We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent guide to Addo Park and perfect assistance from the office”
Review of Alan Tours

Alan Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Alan Tours, based in the fun filled, coastal Holiday City of Port Elizabeth on the Sunshine Coast in the Eastern Cape is proud to promote South Africa, home to the Big 5 and Big 7 Safaris! A land with a unique natural, cultural and historical diversity, unsurpassed in the modern world today.
Reviewed 10 January 2018

I had a beautiful and relaxing tour at Addo Park with Alan Tours.
I arrived with a sail boat in the morning at Port Elisabeth for a short stay. In the afternoon I looked on internet the way to make a tour tod Addo Park for the day after and within one hour I got a proposal from AlanTours. Angelika was very clever, responsive and helpful assisting me to finalize the tour until 10:30 p.m.!
The day after I was picked up by Alan at 8:30 a.m.. He made me really enjoy the tour at the park. He was very professional and helpful, looking for the animals, giving me interesting explanations and doing his best to let me shoot good pictures.
Thank you very much for the nice day!

1  Thank Alessandro V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wildguide, Owner at Alan Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Hi Alessandro, thank you so much for such a lovely review.
I enjoyed your company on the tour and still refer to your neat reference to the global phenomenon that is Chinese expansionism. Other questions you left behind was whether you reached Cape Town in good time to catch your flight back to Italy? I know the weather wasn't always favorable and whether you made it to the jewelrey store? Thanks for the support, really appreciated your time and I hope you will return to our beautiful country sometime in the future, you certainly gave me reason to visit yours.
All the best,
Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"big tour"
in 7 reviews
"day tour"
in 12 reviews
"addo elephant park"
in 35 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 11 reviews
"city tour"
in 8 reviews
"coffee break"
in 3 reviews
"cruise terminal"
in 3 reviews
"email contact"
in 2 reviews
"bathroom break"
in 2 reviews
"wonderful person"
in 2 reviews
"sharp eye"
in 2 reviews
"years experience"
in 2 reviews
"no hesitation in recommending"
in 3 reviews
"dung beetle"
in 4 reviews
"cape recife"
in 7 reviews
"interesting commentary"
in 2 reviews
"knew exactly where"
in 3 reviews
Filter

19 - 23 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2017

Alan tours took me on a great day out ,to Addo Elephant park ,from Port Elizabeth . Picking me up about 07.30 its only an hour and half to the park ,and you get to spend an amazing day ,via jeep/4x4 touring around the park, Alan himself is a very knowledgeable guide who will keep you interested throughout the day,on various subjects about the park. Knowing where to go ,and driving in and around the parks many tracks ,he seemed to find all the animals we needed to see ,alas apart from the lions, i guess they where sleeping during a hot day,and after a recent kill we came across of a buffalo .We even managed to stop and pick up a large dung beetle ,weird little creatures climbing around your hand . The locations are great and we got to see many Elephants ,both close up and at play in the watering holes , a great day out inclusive of dinner and beer at the parks restaurant, well worth the price .

Thank mickknap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017

Although we had a rainy day, it was an amazing tour with many sightings. It was particularly pleasant that we had a closed vehicle and thus were protected from the bad weather. Malcom, our guide, was just great. Nice, friendly, with a lot of knowledge about the wildlife and great stories. Overall, a really successful day.
Special thanks also to Angelika, who had informed us early on the weather-related change of the tour and has timely provided us with all the important information.

Thank ralf j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017

First, booking the tours was a breeze through email with Angelika.She was extremely efficient and helpful, and responded to our questions within a couple of hours even on Sunday.

All 3 tours were expertly guided by Alan. We did the marine life part of the Big 7 tour in the morning, where we experienced penguins, dolphins and a couple of whales. At one point, we were literally surrounded by dolphins. Since we were on a small boat, we were able to get very close to the sea life, which is something you can't do on larger boats. After a pleasing lunch, we headed to Addo National Park. The large groups of elephants were impressive. At times, we were so close we could have touched them. We also saw various antelope, lions, cape buffalo, and various other creatures. Alan was very knowledgeable about identifying and explaining the wildlife we encountered. His commentary made the tour all the more interesting and meaningful.

The Port Elizabeth city tour, began with Alan presenting the history of the area, starting from prehistoric times up to the present. I was impressed how he meaningfully covered about 2.5 million years of history in about 30 minutes. He then guided us on a very interesting half-day tour of the city, inserting historical anecdotes along the way.

The all-day eastern cape historical tour covered many of the historical settlers sites. Again, Alan demonstrated his vast knowledge of the history and culture of the area with his interesting commentary about the European settlers, the indigenous peoples and their interactions.

All three tours were incredibly interesting, primarily because of Alan's vast knowledge of the area and entertaining commentary. I would highly recommend these tours to anyone interested in the scenery, wildlife, culture and history of the Eastern Cape and South Africa in general.

1  Thank richh714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wildguide, Owner at Alan Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2017

Dear Richh714, It was an absolute pleasure being with such wonderful, kind people, I enjoyed the time spent together and your quiet relaxed companionship which goes a long way to making my job so much more enjoyable. The BIG 7 tour was wonderful with brilliant Bottle nosed dolphins and great close up views of the female Humpback whale and her youg calf. Addo is always such a wonderful facility with some lovely groups of elephant and the one stand out incident for me was the two colossal elephant bulls in musth squaring up to each other like heavy weight boxers in the ring, the older of the two bulls eventually deciding that retreat was the better part of valor and coming over to stand, towering above us before heading off into the bush.
This city and the surrounding country side is certainly packed with an interesting and varied history as is described in the City tour and the Historical tour of the Eastern frontier region
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review on Trip Advisor and for recommending Alan Tours and the great people who have created this team.
We hope you and your lovely wife will be back to see a little more of this fascinating country.
All the best from our A team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

Just spent 4 days on tours with either Alan or Mike as our guide. Angelika put together a package of contrasting locations so that we got a great feel for this prt of South Africa. Alan and Mike were very knowledgable and personable, making each tour a unique experience. These ranged from the city tour, Art Route 67, Cape Recife Lighthouse, the Penguin Sanctuary to game drives in Addo. The tours were adapted when appropriate to take into account things of interest to us including a stop in St George’s cricket ground. They even organised an excellent guest house in Summerstand for us. We would wholeheartedly recommend Alan Tours. A big thank you to Alan, Mike and Angelika!

Thank JHJoburg16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wildguide, Owner at Alan Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2017

Dear JHJoburg16, It was wonderful to meet such easy going, enthusiastic folks whom seem to just love this wonderful country of ours. It was an absolute pleasure showing you and your wife around the sites and sounds of Port Elizabeth. Mike had the pleasure of showing you the finer points of the world class Addo Elephant national park with its over 700 free roaming Elephants amongst the many other species of animal, bird and reptiles to be found there.
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write such a lovely review on Tripadvisor, it truly means so much to us, Thank you! also for your recommendation of Alan Tours and the great people that help to make us who we are.

Wishing you all the very best, hope to see you back again in the not too distant future.
Alan, Angelika and Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alan Tours also viewed

Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 

Been to Alan Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing