We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thatchwood
Nearby Hotels
The Sands at St Francis(Saint Francis Bay)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
i-Lollo Lodge(Saint Francis Bay)(Great Value!)
US$57
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Canal House(Saint Francis Bay)(Great Value!)
US$147
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandals Guest House(Saint Francis Bay)(Great Value!)
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dune Ridge Country House(Saint Francis Bay)
US$180
US$142
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandriver Lodge(Saint Francis Bay)(Great Value!)
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Brisan On The Canals(Saint Francis Bay)(Great Value!)
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Milkwood Country Cottage(Saint Francis Bay)(Great Value!)
US$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Summerhill Self-Catering Accommodation(Saint Francis Bay)(Great Value!)
US$50
US$48
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St Francis Golf Lodge(Saint Francis Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveller rating
62
35
10
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
62
35
10
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursewarm welcomerooms are spacious and cleanhonesty barst francisreasonable sizeone nightpleasant stayspent two nightsbeautiful placerelaxed atmospherethatched roofshort walkbreakfast was excellentenjoyed our staynext morningbathroom
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 117 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2017

A beautiful guesthouse. Clean and neat. Friendly host who gave u a warm welcome. Room sizy and well. Modern bathroom. Furnished with heart. We were very happy staying there. All pints of interest easily to be reached by car.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank albertundsusanne2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thatchwood, Owner at Thatchwood, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2017

Good morning

Thank you so much for your review of Thatchwood.
It was a pleasure hosting you, we do hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards

HARRIE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

Our host Harrie was friendly and helpful as we experienced 2 years ago. The house on the contrary is not well maintained and is dirty on several places. We found used towels in the bathroom, the tabels were sticky and the swimmingpool dirt. Regrettable.

Stayed: February 2017
Thank huma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thatchwood, Manager at Thatchwood, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2017


Good morning

I am sorry that you feel like that.
Unfortunately things do happen, specially in a busy period.
There is no excuse for it and I do apologies for that. Tables should be clean and I will make sure my staff will special pay attention to that.
Used towels. As the note in the room says, that we are on water restrictions, For that reason we ask that if you want your towels washed to put them on the floor. So when you left them hanging on the rails we assumed you were ok by using them again.
We have serious water restrictions, so we have to save were ever we can.
The pool is cleaned and checked chemically every day. However if the wind blows than there will be some leaved in the water .. I check and clean regularly during the day but ..... with wind there will be some leaves.
Again sorry that you feel like that...I do hope you come again and we will prove to you that every thing is clean clean clean.

Kind regards

HARRIE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

My wife and I spent two nights at Thatchwood. Harrie was very friendly and offered good advice regarding places to eat and other things to do in the area. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was of good quality. The room was very nice and spacious. An honisty bar with a choice of soft drinks and South African wines is situated close to the pool. Next time we visit we'll bring our golf clubs :-)

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Onno S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thatchwood, Owner at Thatchwood, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

gOOD MORNING

We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us .

We look forward to welcome you again

Kind regards

harrie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2017

I have actually never written a bad review for a place, but this certainly isn't 4 stars. The room and common areas smell of damp, our clothes were wet for days after we left. The room has all sorts of insects, including in the bed. Then to cap it off, we found a small frog in our room! We told the owner and he didn't seem that surprised. In their defence they let us off the last two nights as we wanted to leave early. Food looked good for breakfast and st Francis bay is a stunning place, but this place needs a big overhaul.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gary558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thatchwood, Manager at Thatchwood, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2017

Dear guest
We are very sorry to hear about your complaints. You stayed 4 days with us and you seemed happy with no complaints. On the night before you decided to left, you complain about all you wrote in your review. I was not surprised about the little frog because we live on the golfcourse, close to a dam and things like that can happen. Unfortunately the weather had changed in St Francis and maybe that could have an effect on your desicion to leave 2 days early. Sir it is also not acceptable to threaten me with a bad review if i dont pay your money back....what you now anyway did. It is our aim to keep a high standard and do our best to keep our guests happy. I am glad that you enjoyed our village and wish you all the best.
ps : The 2 bath towels you borrowed from us and promised to return are still missing.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2016

When we arrived the friendly owner of the Thatchwood Lodge served coffee and tea with milk tarte on the house and sat down with us to answer our questions. We discussed restaurant options and he then booked a table for us for dinner. He provided us with a map of the area which we used to have a walk around the harbour. We had only arrived around 4 pm after a long flight from Germany to Port Elizabeth. Our room no. 5 was perfectly okay for one night but for a longer stay we would have preferred a larger room. The refrigerator was noisy so we turned it off in the evening. There was a small table with 2 chairs outside in front of our room for our use. The pool area still needed a thorough spring clean and the pool itself is too small to swim in. Breakfast was good with a continental buffet including muesli and fresh fruit. Eggs or the yummy pancakes were made fresh to order.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CowgirlAtHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thatchwood, Manager at Thatchwood, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2016

Good morning

Thank you for writing a review on your stay.
I am glad that you did enjoy your one night stay, next time if you decide to stay longet book one of our luxury rooms , there are far more spacious, have a nice spacious bathroom and you have a private garden to relax. The pool is the biggest available and is 10 by 4 meters ...not really small !. I do apologies if the pool was not clean, but the wind can blow and than sand and leafs of the trees will be blown in.. Sorry for this.

We do hope to see you again and I make sure the pool is " Spring-clean"

Regards

HARRIE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews