We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Thatchwood(Saint Francis Bay)(Great Value!)
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sands at St Francis(Saint Francis Bay)
US$152
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Milkwood Country Cottage(Saint Francis Bay)(Great Value!)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandals Guest House(Saint Francis Bay)
US$105
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
i-Lollo Lodge(Saint Francis Bay)(Great Value!)
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Canal House(Saint Francis Bay)(Great Value!)
US$151
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St Francis Golf Lodge(Saint Francis Bay)
US$127
US$124
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dune Ridge Country House(Saint Francis Bay)
US$179
US$146
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandriver Lodge(Saint Francis Bay)(Great Value!)
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
31
19
4
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
19
4
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscanal cruisecaptain kevinlovely locationfantastic hostsfelt like homeen routerooms are cleancomfortable stayvisiting stone nightattention to detailsandyfrancishouserenovationhospitalityaccommodation
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2016 via mobile

The house is lovely, and the host friendly. The room was dated and furniture didn't match. Room was too snug with all the furniture placed there - very difficult especially with an infant. Toiletries provided appeared random. Rooms did not have 2pin plugs. Stained mats were on the floor and the curtain hung shabbily. Room wasn't suitable for a guest - I definately wouldn't offer a visitor in my home a room in such condition.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
Thank RacquelZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisanbedandbreakfas, Owner at Brisan On The Canals, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2016

Hi Racquel
We thank you for your honest appraisal of the room you were occupying. What you did not mention was that you were on a Groupon voucher and that is for 2 people.
Please note that we are at present working on the updating of our rooms as it becomes less busy.
The room you occupied is normally let for 1 person or 2 maximum. Unfortunately we were unable to offer you another room as we were full for the 3 nights over that weekend, hence you were crowded with the baby.
We did remark on the curtain which someone had pulled off the rail and not hung properly. A big mistake on our part for not correcting it before you arrived. Please accept our apologies.
There actually WAS a 2-pin plug in the room but unfortunately so many of these go walk-about when guests remove them on departure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2016 via mobile

A lovely spot on the canals. Gareth (the stand in manager) was very kind and very knowledgeable of the surrounding area. The room was clean and the food was good. An ideal spot to visit St Francis and the surrounding. The trip on the canal is a most and was very enjoyable.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisanbedandbreakfas, Owner at Brisan On The Canals, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2016

Hi Sam
Thank you so much for reviewing Brisan. It is always very much appreciated to get some feedback from guests.
We have just hosted 2 couples who returned for their third visit to us - so gratifying.
We sincerely hope that we will meet you at some time in the not too far distant future.
Kind regards
Sandy Cunningham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2016

We booked en route to St Francis and were lucky enough to find a room available at Brisan. The setting is fabulous and we enjoyed an informative and relaxing afternoon cruise on the canals with the host (R200.00pp).
The rooms are private, clean and comfortable with large en suite bathrooms. Breakfast was included and was delicious. The hosts and staff are all very friendly and accommodating and we would definitely recommend Brisan for a quiet scenic getaway.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NeetsDegi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2016 via mobile

Superbly situated on the pristine St Francis Bay canals, Brisan has a manicured lawn which slopes directly onto a private beach inlet and jetty. Our room , the penguin room , had French doors opening directly onto this lawn. The manager Gareth was a Hospitality natural, engaging yet unobtrusive. Our room was spacious and the ensuite well appointed. However we could not help but notice the paint peeling and cracked walls in the bathroom, as well as rusted accesories and dirty surfaces that we had to wipe down before using the bathroom. The room, though pleasant, in our opinion could do with updating. Decor is a little tired and there was a hole in the sheet. My hubby wanted to watch rugby on TV but the channel kept being changed to soccer by someone in control of the TV in the main house. The constant channel hopping did not make for a relaxing Saturday afternoon. One would expect an establishment of this calibre to have independent TV controls in each room. Breakfast was adequate and it was very pleasant to sit outside on the patio with a view of the canal and hear the birdsong. Again a lack of attention to detail was apparent as our side plates needed a wipe and the toast rack was rusted. We felt slightly uncomfortable as it seemed like we were intruding in a pleasant though rather cluttered private home. A mixed review which reflects the mixed feelings we had towards this B&B. With a bit of a polish and refreshing of soft furnishings and paint , as well as a better TV service ,this superbly positioned spot could better reflect the 4 star rating it is purported to hold.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Nici20152016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisanbedandbreakfas, Owner at Brisan On The Canals, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2016

Hi Nici
Thank you for your honest and most helpful review regarding Brisan on the Canals.
We have noted all your points regarding the 'tired look ' of the establishment and are, at present, starting our upgrade. Sorry that you came before we actually implemented and attended to most of your suggestions.
We have waiting for our new linen to be delivered - the towels are already here. However, there is no excuse for being supplied a sheet with a hole and my staff have been taken to task for allowing that to happen. We cannot understand the 'dusty side plates' as our crockery is washed in the dishwasher and put freshly on the table late afternoon and covered ready for breakfast. Obviously something slipped through.
Once we have attended to everything, we would like to offer you and Lindsay a chance to come back to us and meet us personally and check out the changes being made.'
Once again, thanks so much for taking the time to review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2015

This is our second time we have been to Brisan, and this time we went because we are having a golf weekend at the end of November. This is the most wonderful place on the canals, nothing us too much effort for Brian and Sandy, we had the most amazing braai on the Saturday night, all arranged by Sandy, on our request. The house is yours, you never feel like you are intruding in their space.

The rooms have everything, a nice view over the canals, the beds are very comfortable and lovely bathrooms.

If you are looking for a nice relaxing time in lovely surrounds this is the place, and if you would like a canal cruise, with Di ner on the boat, or just sundowners then go for it.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisanbedandbreakfas, Owner at Brisan On The Canals, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2015

We would like to thank you for your great review. Brian and I are delighted that you were happy with your stay at BriSan on the Canals and look forward to hosting your group at the end of November.
We are sure that you will all enjoy the couple of days that you will spend with us on the canals.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews