We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Brisan On The Canals
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2016

Beautiful surrounding area. Good view of the canals. The b/b is not far from restaurants and shops. The breakfasts which were included were good. We will be back. A cruise of the canals is available and recommended.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms As well as upstairs rooms have a view of the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank vernonbrusse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisanbedandbreakfas, Owner at Brisan On The Canals, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2016

Hi Vernon
Brian and I are always striving to improve our establishment so that guests receive the best possible value for money, comfort, experience and sheer pleasure.
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to put in your review to TripAdvisor. This really is very much appreciated and we sincerely hope that you and Lynette will enjoy your travels. We would love to welcome you back at Brisan on the Canals in the future.
Kind regards
Sandy Cunningham
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2016 via mobile

The house is lovely, and the host friendly. The room was dated and furniture didn't match. Room was too snug with all the furniture placed there - very difficult especially with an infant. Toiletries provided appeared random. Rooms did not have 2pin plugs. Stained mats were on the floor and the curtain hung shabbily. Room wasn't suitable for a guest - I definately wouldn't offer a visitor in my home a room in such condition.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
Thank RacquelZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisanbedandbreakfas, Owner at Brisan On The Canals, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2016

Hi Racquel
We thank you for your honest appraisal of the room you were occupying. What you did not mention was that you were on a Groupon voucher and that is for 2 people.
Please note that we are at present working on the updating of our rooms as it becomes less busy.
The room you occupied is normally let for 1 person or 2 maximum. Unfortunately we were unable to offer you another room as we were full for the 3 nights over that weekend, hence you were crowded with the baby.
We did remark on the curtain which someone had pulled off the rail and not hung properly. A big mistake on our part for not correcting it before you arrived. Please accept our apologies.
There actually WAS a 2-pin plug in the room but unfortunately so many of these go walk-about when guests remove them on departure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2016 via mobile

A lovely spot on the canals. Gareth (the stand in manager) was very kind and very knowledgeable of the surrounding area. The room was clean and the food was good. An ideal spot to visit St Francis and the surrounding. The trip on the canal is a most and was very enjoyable.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisanbedandbreakfas, Owner at Brisan On The Canals, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2016

Hi Sam
Thank you so much for reviewing Brisan. It is always very much appreciated to get some feedback from guests.
We have just hosted 2 couples who returned for their third visit to us - so gratifying.
We sincerely hope that we will meet you at some time in the not too far distant future.
Kind regards
Sandy Cunningham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2016

We booked en route to St Francis and were lucky enough to find a room available at Brisan. The setting is fabulous and we enjoyed an informative and relaxing afternoon cruise on the canals with the host (R200.00pp).
The rooms are private, clean and comfortable with large en suite bathrooms. Breakfast was included and was delicious. The hosts and staff are all very friendly and accommodating and we would definitely recommend Brisan for a quiet scenic getaway.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NeetsDegi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2016 via mobile

Superbly situated on the pristine St Francis Bay canals, Brisan has a manicured lawn which slopes directly onto a private beach inlet and jetty. Our room , the penguin room , had French doors opening directly onto this lawn. The manager Gareth was a Hospitality natural, engaging yet unobtrusive. Our room was spacious and the ensuite well appointed. However we could not help but notice the paint peeling and cracked walls in the bathroom, as well as rusted accesories and dirty surfaces that we had to wipe down before using the bathroom. The room, though pleasant, in our opinion could do with updating. Decor is a little tired and there was a hole in the sheet. My hubby wanted to watch rugby on TV but the channel kept being changed to soccer by someone in control of the TV in the main house. The constant channel hopping did not make for a relaxing Saturday afternoon. One would expect an establishment of this calibre to have independent TV controls in each room. Breakfast was adequate and it was very pleasant to sit outside on the patio with a view of the canal and hear the birdsong. Again a lack of attention to detail was apparent as our side plates needed a wipe and the toast rack was rusted. We felt slightly uncomfortable as it seemed like we were intruding in a pleasant though rather cluttered private home. A mixed review which reflects the mixed feelings we had towards this B&B. With a bit of a polish and refreshing of soft furnishings and paint , as well as a better TV service ,this superbly positioned spot could better reflect the 4 star rating it is purported to hold.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Nici20152016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisanbedandbreakfas, Owner at Brisan On The Canals, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2016

Hi Nici
Thank you for your honest and most helpful review regarding Brisan on the Canals.
We have noted all your points regarding the 'tired look ' of the establishment and are, at present, starting our upgrade. Sorry that you came before we actually implemented and attended to most of your suggestions.
We have waiting for our new linen to be delivered - the towels are already here. However, there is no excuse for being supplied a sheet with a hole and my staff have been taken to task for allowing that to happen. We cannot understand the 'dusty side plates' as our crockery is washed in the dishwasher and put freshly on the table late afternoon and covered ready for breakfast. Obviously something slipped through.
Once we have attended to everything, we would like to offer you and Lindsay a chance to come back to us and meet us personally and check out the changes being made.'
Once again, thanks so much for taking the time to review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Francis Bay
1,7 km away
Thatchwood
Thatchwood
#1 of 2 in Saint Francis Bay
109 reviews
5,3 km away
Cape St Francis Resort
Cape St Francis Resort
#1 of 2 in Cape St Francis
651 reviews
0,6 km away
i-Lollo Lodge
i-Lollo Lodge
#5 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1,5 km away
Sandriver Lodge
Sandriver Lodge
#9 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
72 reviews
3,5 km away
Dune Ridge Country House
Dune Ridge Country House
#1 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
167 reviews
2 km away
Sandals Guest House
Sandals Guest House
#3 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brisan On The Canals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisan On The Canals

Address: 7 Spray Avenue, Saint Francis Bay 6312, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Saint Francis Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Francis Bay
Price Range: R1 064 - R1 527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brisan On The Canals 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Brisan On The Canals reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing