to hear more from you what we could improve .

Kind regards

HARRIE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017

Lovely comfortable warm place, nice to sleep under the thatched roof, lots of character, huge beautiful bathroom. Very quiet. Warm welcome. Had everything you need. Excellent breakfast with choice of various warm dishes, but also the usual fresh fruit salad, yoghurt and granola.

Room Tip: Our room faced out to a little terrace and the golfcourse. didn't look at the other rooms. but there were no real views anyway I think
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Braylo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2017

A beautiful guesthouse. Clean and neat. Friendly host who gave u a warm welcome. Room sizy and well. Modern bathroom. Furnished with heart. We were very happy staying there. All pints of interest easily to be reached by car.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank albertundsusanne2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thatchwood, Owner at Thatchwood, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2017

Good morning

Thank you so much for your review of Thatchwood.
It was a pleasure hosting you, we do hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards

HARRIE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews