We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Wonderful Shamwari

We had the most amazing 3 days at Shamwari. Stayed at Bayethe, please see my detailed review. Our... read more

Reviewed 26 February 2024
goody2808
,
East Yorkshire
via mobile
We left our heart in Shamwari

Wow.....What an amazing place. We are an adult family of seven, and although we have travelled... read more

Reviewed 1 February 2024
Max557
,
Dublin, Ireland
Read all 448 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Port Elizabeth
from R 490,00
More Info
from R 2 120,00
More Info
from R 2 750,00
More Info
from R 850,00
More Info
Reviews (448)
Filter reviews
448 results
Traveller rating
418
24
4
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
418
24
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews long lee manor game drives ranger mino spent three nights two nights his job his enthusiasm incredible experience herd of elephants watering hole lodge accommodation safari wildlife breakfast bush siya
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 448 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2023

My wife and I stayed at Sindile Lodge for five days in mid August. I cannot praise Shamwari and all the staff enough - we had a marvelous time and every aspect of our stay surpassed our high expectations. The pick-ups worked like clockwork; all the staff were very friendly, courtious and nothing was too much trouble for them; the food was exceptional, with something for every taste; Sindile is beautiful and in a marvelous location for viewing the reserve and the animals it contains; our accommodation was wonderful, it may look tented, but it is very private, much more spacious than it looks in the brochures, and well equipped with everything you need for a luxurious holiday; all the rangers were friendly and accommodating and Siya, our ranger, was incredible, every game drive was interesting and informative, he took us out twice every day and was happy to start before dusk and stay out until after dark; finally, we saw a huge variety of animals and birds on our drives, almost all very close to the truck! If you are considering taking a holiday to Shamwari, don't hasitate, book it immediately and enjoy the holiday of a lifetime.

Date of experience: August 2023
Thank stuarthH9461RR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 April 2023

Shamwari was just SPECTACULAR !!! Our guide, Patrick, is a truly dedicated man to his job. He has an encyclopedia brain regarding the animals, plants, and birds of Shamwari. He filled our minds and hearts with the knowledge of it all. Patrick's sense of humor also made our daily adventures terrific as he showed us how to track the animals and understand their life patterns. Patrick is an incredible teacher and a true lover of nature. Shamwari is lucky to have him on their team as they go about saving these precious animals and their environment from wicked poachers. All the workers at Shamwari are exceptional !! Siphelele was one of the first to greet us and from then on he was there to answer all our needs for our whole stay. He made us feel like family by going above and beyond to make us happy and comfortable. Neil and the bartender (sorry,forgot his name) greeted us after each safari with warm towels and special tea. Such a treat. And LULU, The head server, was just a doll. Always smiling and helpful while serving the most delicious freshly made food. We highly recommend SHAMWARI GAME RESERVE for its
beautiful accommodations and for the saving of Mother Nature's most exquisite creatures

Date of experience: March 2023
Thank karen5148
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 March 2023 via mobile

We have just returned from a holiday in South Africa and Shamwari was the outstanding highlight of this wonderful country. We stayed in Bayethe lodge and the accommodation, dining and service from every member of staff was superb.The whole experience was beyond all expectations and particularly our game drives. Our ranger Freddie is totally committed and passionate about conserving wildlife and always had answers to all our questions. He went way above and beyond his job to make our drives so informative and enjoyable. Due to his skills and knowledge we saw all of the big five and many other beautiful animals. We particularly wanted to see a leopard and due to Freddie’s perseverance we eventually got to see this stunning animal.
Every single member of the staff at Shamwari went out of their way to make our experience there so memorable. We would thoroughly recommend Shamwari as an experience not to be missed and would love to return at some time in the future;

Date of experience: March 2023
Thank MEET-THE-TRAVELLERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 February 2023 via mobile

We spent three nights at the Longlee lodge in shamwari. This was the most luxurious holiday i have ever experienced. The staff were incredible and their attention to detail and service was first class. The food was out if this world. Our ranger Josh Foxon was extremely knowledgeable and worked tirelessly to give us the best experience. His enthusiasm and energy was infectious. No question was unanswered, he would go away and find answers if he was unsure ( which wasnt often). We will return simply to book Josh again. I am sure there were other amazing rangers but we hit gold. I have been on safari in Kruger and I would now come here and for longer next time so long as wr can book Josh.

The hospitality staff were fabulous so many names but i recall Miranda and Siya. I was especially impressed that Shamwari are good employers. It is so important to me that I know staff are valued and treated well and fairly. You are the future of reserves the blueprint of how things should be.
What an incredible team and experience. Thank you Josh

Date of experience: February 2023
1  Thank 319theresah
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 January 2023 via mobile

We had, by virtue of previous word of mouth reports, high expectations of our three days two nights stay in the Reserve.
Our expectations were not just met but significantly exceeded:
Lovely accommodation, friendly and helpful staff, excellent food, wonderful setting but above all a fantastic wildlife experience.
That brilliant experience was obviously down to the way in which the Reserve is stocked and managed but even more importantly it was down to the contribution that Sean our Ranger made to our enjoyment.
Sean was fantastic: personable, knowledgeable and always going the extra mile to ensure we got the most out of our stay; he is a superb ambassador for Shamwari, a class act.

Date of experience: January 2023
Thank RTWRamsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews