We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Thatchwood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thatchwood
Reviewed 18 July 2015

My brother-in-law and I thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night stay at this lovely lodge. We embraced the friendliness of the owners, the location, and our rooms were both very comfortable. Returning from dinner to a crackling fire was a highlight of the day. Staff were charming and very efficient. The breakfast was very enjoyable, overlooking the golf course.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great, and there are 2 budget rooms for travellers watching their pennies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2015 via mobile

Set in the picturesque Eastern Cape, This is the ideal getaway spot. Our room was very spacious and modern with all the necessary facilities. The staff was very friendly and helpful and we thoroughly enjoyed the excellent breakfast every morning. The guest house is close to the shops and restaurants and the view of the golf course is breathtaking. We will definitely be back!

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank IsabellaTheron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2015

What a lovely place! We were received warmly and the rooms were tastefully appointed. Value for money and what a delicious breakfast! We'll definitely be visiting again! St Francis bay is a beautiful coastal town with friendly people and beautiful nature and scenery. Lots to do in the area and lovely restaurants and coffee shops, great shopping too. Can definitely reccome d the destination and Thatchwood lodge!

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlil1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2015

the staff was very helpfull and friendly. The room is beautifull with a king size bed. The bathroom is enormous. The breakfast was very tasty, and to much to eat. Ideal for golfers. St Francis Links are just across the road.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 207marykeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2015

A very friendly Steffie welcomed us with coffee and cake. The room she showed us was spacious and well equiped. Our room had a fridge, en suite bathroom and private terrace. So far we should have rated Thatchwood Country Lodge as a good average guesthouse.
But it is when you get in trouble that one can discover the extra quality of the house. As we would go to the golfcourse we found our car with a flat tyre. Harry spontaneously brought us to the golf with his own car and took care of the administration with our car rental company.
This kind of extra service is not what we expect from every host, but it is very much appreciated in this case.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank huma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Francis Bay
4,4 km away
Cape St Francis Resort
Cape St Francis Resort
#1 of 2 in Cape St Francis
651 reviews
15,7 km away
Oyster Bay Lodge
Oyster Bay Lodge
#1 of 1 in Oyster Bay
34 reviews
17,3 km away
Oyster Bay Lodge
Oyster Bay Lodge
#1 of 2 in Humansdorp
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16,2 km away
Mandyville Hotel
Mandyville Hotel
#6 of 50 in Jeffreys Bay
152 reviews
1,8 km away
Dune Ridge Country House
Dune Ridge Country House
#2 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
167 reviews
1,1 km away
Sandals Guest House
Sandals Guest House
#3 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thatchwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thatchwood

Address: 63 Lyme North Road, Saint Francis Bay 6312, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Saint Francis Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saint Francis Bay
Price Range: R1 041 - R2 496 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thatchwood 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Thatchwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thatchwood Saint Francis Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing