We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy place”
Review of Thatchwood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thatchwood
Reviewed 16 March 2017

Lovely comfortable warm place, nice to sleep under the thatched roof, lots of character, huge beautiful bathroom. Very quiet. Warm welcome. Had everything you need. Excellent breakfast with choice of various warm dishes, but also the usual fresh fruit salad, yoghurt and granola.

Room Tip: Our room faced out to a little terrace and the golfcourse. didn't look at the other rooms. but t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Braylo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2017

A beautiful guesthouse. Clean and neat. Friendly host who gave u a warm welcome. Room sizy and well. Modern bathroom. Furnished with heart. We were very happy staying there. All pints of interest easily to be reached by car.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank albertundsusanne2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thatchwood, Owner at Thatchwood, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2017

Good morning

Thank you so much for your review of Thatchwood.
It was a pleasure hosting you, we do hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards

HARRIE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

Our host Harrie was friendly and helpful as we experienced 2 years ago. The house on the contrary is not well maintained and is dirty on several places. We found used towels in the bathroom, the tabels were sticky and the swimmingpool dirt. Regrettable.

Stayed: February 2017
Thank huma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thatchwood, Manager at Thatchwood, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2017


Good morning

I am sorry that you feel like that.
Unfortunately things do happen, specially in a busy period.
There is no excuse for it and I do apologies for that. Tables should be clean and I will make sure my staff will special pay attention to that.
Used towels. As the note in the room says, that we are on water restrictions, For that reason we ask that if you want your towels washed to put them on the floor. So when you left them hanging on the rails we assumed you were ok by using them again.
We have serious water restrictions, so we have to save were ever we can.
The pool is cleaned and checked chemically every day. However if the wind blows than there will be some leaved in the water .. I check and clean regularly during the day but ..... with wind there will be some leaves.
Again sorry that you feel like that...I do hope you come again and we will prove to you that every thing is clean clean clean.

Kind regards

HARRIE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

My wife and I spent two nights at Thatchwood. Harrie was very friendly and offered good advice regarding places to eat and other things to do in the area. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was of good quality. The room was very nice and spacious. An honisty bar with a choice of soft drinks and South African wines is situated close to the pool. Next time we visit we'll bring our golf clubs :-)

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Onno S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thatchwood, Owner at Thatchwood, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

gOOD MORNING

We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us .

We look forward to welcome you again

Kind regards

harrie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2017

I have actually never written a bad review for a place, but this certainly isn't 4 stars. The room and common areas smell of damp, our clothes were wet for days after we left. The room has all sorts of insects, including in the bed. Then to cap it off, we found a small frog in our room! We told the owner and he didn't seem that surprised. In their defence they let us off the last two nights as we wanted to leave early. Food looked good for breakfast and st Francis bay is a stunning place, but this place needs a big overhaul.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gary558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thatchwood, Manager at Thatchwood, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2017

Dear guest
We are very sorry to hear about your complaints. You stayed 4 days with us and you seemed happy with no complaints. On the night before you decided to left, you complain about all you wrote in your review. I was not surprised about the little frog because we live on the golfcourse, close to a dam and things like that can happen. Unfortunately the weather had changed in St Francis and maybe that could have an effect on your desicion to leave 2 days early. Sir it is also not acceptable to threaten me with a bad review if i dont pay your money back....what you now anyway did. It is our aim to keep a high standard and do our best to keep our guests happy. I am glad that you enjoyed our village and wish you all the best.
ps : The 2 bath towels you borrowed from us and promised to return are still missing.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Francis Bay
4.4 km away
Cape St Francis Resort
Cape St Francis Resort
#1 of 2 in Cape St Francis
633 reviews
16.2 km away
Mandyville Hotel
Mandyville Hotel
#1 of 2 in Jeffreys Bay
146 reviews
17.2 km away
Oyster Bay Lodge
Oyster Bay Lodge
#1 of 2 in Humansdorp
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
The Sands at St Francis
The Sands at St Francis
#3 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
176 reviews
1.1 km away
Sandals Guest House
Sandals Guest House
#4 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
302 reviews
16.9 km away
On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thatchwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thatchwood

Address: 63 Lyme North Road, Saint Francis Bay 6312, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Saint Francis Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saint Francis Bay
Price Range: R1 058 - R2 464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thatchwood 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Thatchwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thatchwood Saint Francis Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing