We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waterways Bed And Breakfast
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Saint Francis Bay
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Thatchwood(Saint Francis Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Port Hotel(Saint Francis Bay)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Cape St Francis Resort(Cape St Francis)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savoy Hotel(Jeffreys Bay)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Humansdorp Hotel(Humansdorp)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Oyster Bay Lodge(Oyster Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Hub Boutique Hotel(Port Elizabeth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (10)
Filter reviews
10 results
Traveller rating
8
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
2
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 10 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2015

I spent two nights at this wonderful location, on the waterway at St Francis Bay, with my wife, her sister and brother in law who had come out from the U K to spend time with us.
We arrived in the afternoon, after a harrowing trip through Baviaanskloof and were made so welcome by the owners, Julia and Hilton.
The rooms were spacious and comfortable with spectacular views across the waterways/canals.
When we had settled in and decided to go out and explore the area, and get something to eat, they were a wealth of information, giving us clear directions, and recommendations for places to eat.
The breakfast both mornings was excellent, with Hilton operating the coffee machine, and Julia cooking the eggs and bacon to our exact specifications. There was fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurt and juice as well as the bacon and eggs. Nothing was too much trouble.
They organized a cruise on the canals for us, where the boat came and collected us from the jetty in front of the house. The boat owner was a wealth of information and should be a must for anyone staying at Waterways when the weather is nice.
We would not consider staying any where else if we were in the area.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

This property is in a beautiful position on the Canals area of St Francis Bay ...the views are spectacular ..The room is well furnished with sleeping area with ensuite facilities also lounge area and kitchenette. The owners (Julia and Hylton) are a very friendly couple who made us feel very welcome.They are very knowlegable of the surrounding areas and gave us good advice about places to visit ...This place is definately value for money and we enjoyed our stay here and wouldnt hesitate to recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterwaysBandB, Owner at Waterways Bed And Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

We have just upgraded tripadvisor system, and have picked up your review on Waterways. Thank you very much for the favourable review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again sometime. Kind regards, Julia & Hilton Thorpe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We had a lovely stay at Waterways.
Location is so beautiful. The room is cozy.
The owners are very friendly and you can have a nice chat with them during breakfast.
St Francisbay is beautiful, but can be very quiet outside the holidayseason.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joris55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterwaysBandB, Owner at Waterways Bed And Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Thank you for your favourable review on Waterways. We are only now making use of Tripadvisor, and have picked up your review very late. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much, and hope to see you here again. WIth kind regards, Julia & hilton Thorpe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2010

It was a wonderful and unexpected experience of living in a white washed, thatched house, Waterways, right next to the canal. The room is big with both canal and river view. The owner let us use their canoe to visit the canal system, to the water mouth and up the creek. It is so peaceful and beautiful, the houses along the canal are all individually designed, so you don't feel like living in a mass resort area. The beach near the river mouth has fine golden sand, is calm and warm enough for swimming.
There is a bigger beach and a working fishing harbour nearby with a couple of decent fish restaurants. It is a very pleasant escape.

3  Thank ola0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews