We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Dune Ridge Country House(Saint Francis Bay)
US$177
US$150
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
Hotels.com
View Deal
The Sands at St Francis(Saint Francis Bay)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St Francis Golf Lodge(Saint Francis Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
i-Lollo Lodge(Saint Francis Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandals Guest House(Saint Francis Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Milkwood Country Cottage(Saint Francis Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandriver Lodge(Saint Francis Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Brisan On The Canals(Saint Francis Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveller rating
64
35
10
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
64
35
10
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursewarm welcomerooms are spacious and cleanhonesty barst francisreasonable sizeone nightpleasant staybig bathroomspent two nightsbeautiful placerelaxed atmospherethatched roofshort walkbreakfast was excellentenjoyed our staynext morning
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 119 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2015 via mobile

Set in the picturesque Eastern Cape, This is the ideal getaway spot. Our room was very spacious and modern with all the necessary facilities. The staff was very friendly and helpful and we thoroughly enjoyed the excellent breakfast every morning. The guest house is close to the shops and restaurants and the view of the golf course is breathtaking. We will definitely be back!

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank IsabellaTheron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2015

What a lovely place! We were received warmly and the rooms were tastefully appointed. Value for money and what a delicious breakfast! We'll definitely be visiting again! St Francis bay is a beautiful coastal town with friendly people and beautiful nature and scenery. Lots to do in the area and lovely restaurants and coffee shops, great shopping too. Can definitely reccome d the destination and Thatchwood lodge!

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlil1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2015

the staff was very helpfull and friendly. The room is beautifull with a king size bed. The bathroom is enormous. The breakfast was very tasty, and to much to eat. Ideal for golfers. St Francis Links are just across the road.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 207marykeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2015

A very friendly Steffie welcomed us with coffee and cake. The room she showed us was spacious and well equiped. Our room had a fridge, en suite bathroom and private terrace. So far we should have rated Thatchwood Country Lodge as a good average guesthouse.
But it is when you get in trouble that one can discover the extra quality of the house. As we would go to the golfcourse we found our car with a flat tyre. Harry spontaneously brought us to the golf with his own car and took care of the administration with our car rental company.
This kind of extra service is not what we expect from every host, but it is very much appreciated in this case.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank huma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2015

Arriving after a long drive, we were invited to sit down and enjoy a cup of tea, even before we had checked in! And then we were served a complimentary slice of milk tart each. What a lovely welcome! The room was great but because there was a vacancy we were upgraded to a luxury room with an enormous bathroom. We went out early one morning and were provided with boxes of picnic breakfasts. The location was next to the sixth tee on one golf course, and opposite the entrance gate to the other. Breakfasts were really good and the staff could not have been more helpful. We will be staying here again.

Room Tip: Book the luxury room!
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews