We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Dune Ridge Country House(Saint Francis Bay)
US$168
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandals Guest House(Saint Francis Bay)(Great Value!)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thatchwood(Saint Francis Bay)(Great Value!)
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
i-Lollo Lodge(Saint Francis Bay)(Great Value!)
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sands at St Francis(Saint Francis Bay)
US$155
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St Francis Golf Lodge(Saint Francis Bay)
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Milkwood Country Cottage(Saint Francis Bay)(Great Value!)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Canal House(Saint Francis Bay)(Great Value!)
US$151
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandriver Lodge(Saint Francis Bay)(Great Value!)
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
31
19
4
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
19
4
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscanal cruisecaptain kevinlovely locationfantastic hostsfelt like homeen routerooms are cleancomfortable stayvisiting stone nightattention to detailsandyfrancishouserenovationhospitalityaccommodation
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2017

A friendly and clean experience in a beautiful setting. Much enjoyed and relaxed. Our room was ready and clean. More than enough space in room and en suite bathroom. Great breakfast and info available on restaurants and other interests.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 245jacob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisanbedandbreakfas, Manager at Brisan On The Canals, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Thank you for the lovely review.

Hopefully we will see you in the not to distant future.
It was a pleasure hosting you.

Regards
Ursula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

Pretty venue, comfortable accommodation & good service.
We requested advice where to have dinner & numerous venues were mentioned & a booking made for us. Dinner wasn't that great but that was not the fault of Brisan.
The establishment also made an effort with an earlier breakfast for us as we had to be in Port Elizabeth early.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 853melindas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisanbedandbreakfas, Manager at Brisan On The Canals, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Thanks for your comments, I was a tad shocked with the dinner you had at the restaurant I had recommended, and pointed the fact out to the owner, glad you enjoyed your stay with us and it was a pleasure getting you off on an early start. When next in town we will have to get you to one of the other restaurants in town. See you soon hopefully- Regards Kevin & Ursula- Management couple at Brisan on the Canals

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

We were travelling from PE to George over a couple of days and chose St Francis Bay as our
stop-over place for one night. What a pity it was only for one night. It was love at first sight, with both the quaint little town of St Francis Bay and the warm, friendly and very hospitable Brisan on the Canals.
We definitely hope to go back for a longer stay, not only to enjoy the wonderful food and warm hospitality at Brisan on the Canals, but also to explore the Canals and visit the St Francis Brewing Company again too.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 665owenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin I, General Manager at Brisan On The Canals, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Thanks for your kind words, we loved hosting you and the next time you will be able to explore a few more of our treasures in St Francis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017

We really enjoyed our 1 night stopover at Brisan on the Canals. The room was very comfortable and the bathroom spacious with both bath and shower. The hosts are exceptionally friendly and went out of their way to assist us, even making a dinner reservation at a recommended local restaurant on our behalf. Breakfast the next morning was delicious. A stay here would be highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin I, General Manager at Brisan On The Canals, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Dear Lisa

It was a pleasure having you stay with us.
Look forward to your return.

Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

Beautiful location overlooking canal.
Brian and Sandy are excellent hosts and the accommodation comfortable and spotless. Ideal for a stopover or longer. Thoroughly recommend the Canal trip on Brian's boat.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank A6750BYmarkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin I, General Manager at Brisan On The Canals, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Thank you Mark for choosing 'Brisan on the Canals' for your stop over, we certainly look forward to your return and hopefully you will enjoy our establishment for a longer time, and with so much to do and experience in the area we are sure it will be memorable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews