We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommend Alan Tours”
Review of Alan Tours

Alan Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Alan Tours, based in the fun filled, coastal Holiday City of Port Elizabeth on the Sunshine Coast in the Eastern Cape is proud to promote South Africa, home to the Big 5 and Big 7 Safaris! A land with a unique natural, cultural and historical diversity, unsurpassed in the modern world today.
Reviewed 18 February 2018

Since we are traveling on a cruise ship we booked many tours ahead of time online. From the start of our communication with Alan Tours all aspects have been handled with professional friendliness and attention to detail.

Waiting for us as we left the ship was Alan Fogarty the owner/operator of Alan tours. From our first contact with Angelika of Alan Tours to our goodby at the pier we felt that we could not have had a better experience. Everything was perfect from our pick up to drop off. Alan was perhaps the best guide we may have ever been with. All of the city tour stops he planned for us were terrific, his knowledge of the history, culture and current political and economic situations was excellent. His manner of imparting the information was concise and engaging; Alan knows how to tell an interesting story.

We had a clean air conditioned van capable of holding 12 (we were a group of 10) and Alan’s English was excellent. We would give Alan Tours a 5 star plus rating and recommend his company to anyone.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank NewJerseyNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wildguide, Owner at Alan Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Dear NewJerseyNomad,
What a wonderful review. Thank you for firstly booking your tour with Alan Tours and secondly for posting such a wonderfully positive review of the time we spent together.
I would like to mention here that guiding is a two way street. I and I am sure other guides are the same, feed off the energy that we are given from our audience, if the folk are attentive and obviously interested in what I am saying then I guess my confidence grows, my energy grows and I am able to deliver a better narrative with greater information, the opposite is also true, if my audience is distracted and appears uninterested then I too will tone down the delivery and resort to pointing out places of interest with less enthusiasm.
Your group were amazing, attentive and motivated to enjoy a subject they obviously relished. What a pleasure it was to be able to host and accompany such a pleasant and inspiring group of people around our friendly city, Port Elizabeth.
Thank you for your kind words, maybe one day you'll return to our wonderful country, all the best,
Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"big tour"
in 7 reviews
"day tour"
in 13 reviews
"addo elephant park"
in 38 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 11 reviews
"city tour"
in 8 reviews
"cruise terminal"
in 3 reviews
"cape recife"
in 9 reviews
"bathroom break"
in 2 reviews
"highly recommend this company"
in 3 reviews
"dung beetle"
in 4 reviews
"secretary bird"
in 3 reviews
"interesting commentary"
in 2 reviews
"red hartebeest"
in 3 reviews
"great guide"
in 5 reviews
"included lunch"
in 2 reviews
"excellent tour"
in 3 reviews
"taking pictures"
in 2 reviews
Filter

26 - 30 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2018

When you book on the internet and are arriving by ship there is always the concern 'Are they going to be there?' With Alan Tours once booked you just don't have to worry. They will be there as they are an extremely professional organization. We were fortunate and were picked up by Alan himself and had his van to ourselves. This man is a walking encyclopedia of everything in nature. We went to the Addo Elephant Park approx 30 minutes from the cruise terminal and during the way Alan explains the various features along the coastline. All entry paperwork is handled and he makes sure you have made a bathroom break before you start! This is Mother Nature so nothing is guaranteed but Alan has an 'animal antenna' and seems to know not only where they will be but what direction they will take so you are positioned to see animals really close up. He is also in contact with other colleagues and therefore he is aware of where some of the animals are within this massive park. We saw many elephant and very close up, lions after a kill, warthog, buffalo and animals I've forgotten the name of. Lunch is included which is pleasant and there is a souvenir shop too. Alan picked us up from the ship at 10 and we were back by 7pm after a fantastic day out. His knowledge of everything around him is quite extraordinary and he was able to answer every (probably stupid) question we asked! If you are coming to PE and want a guaranteed excellent tour then Alans Tours are a huge recommendation and look at my profile, this is not my first review!

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank keithY651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wildguide, Owner at Alan Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Hi KeithY651, Wow! wonderful. Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to write such a glowing review of the time we spent together.
It was a delight to hear your views on business and the promotion of business, your keen eye for detail and ability to identify an opportunity amazed me and your advice is as clear as if it was yesterday.
I clearly remember what you said and will give serious thought about what can be done in the future.Thank you for being so positive.

We are very fortunate to have such a brilliant wildlife facility on our doorstep in the form of the Addo Elephant national park, as you rightly point out it is a huge area, the third largest national park in South Africa and home to over 700 African Elephant and many many more interesting creatures so it is always a great help to be able to communicate with colleagues in an effort to maximise our time in the park with our guests and give them the best possible opportunities for the precious time they spend with us.
I will certainly keep your kind advise in mind when we start with our new product line.
Regards to your lovely lady and keep those trophies rolling in, you probably need a new house to accommodate them by now.
All the best
Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018

Another wonderful day out with Alan, he covers everything from the animals, to bushes flora/butterflies/birds and dung beetles. Saw many different animals, hundreds of elephants with their babies, wart hogs and babies. No lions this year but a rhino and my husbands favourite animal, kudus. Hopefully we shall return.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank ellieSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wildguide, Owner at Alan Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Hi ellieSurrey and hubby, What a wonderful day with you once again, How many is it now? Certainly not enough. You are by far and away my longest supporting guests, Don't know how you do it but it is certainly appreciated. Thank you. Thank you also for contributing your precious time and efforts to assisting the not so fortunate people of Port Elizabeth with your contribution to Cricket and coaching the youngsters in the townships. You amaze me in your kindness and willingness to help without any thought of reward.
My favourites by far.

Please look after yourselves.
See you soon, all the best
Alan and Angelika

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2018

with only one day in port with the NAUTICA on Dec 24th, 2017, we had arranged the day tour to Addo Elephant park beforehand. Everything went smoothly : the pickup at the cruiseport, the trip to Addo and the visit to the park with a nice lunch included. Malcolm was a great guide and we had a very good tour through the park with many sightings of elephants, zebras and other animals with a quick city tour at the end. A very enjoyable day that we can highly recommend.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank margriethartel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wildguide, Owner at Alan Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Hi Margriethartel, Thank you so much for the wonderful review and complimenting Malcolm on the work he so enjoys doing. Tripadvisor is a powerful marketing medium and we highly appreciate every review we can get. I have passed the compliment on to Malcolm who appreciates your kind words.
Thank you for recommending Alan Tours.
Hope to see you back in the not too distant future.
All the best,
Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2018 via mobile

Our cruise ship, Boudicca, was in port for two days, so we booked a tour through Alan Tours to visit Addo Elephant Park in the morning, followed by the afternoon and evening at Schotia private game reserve. Our guide was Christo, who was excellent. A burger or salad lunch was included at the Addo restaurant. Tea and dinner were at Schotia. We were safely delivered back to our ship at about 9.30pm.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank lizcat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wildguide, Owner at Alan Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Hi Lizcat1,
Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to post such a wonderful review on Tripadvisor, this is an incredibly powerful platform and we appreciate every review we can get. Apologies for the delay in getting a reply off to you but we have been pretty busy recently.
We are really happy to hear of your positive experience with Christo as your guide, he is indeed a professional and continues to entertain guests and show them the exciting wildlife to be found in and around Port Elizabeth. I have passed your comments on to Christo who thanks you in turn for the review.
We trust you had a wonderful cruise and hope to see you back on these sunny shores in the near future.
All the best,
Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alan Tours also viewed

 
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 

Been to Alan Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing