We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
We left our heart in Shamwari

Wow.....What an amazing place. We are an adult family of seven, and although we have travelled... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Max557
,
Dublin, Ireland
AMAZING

We loved Shamwari! The animas, the staff (especially Shawn) and the food. Our Bayethe Lodge was a... read more

Reviewed 16 December 2023
thepreppygrl
,
Saratoga Springs, New York
via mobile
Read all 448 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Port Elizabeth
from R 450,00
More Info
from R 2 650,00
More Info
from R 2 750,00
More Info
from R 850,00
More Info
Reviews (448)
Filter reviews
448 results
Traveller rating
418
24
4
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
418
24
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews long lee manor game drives ranger mino spent three nights two nights his job his enthusiasm incredible experience herd of elephants watering hole lodge accommodation safari wildlife breakfast bush siya
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 448 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2019

We stayed at the excellently appointed Eagles Crag for two nights as part of a trip of a lifetime. We were greeted at the door by a friendly team, offering refreshments an perfect start to a fantastic stay.

Our ranger Mino "The Indian Ranger" took us out on three tours, we saw lions, rhinos, buffaloes, elephants along with beautiful giraffes and many other animals and birds in a truly wild setting. We learnt about the animals and the huge efforts the Shamwari Team went to to conserve these beautiful wild animals. His passion for the animals was inspiring and his great sense of humour kept out teenage children interested in fantastic stories.

We had a picnic in the bush surrounded by spekboom one of the elephants favourite foods, and later in the evening Lea the Bar manager served up a wonderful Gin and Tonic with more Spekbon - a genius touch

It was amazing.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Maxwell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SGR_socialmedia, Manager at Shamwari Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2019

Dear Maxwell,

Thank you for your wonderful review.

We are so proud of the conservation and hospitality achievements since welcoming our first guests in 1992 and are thrilled to hear that you received first class service from the management to the game drives with Ranger Mino.

We sincerely hope that we can have the opportunity to host you again at Shamwari Private Game Reserve.

Best Regards,

The Shamwari Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2019

We had been to Shamwari Game Reserve and joined 3 safaris with ranger Syia, who was a fantastic guide and made all the difference to make out trip very Special! Besides that, all the employees of Shamwari are very polite and generous.

Date of experience: July 2019
2  Thank ANNA CRISTINA G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 May 2019

We had the opportunity to stay overnight at the EAGLE's CRAIG lodge in the Shamwari Game Reserve and with that made three tours (twice in the evening and once early morning) and it was just spectactular - it was our first safari ever and we were lucky as the ranger was very good. He worked well with this colleagues who were also driving guests around in the park, and we got to see all of the big five, even the shy leopard.
On top of that, we were extremely lucky as we got to experience mating lions!
So all in all, a great experience that I can recommend.

Date of experience: December 2018
3  Thank IntlTramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 May 2019

Myself & my Husband recently stayed at Eagles Crag for 4 nights as part of our Honeymoon & it was incredible.

From start to finish all of the team went above an beyond to make our stay perfect. Picnic lunch in the bush & "superior sun-downers" far exceeded our expectations.

It was also my birthday during our staff. The chefs were kind enough to make me a birthday cake & all came out of the kitchen to sing happy birthday to me which was so lovely.

Having read the reviews on Trip Advisor, I was so happy that we got Mino as our Ranger, he did not disappoint!

Mino's knowledge, professionalism and humour made every outing an absolute pleasure. I could sit and listen to his exciting stories about animal encounters all day!

His attention to detail was outstanding, he has the ability to give you the greatest viewings on every single game drive and was never in a rush to get back!

Thank you to all of the team at Eagles Crag you do an amazing job!

Special thank you to Mino for all your hard work, we hope to be back to visit one day :)

Ashleigh & Verinder (Indian Ranger No2)

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Ashleigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 April 2019

Plenty of animals to see while driving around and the rhinos do not seem to be afraid of the cars as they amble up really close to the cars. If we were of the daring kind, we would have wound down the car window to touch the one that came right up to our car....but that would not be smart.

Fun little drive and a nice restaurant half way through for some coffee and a snack.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Just_a_normal_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews