We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveller rating
132
24
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
132
24
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsst francisspent nights hereperfect servicequality accommodationentrance gateeach morningin seasonlounge areaspacious bathroomfriendly servicegreat accommodationsmall poolmany thanksunderfloor heatingthree nightsbeautiful placethatched roof
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 161 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2017

Our visit here has to be the highlight of our trip. A huge "thank you" to Elma & ALL her staff for a truly wonderful stay. The lodge is a haven of peace, beautifully equipped & the service is great. The rooms are lovely with a thatch roof which makes it feel much more authentic. They supply complimentary afternoon tea & the breakfast was delicious. Everything was freshly cooked & nothing was too much trouble. We just wished we had booked for longer & hopefully we will return next year for a week. The golf course is also fantastic with brilliant service offered by all the golf club staff. Buggies are delivered & picked up from the lodge & are spotlessly clean with ice boxes, club cleaner, card, pencil & tees. You even get your clubs cleaned half way round. This has to have been the best golfing experience we have had in S.Africa & we have done a lot!!!! A gem worth going out of your way for.

Room Tip: They are all the same overlooking the Links golf course
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elma B, Manager at St Francis Golf Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to St Francis Golf Lodge in 2018!
Kind Regards
Elma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2016

Perfect lodge with perfect services in a small town with pretty houses and lovely beaches. A must for everybody who likes challenging golf courses. The golf course was in perfect shape and not too crowded.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank frequenttravelor1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elma B, Manager at St Francis Golf Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review it is much appreciated.
Kind Regards
Elma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2016

As a tour Operator it is essential for us that we can recommend places like St. Francis Golf Lodge. Elma, the Manager takes care of the premises as it would be her own. Thjis is always the best sign for Service Quality.
We are happy to work together with Elma and her Team.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank golfbuddies2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elma B, Manager at St Francis Golf Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and for the support you have given us over the years.
We look forward to receiving many more of your clients.
Kind Regards
Elma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2016

Just brilliant: lovely rooms, well appointed and modern feel to them, a lovely eating and sitting area and a manager, Elma, for whom nothing was too much trouble. Would rush back if my wife had not found the golf course a tad on the tough side!

Room Tip: Room 1 is larger than the others but has no view of the course...
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wymlae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2016

The play and stay was excellent. The service great. Only the rooms are too small for two persons. Not enough cupboard space and no privacy for bathroom. Just a wall with no ceiling separating the room and the bathroom/toilet area. Even married couples would find this uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rviljoen06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elma B, Manager at St Francis Golf Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2016

Dear Ronel
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and the feedback we've received. I'm sorry that you were not completely happy with the room you were staying in. It is a real pity that you did not raise the bathroom issue with me during your 4 night stay as I would have offered to move you to a room with a private bathroom. We have 3 bigger rooms with fully enclosed bathrooms, 2 of which have indoor and outdoor showers and one with a separate bath and shower, but unfortunately for this you have to give up the view!
Regards
Elma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews