We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St Francis Golf Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

From the time we arrived to the time we left the service we received from Elmer and the team was first class. A warm welcome and the booking of a lovely restaurant was our first night highlight after a long drive from the Karoo. The rooms were lovely with great views over the golf course and breakfast was freshly cooked to order by the staff. We had the place to ourselves and could make use of the lounge area - the well stocked 'honesty bar' was a nice touch. The morning and night time visit from Socks the friendly cat was also a highlight. We would have given 6 stars if that score had been available. Many thanks agin Elmer and the team

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jack_Doha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2017

This lodge standard is more of a boutique hotel. Great quality rooms and lounge/dining areas plus great hospitality and views. Excellent value for money relative to other offers in the vicinity. More of a couples, friends or business option.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ianpZ870RC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

5-star service, golf carts delivered to Villa, the room warm clean and comfortable with great views of the 1st Tee box and beyond. staff easy to talk with, friendly and could not do enough to make us comfortable. Breakfast included in the rate was great good selection to choose from freshly cooked was the cherry on the cake!!
Elma on hand organised and gave us great suggestions of where to go for dinner then kindly did our bookings as well. Highly recommended. A few days spent at St Francis at it's best. We will be back

Room Tip: They are all upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greattogolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elma B, Manager at St Francis Golf Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Dear Avril, thank you for choosing to stay at St Francis Golf Lodge. I'm delighted that you, Cliff, Liz & Fred enjoyed your break away from Knysna and the devastation left behind after the terrible fires. We look forward to welcoming you back to the lodge and The Links in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards
Elma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017 via mobile

Ive been here 3 times already beautiful peaceful and relaxing place and the rooms very neat and the staff very helpful and the breakfast there's everything for everyone and Elma always willing to help

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ase91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

Spent two nights here and played the course twice

The lodge is brilliant, extremely well appointed and luxurious

Elna met us on arrival and quickly settled us in an recommended the canal tour and restaurant suggestions. Her help was great.

We had an early time on the first day at 7am before breakfast. Elna let her staff know and when we passed the lodge between the 18th and the 1st Tees, Takeaway bacon sandwiches were ready for us

I recommend this lodge highly, drop her a line as she may get you a golf deal.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank paulmarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elma B, Manager at St Francis Golf Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Dear Paul & Jane
Thank you for taking the time to submit a revue. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you for mentioning the little extra's which enhanced your stay. So often we forget to acknowledge the 'small things' that makes a difference in our lives. I could not operate the lodge without 'my' reliable and committed staff and we hope that you will be able to return to the lodge in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards
Elma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Francis Bay
4.5 km away
Cape St Francis Resort
Cape St Francis Resort
#1 of 2 in Cape St Francis
631 reviews
0.6 km away
Thatchwood
Thatchwood
#1 of 2 in Saint Francis Bay
105 reviews
1.4 km away
Dune Ridge Country House
Dune Ridge Country House
#1 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
The Sands at St Francis
The Sands at St Francis
#4 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
176 reviews
2.3 km away
Brisan On The Canals
Brisan On The Canals
#8 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
46 reviews
1.6 km away
Sandals Guest House
Sandals Guest House
#3 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Francis Golf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Francis Golf Lodge

Address: 10 Jack Nicklaus Drive | St Francis Links, Saint Francis Bay 6312, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Saint Francis Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Francis Bay
Price Range: R1 448 - R2 112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St Francis Golf Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presiding over the 1st tee of the award winning, Jack Nicklaus designed, St Francis Links course, St Francis Golf Lodge is a place where golf enthusiasts can escape to indulge their favourite pastime and relax in the beautiful surrounds of St Francis Bay in South Africa. The lodge is located within walking distance to The Links Clubhouse. The Lighthouse Restaurant and Jack's Bar at the Clubhouse is open daily from 6h30 for breakfast & lunch and on Monday & Wednesday evenings for dinner. The Clubhouse also has excellent conference facilities as well as a Day Spa. St Francis Golf Lodge consists of two separate 5 bedroom houses adjacent to each other. Stay in one of our 10 Double/Twin en-suite bedrooms of which 8 rooms are on the 1st floor (stairs) and have large walk-in showers and standing balconies with views of the golf course. The remaining 2 rooms are on the ground floor/entrance level (no stairs) and have large private enclosed patios, indoor and outdoor showers as well as baths, but has no view of the golf course. Additional facilities includes reduced Gold Membership green fees, 24 hr security, ample parking, swimming pool, free Wi Fi connection in the public areas and bedrooms, Honesty Bar, TV lounge with a big screen television offering the full DSTV bouquet of channels, DVD player, library, games and laundry facilities. Thoughtful service, laid back comfort, and the opportunity to test your mettle on one of the Top 10 courses in South Africa is all part of the St Francis Golf Lodge experience. Guests can expect to leave with a replenished spirit and a renewed love of the game. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your St Francis Golf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing